Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "May God convey me swiftly to Paradise..."
NEWES FROM THE DEAD tells the true story of Anne Green; a young girl who was hanged in 1650 for anfanticide but survived the gallows. The book shifts from the dissection room, where Anne is lying ready to be dissected in order for medical advancement, back to before her grisly fate as a way of explaining how a lowly servant girl came to be found guilty of the murder of a...
Published on 16 Mar 2009 by Brida

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting historical paranormal
Newes from the Dead seemed like it had the ingredients for a good read but unfortunately comes out a little wanting. A young maidservant is hanged for the crime of infanticide and sent to the gallows, but the story doesn't really begin until her body is sent for medical dissection and she is found to be alive.

The plot has definite potential and is told from...
Published on 4 Feb 2010 by Scriber_scouse


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "May God convey me swiftly to Paradise...", 16 Mar 2009
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Newes from the Dead (Paperback)
NEWES FROM THE DEAD tells the true story of Anne Green; a young girl who was hanged in 1650 for anfanticide but survived the gallows. The book shifts from the dissection room, where Anne is lying ready to be dissected in order for medical advancement, back to before her grisly fate as a way of explaining how a lowly servant girl came to be found guilty of the murder of a baby. The main thrust of the story is true - of course, as Hooper herself explains, she has used her imagination for all of the conversations and trivia - and what a story it is!
By giving Anne a 'voice', Hooper has succeeded in creating a touching yet starkly shocking tale about miscarriages of justice centuries ago. Despite the time that has passed, the horror of the story remains, as you try and put yourself into this poor girl's shoes. I found both the chapters which are narrated by Anne and the chapters which take place in the dissection room to be filled with humanity and honesty. As the gathered scholars and medics realise that there seems to be life within the cadaver infront of them, you cannot help but share in their horror, as they begin to contmeplate if she is alive, what does that mean for her soul? If she had been dead, would her soul have departed? And if she is to awake, will the lack of a soul mean she will be but a wraith? Such ponderings as this still have relevance today - although we are more medically advanced, the very nature of the soul means that we are no more closer to understanding that etheral part of what it is to be human.

This is a fantastic book. Just because it is meant for young adult readers, do not let that put you off. One of the best reads I have read for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning! (But this is not for children), 24 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: Newes from the Dead (Paperback)
This is a stunning historical novel with the period beautifully evoked. It`s a chilling tale that engages from the first page - I read it at one sitting. I can`t praise it highly enough. However, I was surprised to find it recommended in one review for anyone over the age of eleven - be warned, this is for young and other adults only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tense and intriguing read, 18 Jun 2009
By 
Bess_Wheat - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Newes from the Dead (Paperback)
I had intended to purchase Mary Hooper's At the Sign of the Sugared Plum after a recommendation in the Waterstone's free 'Read Through the Ages' leaflet. However, this book caught my eye instead and I became intrigued to discover how a girl had been hanged and yet survived to tell the tale.

Hooper takes the reader back to 1650 when a young girl was hanged for infanticide, the only crime where the suspect was considered guilty until proven innocent. With no witnesses to support her, Anne Green is accused, tried and hanged with no hope of rescue. Her body is then taken for dissection by the College of Physicians.

It is very easy to sympathise with the downfall of young innocent Anne and feel enraged at her cruel treatment at the hands of the rich and powerful. The tale is cleverly told through flashbacks which enlighten the reader as to the chain of events that led her to the Physician's dissection table.

At the end of the book, Hooper discusses her inspiration and research for the book which is interesting to note. This book is definitely not suited to very young readers as it deals with adult themes. However, the way Hooper writes about the thoughts of Anne make it easy for the reader to sympathise with her and understand how easy it can be to get into trouble as a result of human desires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gripping but slightly horrific novel, 29 April 2008
By 
Karen Gregory - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Newes from the Dead (Hardcover)
As a reader with a historical interest and a love for the Mary Hooper books, I was immediately drawn to this novel. I was shocked at how different it was to the other books. It has a slightly more adult content so I wouldn't reccomend it to young people like I would for some other Mary Hooper books. It is extremely well written however and impossible to put down from the start to the end- I'd got through it by the end of the day.

The story tells a worryingly true tale of a gullible house maid tricked into a terrible situation by her cruel master.
Every other chapter is in first person, where the unfortunate Anne Green explains her story and tries to think how she got into this position. This is an absolute favorite of mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting historical paranormal, 4 Feb 2010
This review is from: Newes from the Dead (Paperback)
Newes from the Dead seemed like it had the ingredients for a good read but unfortunately comes out a little wanting. A young maidservant is hanged for the crime of infanticide and sent to the gallows, but the story doesn't really begin until her body is sent for medical dissection and she is found to be alive.

The plot has definite potential and is told from two viewpoints that of the maidservant rising towards consciousness and her past in flashback and from the viewpoint of a young male scholar with a terrible stutter whose vantage point allows us to see the commotion that this rising from the dead has caused.

The historical details read accurately and engage the reader but a major problem with the novel is that the author spoon feeds the plot to you; the reader perpetually feels three steps ahead of the story. Even though this is written with a younger audience in mind it lacks sophistication or even surprise in terms of both character and plotting when it comes to the maidservants narrative. The reader sees her downfall as she follows the predictable pattern of believing the young master of the house's lies as he seduces her, falls pregnant and is charged to be hanged all to keep the master's reputation intact.

Arguably the only surprise that the novel raises is when the maidservant comes back from the dead and even this is handled in a very wishy-washy fashion allowing no conclusions to be drawn. It's a pity as in the young scholar's narrative there is real meat but he is soon left by the wayside when the dead maidservant wakes. Add a tacked on happy ever after ending and this is defnitely YA that fails to satiate or satisfy, read Libba Bray instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An gripping tale, full of suspense, 31 Oct 2008
By 
J. Evans (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Newes from the Dead (Hardcover)
Newes from the Dead

Although you know from the blurb what the story is about, the way the tale is told holds your interest from beginning to end. Mary Hooper cleverly flip-flops between telling us how Ann is seduced (and eventually hanged for infanticide) and the story of her revival in the Cromwellian equivalent of the autopsy room and what happens to her thereafter.

This was genuinely a book I could not put down - I thoroughly recommend it to any reader, young or old - despite my personal dislike of most historical fiction. It grabbed me right from the start and gave a fascinating insight into many different aspects of life in those times and particularly how the rich had such overwhelming power over the lives of the unfortunate poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect! A book that I just couldn't put down!, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Newes from the Dead (Kindle Edition)
A lovely book and very well written a perfect teen novel another great story by Mary Hooper!
Thank you xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Newes from the Dead (Kindle Edition)
This came up as a recommendation on my kindle. I really enjoyed it and will look out for more titles by this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars newes from the dead, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Newes from the Dead (Paperback)
very intresting book. once you pick it up its hard to put down, will be looking out for more of mary hoopers books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Newes from the Dead, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Newes from the Dead (Kindle Edition)
Newes from the DeadAs expected this book from Mary Hooper is well researched and written and brings in historical figures with fictional ones intermixing them flawlessly. An excellent page turner of a story that is told from two perspectives. Well worth a look !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Newes from the Dead
Newes from the Dead by Mary Hooper
3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews