Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still sounds fresh!
Keith Hudson - 'Rasta Communication'.
Undoubtedly Keith Hudson's greatest album, with a set of classic songs like 'Felt we Felt the Strain', the legendary ' Rasta Communication' and the full length of the 'Nah Skin Up' disco mix.
It was voted record of the year in 1978 and still sounds fresh even 18 years after Hudson's early death from cancer. The sound from...
Published on 11 July 2002 by Ally

versus
4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed to say the least
To be fair to the late Keith Hudson, it was not he who rated this album as a 'classic' and I'd like to believe he didn't take himself too seriously as a singer. There are so few reviews of Reggae albums on Amazon so I can not imagine why the two previous 'reviewers' would choose this particular album to review. If they are really appreciative of Reggae, why not review...
Published on 12 Aug 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still sounds fresh!, 11 July 2002
By 
This review is from: Rasta Communication (Audio CD)
Keith Hudson - 'Rasta Communication'.
Undoubtedly Keith Hudson's greatest album, with a set of classic songs like 'Felt we Felt the Strain', the legendary ' Rasta Communication' and the full length of the 'Nah Skin Up' disco mix.
It was voted record of the year in 1978 and still sounds fresh even 18 years after Hudson's early death from cancer. The sound from this stunning album is totally unique, with a proud and righteous feel to it. As if Hudson's fantastic vocals, production and arrangements weren't enough, the album also contains an awesome line up of musicians, including Sly and Earl 'Chinna' Smith.
This is definitely one of reggae's finest ever albums, with a fantastic set of songs way ahead of their time. I can promise you, you will never find another reggae album, from any decade, with this kind of quality and class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars roots reggae classic, 14 April 2007
This review is from: Rasta Communication (Audio CD)
One of the first reggae albums I bought way back around 1980, and still a favourite. This may not have the wonderful harmonies of The Congos 'Fisherman' but it is on a par as a roots classic. Passionate singing conveying lyrics with powerful meaning, fine production, just classic reggae of it's time. Great to see it's been reissued!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars communication on so many levels, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rasta Communication (Audio CD)
highest praise for greensleeves for re-issuing this, as what should form the template for all classic reggae albums. the whole package surrounding the recording - the 12" and 7" mixes, as well as the excellent dub album presents the listener with a complete picture - a history, if you like. although familiar with a number of keith hudson's works, this album was new to me, but like most others is stunning. always forthright, forward thinking and powerful, keith hudson has always stood somewhat apart from most of his contemporaries, ie the steel/hawaiian guitar featured strongly puts me in mind of the gun club. distictive singing, original and forceful playing, alng with dubs instantly recognised as his, in my opinion sits easily with other geniuses of the genre, such as tubby, far i, pablo and perry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars still fab after all these years....., 23 April 2012
This review is from: Rasta Communication (Audio CD)
Though Keith Hudson was never one of Jamaica's technically most gifted vocalists his vocals always carried a vibe. Come to think of it, the best reggae singers always had more vibe than you could wish for,, thing with the best Keith was always the production - tough but beautiful. Not sure this is my fave Keith - the dub albums Pick a dub and Brand(some overlaps here) probably eclipse it, but this is still fine, fine, timeless music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this today!, 12 Dec 2003
By 
Mr. William Mcclelland (Farnborough, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rasta Communication (Audio CD)
If you've got this far and you haven't got this album, believe all you read on this page - this is one amazing album. I was desperate for this for almost 20 years - a friend had it on vinyl, I stupidly only taped it and as the years went by my tape got worse and worse and I got sadder and sadder! Respect to Greensleeves for re-issuing it - the heaviest beats you'll ever hear, absolutely hypnotic vocals, and if "your eyes are red" when you listen you'll be another planet. Up there with The Congos as the best reggae album of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rasta Communication (Audio CD)
Great product and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed to say the least, 12 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Rasta Communication (Audio CD)
To be fair to the late Keith Hudson, it was not he who rated this album as a 'classic' and I'd like to believe he didn't take himself too seriously as a singer. There are so few reviews of Reggae albums on Amazon so I can not imagine why the two previous 'reviewers' would choose this particular album to review. If they are really appreciative of Reggae, why not review some of the genuinely great artists. How anyone could give this five stars is a mystery to me. I now have two Hudson albums and they are both pretty awful.
The songs here are not difficult to sing, yet poor Keith does such a terrible job vocally that I have started to be believe he was doing this on purpose as surely nobody could sing that badly ! I've tried so hard to get into this album and played it all the way through about five or six times. Unfortunately I can't take any more. It's a shame because some of the rythmn tracks are reasonably good, but the poor vocals are just unbearable.
Look, if you want to hear genuinely great Reggae listen to:
BURNING SPEAR who is the greatest of all Reggae artists, singers, producers,arrangers in the 70's and 80s, THE GLADIATORS, SYLFORD WALKER, ISRAEL VIBRATION, PABLO MOSES, THE ABYSSINIANS, DENNIS BROWN. Why don't these quality artists get reviewed more on Amazon ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rasta Communication
Rasta Communication by Keith Hudson (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews