Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
36
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 July 2014
So Taylor is traumatised after being shot, seeing her BFF be held captive & hurt, & having her fiance keep secrets from her. So she accepts an offer from Memphis (I really hate that nickname) to stay in Scotland. Whilst there she starts to fear she is losing her mind .
Like many other reviewers I was disappointed by this book. I had liked the character of Taylor but now I'm starting to find her self pitying, a user & a bit boring. The whole will they won't they scenario with Baldwin is going on much too long & the will they won't they will they with Memphis was unnecessary. I worked out the twists pretty early on & would like to see the next book move things on from the recent (what feels like) stalemate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
Having read all the previous books this did keep me enthralled to find out the ending but as a standalone read I think it would have been disappointing. Not much really happens until near the end but it does bring a conclusion to the storyline. If you want to read this, start from the beginning of the series
to really enjoy it. I hope this isn't the end for Taylor and Baldwin and more books are on the way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Another Taylor Jackson Novel book 7, did not enjoy this book as much as the first 6 novels in the series, got boring in places and a bit to far fetched in others such a disappointment, as I had enjoyed all the other books in the series sort of had the feeling not much thought went into this one, oh well you can't win them all
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Loved the rest of this series but was very disappointed in this. The whole premise is ridiculously far fetched, should have left it at the end of the last book. If you want to retain fond memories of Taylor Jackson avoid like the plague!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
As this newest entry in the Taylor Jackson series opens, although the serial killer whose death ended the last book, "So Close the Hand of Death," is no longer around to continue his terror campaign, his legacy is very much alive: Both Nashville homicide lieutenant Taylor Jackson and her closest friend, medical examiner Dr. Samantha Owens Loughley ["Sam"] are still traumatized by the events which led to his death at Taylor's hand, one month earlier. [The two women's jobs are described by the author thusly: "Taylor protected the living inhabitants of Nashville; Sam uncovered the secrets of its dead."] Taylor suffers from a combination of PTSD and guilt, in addition to the aftermath of the gunshot to the head which she sustained, following which she was put in a medically induced coma and then didn't waken for another week; Sam had been horribly tormented and brutalized.

The series should probably be read in order, as there are a lot of backstory references and characters: The mysterious man known as Atlantic, the whole history of The Pretender [the aforementioned serial killer], etc. This book has an unexpected change of venue, from Taylor's native city to the UK, when her erstwhile suitor, James "Memphis" Highsmythe, the Viscount Dulsie, invites her to spend the holidays in his castle [yes, `castle!], to help her recover from her emotional, physical and psychic wounds. Since she is experiencing some unexpected ambivalence in her relationship with Dr. John Baldwin, to whom she is now engaged - - some friction has developed over an issue having to do with his son, another part of that backstory - - she decides to accept his invitation.

Once Taylor arrives in Edinburgh, she finds that Memphis, a Detective Inspector with the Metropolitan Police, is in the midst of investigating a series of disappearances: three teenage girls have gone missing in London, and he is in charge of the case. Much of the rest of the tale deals with that investigation, as well as Taylor's attempts at recovery and the complications caused by her relationship with Memphis, a recently widowed man equally mired in grief over his wife's somewhat mysterious death as with his passion for Taylor.

Another well-written and engrossing entry in a terrific series, this one is also recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Although disappointed as I expected that this would be the final story of the main characters it was not what I expected.not as good as the other books but if I was a first read of my Ellison it would be good to read.perhaps this is not the end of Taylor and Baldwin we will have to wait and see.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2014
I have read and loved the previous 6 books in the series (minor blip in book 5 by going back in time every other chapter - bit annoying) but it seems obvious to me that the author has just run out of steam and ideas for this book. No crime story till the second half of the book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2015
Praise for J T Ellison, i have read all seven books now, and each one has got better, i love the way she draws you into the novel, i particularly liked book seven, as im scottish, so it was nice to recognise the places, i hope this is not the end of taylor jackson. i can honestly say they are the best books i have read for a long long time. im just about to start on the Sam Owens series now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2014
Absolutely fantastic - nearly didn't buy it because of a negative review, but so glad I did and a perfect ending to the series - I do hope she writes more on Taylor Jackson, but just about to start the Dr Sam books now -
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As this seems to be the last in the Taylor Jackson series, I had hoped for something better than this. It's such a shame that this book was really just a romantic story - only just though. Here Taylor runs to Scotland to sort her head out after the shock of finally sorting out the Pretender, letting her friend down and finding out that Baldwin has a son. This book really played on terrible 'British' clichés from many many years ago! This started two books ago when we first met Highsmythe. I felt quite let down by this book to be honest and would probably say that book 5 was the last good one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse