Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read; not just a music book.
This is a well written, accessible and rich narrative of the birth of the independent music via labels such as 4AD, Mute etc. Even though I was not aware of some of the earlier names and bands cited in the earlier chapters, HSIN built into a comprehensive and cohesive description of the foundation of independent music. It also manages to capture the courageous spirit...
Published on 24 May 2012 by moffycorry

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
After reading several great books about music over the years such as Simon Reynolds's superb "Rip It Up And Start Again" I was looking forward to this one. I was expecting something like the Reynolds book in a way, an exploration of indie, the labels, the bands, and the people who ran the labels, but sadly the book isn't quite like that. Instead each chapter is...
Published 22 months ago by Peter Lee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read; not just a music book., 24 May 2012
This is a well written, accessible and rich narrative of the birth of the independent music via labels such as 4AD, Mute etc. Even though I was not aware of some of the earlier names and bands cited in the earlier chapters, HSIN built into a comprehensive and cohesive description of the foundation of independent music. It also manages to capture the courageous spirit which enabled such bands and labels to flourish and because of this it is likely to interest readers from a variety of fields. A music book with a broad appeal, and arguably a timely reminder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this will become the standard work..., 9 May 2012
... on the UK's indie labels in my opinion. The sheer wealth and quality of the interviews on their own should see to that. It's not a grand analytical overview, rather it's a wonderful narrative history: well-paced, super-informed, occasionally gossipy - but in a good way. Sort of like a Peter Buskind book, but about indie record labels, not indie filmmakers. Warning: will make you want to start a record label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobodys Scared................, 3 Oct 2012
By 
T. Satchwell (A Tower in the Heart of London.......) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed this dip into the "indie" world...the author covers quite a lot of historical ground in nice chunks of chapters.
Some of the stories/info I probably knew from reading stuff like...Document And Eyewitness: An Intimate History of Rough Trade: The Rough Trade Story
Rough Trade: Labels Unlimited

andThe Creation Records Story: My Magpie Eyes Are Hungry For The Prize
Alan McGee and the Story of Creation Records: The Ecstasy Romance Cannot Last
So ..I think this is a good introduction/taster for enthusiasts to reach for further reading. I particularly like the attention to 4AD...a label which were for me anyway...high profile...maybe because I worked in a record shop ..and got to see those fantastic covers...but were in fact really "Anti Record Biz".

Some great stuff about all the madmen...scary drugs stories...but covers some great labels and acts Heavenly, Domino Mute etc as well as your rough trades and creation...so Smiths..Manics...Primal Scream...Arctic Monkeys
So now I want to track down some more stuff about beggars banquet and 4ad..and I guess Mute would all be interesting reads

Highly recommended if you are a fan of Non mainstream music from late 70's until now..I guess..I never really liked the term "Indie"...it just got misused and abused as a genre type, rather than the true spirit of independence from the BIG record companies.
Well researched and a broad range of interviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 17 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you enjoyed Simon Reynolds' Rip It Up, you'll find this the perfect counterpart - telling the fascinating story of the characters and business behind the scenes of one of the richest periods of UK creative industry.

Digestible, cohesive, exhaustive, funny; I'm sure this would be an enjoyable read even for someone only familiar with the acts (everyone will have one record or two from this book), and not the machinations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Reading for the discerning music fan, 5 April 2012
A lucid & erudite survey into the nutters & lunatics who were instrumental in
creating what we now call, for better or for worse, 'indie'.

Chock full of great anecdotes & stories my favourite being behind the scenes of the KLF's infamous Brits performance.

Kudos for shining a light on the lesser know names instrumental to the scene including Mick Houghton & Liz Naylor.

A rollicking read from start to finish. Top Notch Reading for the discerning music fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is A Really Great Book, 5 April 2012
This is a pretty definitive read. It sits well alongside extremely well regarded books that have covered similar ground( Simon Reynolds - Rip It Up comes to mind )yet expands the stories deeper and further. It unearths new perspectives successfully on how the independent music scene has evolved across the 30 year period he chooses to cover. I grew up on artists like the Smiths, Joy Division and labels like 4AD, Factory, Mute and Rough Trade. The author has managed to talk to people from within all the labels in a really entertaining way. There's some great stories and some great insights behind the success of bands like the Arctic Monkeys that help explain some of the reasons behind their emergence into the public conciousness. It's a big page turner, highly, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful..., 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading this book reminded me why I got excited about music in the first place. A gripping tale of originality, creativity, madness, ego and so many great records, written in a totally inclusive manner. 100% recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super interesting read, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've never really known much about the history behind some of the record labels featured in this book but have long been a fan of a lot of their music. A friend of mine who works alongside one of the characters interviewed in the book recommended the book to me and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed it and found it fascinating to actually learn about the various stories behind a lot of these independent labels. Some of the characters and the stories discussed are fascinating, loved Alan McGhee, huge character! And of course as a Smiths fan, loved hearing about how they ended up signing to Rough Trade.
I've always loved music from a lot of the independent labels, but this book was such a good read and taught me a lot about the culture behind the labels, giving me a new found respect for the independent music scene. Such a depth of history there, and now keen to find out more and read more on the topics. Fascinating read that anyone interested in music would be sure to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars consigned to history, 17 July 2012
By 
WattsUp! (London, England) - See all my reviews
Having been lucky enough to have worked for the music press and at Tony Wilson's In The City industry conference from the mid eighties to the books endpoint in 2005, I got to know many of the key players mentioned in this excellent book, which does a great job of chronicling what were often the maddest of times. Sadly the book, like the scene it focuses on, tends to loose focus towards the end, and offers few crumbs of comfort for the future of the independent music sector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How soon is now? Mad Men and Mavericks book, 27 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A massive, weighty tome but full of evocative names from the 70s, 80s, 90s. A must-read for those who are fans or worked in the record industry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews