Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solo woodgas stove
A fantastic stove for backpacking and cyclotouring, lightweight, small enough to fit inside many cooking pots and of course the biggest advantage is free fuel.

This stove is extremely well made and should outlive me, a must buy for any outdoorsperson, prepper and will also be handy in a zombie apocalypse (well you never know ;o) ..... A much loved addition to...
Published on 30 Dec. 2012 by schloopfeng

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars decent stove
Nice stove, but the wood burns quite fast and since there is so little of it in the burn chamber, you need to restock it quite often.

It's very lightweight and if you got nice dry wood then it burns great. More moist wood is a problem with the tiny burn chamber.
Published 7 months ago by Jesper Andersen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solo woodgas stove, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Stove: Ultra Light Weight Woodgas Backpacking Stove, Emergency Survival Stove, Wood Burning Camping Stove
A fantastic stove for backpacking and cyclotouring, lightweight, small enough to fit inside many cooking pots and of course the biggest advantage is free fuel.

This stove is extremely well made and should outlive me, a must buy for any outdoorsperson, prepper and will also be handy in a zombie apocalypse (well you never know ;o) ..... A much loved addition to my kit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars solo stove, 7 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Stove: Ultra Light Weight Woodgas Backpacking Stove, Emergency Survival Stove, Wood Burning Camping Stove
excellent kit,light & durable comes in its own stuff sack, has worked well with wood and meth's ,used a wind sheild as well,might stick to using meth's,it fits inside an evernew pasta pot:M 1.0ltr easy to clean, ideal for fishing and back packing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight and efficient, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Stove: Ultra Light Weight Woodgas Backpacking Stove, Emergency Survival Stove, Wood Burning Camping Stove
I've just finished a seven-day trip through the lower parts of the Scottish Highlands using this stove for all my cooking. It performed superbly throughout the trip and the time taken in gathering wood and the slow boil time was a small price to pay for not having to carry meths, gas or solid fuel with me. I also like the principle of using naturally occurring fuel and not creating the waste disposal problems associated with yet more empty gas canisters.

Thanks to the dual wall construction, the base of the stove remains cool, so, with care, you can use it in areas where open fires are forbidden due to fire risk. Of course, there is a small amount of ash produced, and you must ensure that this is completely cold before emptying it, in order to avoid the risk of starting a fire.

It takes a little bit of practice to get the best performance out of this stove, and the quality and type of fuel available to you will determine how hot it gets. Soft woods burn fast, and produce less heat than hard woods. If you are using soft woods, then be prepared to spend much of your cooking time poking additional fuel in through the gap in the top ring.

Be aware that this stove will take longer to boil water than a meths / alcohol stove, and much, much longer than a jetboil or other gas stove. You will also have to factor in the time taken to gather fuel as part of your evening routine, though if you are camping near forestry blocks and other wooded areas this is not too arduous.

The stove can be top heavy so it pays to take a little extra time to make sure it is secure and level before starting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Light Weight Quality, 5 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Stove: Ultra Light Weight Woodgas Backpacking Stove, Emergency Survival Stove, Wood Burning Camping Stove
Purchased this when on sale at £49.99. as I like the concept of free fuel I usually carry an mkettle to boil water for a brew and rehydrating freeze dried meals. Wanting to cook on a wood stove I opted for this after watching reviews on youtube.
The stove arrived in very strong packaging and when weighed including bag came out at 265 grams. I have twinned this with an Alpkit 900ml mytipot, 100 grams and £4.99 cheaper than the solo pot.
In practical use the stove quickly boils a pot full of water (see youtube for top down burn and practice a few times to get the hang of it).
The pot will soot despite the manufactures claim of a clean burn but if you use wood frequently as a fuel source this won't bother you. I also carry a Trail Designs alcohol stove (16 grams) and simmer ring (4 grams) which work fine sat inside the stove for bad weather or if I'm in a hurry.
This stove is fantastic for cooking burning wood, a quality item that I would have been happy to pay full price for.
If all you want to do however is boil water I would opt for the mkettle (418 grams with bag) as the soot is confined to the chimey and therefore less of a mess.
If you use an alcohol stove as your primary cook method but like the idea of wood as a back up opt for the Vargo Hexagon Wood stove (137 grams with bag), this is a pot stand and wind shield with wood stove which flat packs.
I have no connection to any business or supplier, these product reviews are based only on practical applications, the items being purchased with my own hard earned cash.
I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Stove: Ultra Light Weight Woodgas Backpacking Stove, Emergency Survival Stove, Wood Burning Camping Stove
Works a treat. Alcohol works fine. It helps if you stir up the embers regularly with a stick. If it doesn't work first time, stick with it, and you'll learn the knack. Top notch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars small and perfectly formed..., 20 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Stove: Ultra Light Weight Woodgas Backpacking Stove, Emergency Survival Stove, Wood Burning Camping Stove
used this to boil kettles and also just as a little fire at night when camping - needs so little fuel to keep it going
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars decent stove, 12 Sept. 2014
By 
This review is from: Solo Stove: Ultra Light Weight Woodgas Backpacking Stove, Emergency Survival Stove, Wood Burning Camping Stove
Nice stove, but the wood burns quite fast and since there is so little of it in the burn chamber, you need to restock it quite often.

It's very lightweight and if you got nice dry wood then it burns great. More moist wood is a problem with the tiny burn chamber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Seems to work OK, depending on the wood used ..., 4 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: Solo Stove: Ultra Light Weight Woodgas Backpacking Stove, Emergency Survival Stove, Wood Burning Camping Stove
Seems to work OK, depending on the wood used... surprisingly, it's possibly to part fill the tray at the base with meths as would be used in a trangia type spirit burner, the nichrome wire acts as a wick and it provides a stable flame.... Obviously take appropriate care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., 25 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Stove: Ultra Light Weight Woodgas Backpacking Stove, Emergency Survival Stove, Wood Burning Camping Stove
As soon as you open the box you want to go and find some sticks and light up the fire. Boiling a kettle has never been so much fun. Very good quality product, and will be in my rucksack if only as an emergency item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dependant upon your knowledge..., 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Solo Stove: Ultra Light Weight Woodgas Backpacking Stove, Emergency Survival Stove, Wood Burning Camping Stove
The principle behind this is great. The only real issue is when you come to use it.

The dry twigs and sticks picked up along the trail, were just not enough to keep it going. In fact I ended up gathering huge amounts of sticks just to keep it going long enough to boil a litre of water.

Perhaps I've missed the point, or perhaps there's some magical bushman trick but I did exactly what the promotional video said to do and I ended up building a normal fire to be able to cook.

I did use it with some briquette style firelighters and it performed sensationally, although that for me removes the deal breaker which was the lack of a need to carry fuel.

Having tried to persevere for 10 nights, I think I'll go back to looking for a lightweight cooking system.

*****EDIT*****

Having been kindly advised by a few people (see comments section), I revisited this and I have to say the performance improves drastically when you use better wood i.e. Hard wood etc. So ultimately, the stove will perform according to your knowledge of different types of wood and its subsequent availability. I would have to say that it is a valuable piece of (lightweight) kit if you take the time to learn about how best to build and maintain your fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews