Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Lets be honest,supergroups are like chocolate teapots,a waste of time and the dont survive very long,so most are(rightly) treated with suspicion.These boys however buck that trend and might actually just survive,flourish and go onto to bigger and better things

Having seen them,in the flesh.in Glasgow last year,i was looking forward to this,its worth the wait,from the opening intro to the last crashing chords of Purple's Burn,this is a superb release,tracks such as 'Black Country' and Beggarman' which,for me,on the debut,were ok,lacklustre,sound alive,more developed and completely enhanced in the live arena.Highlights are plentiful,truth be told there isnt really a weak moment,other fab tracks would be 'Crossfire','Cold','Song of Yesterday' while 'Burn' just leaves you breathless wanting more

All 4 members are on fire and at the top of their game,actually this really is a band,not a collective of superstars and ego's,i've listened a couple of times now,i keep getting an over riding sense of Deep Purple,the whole performance sparkles and evokes memories of the 70's big bands,especially Purple,at long last Hughes has found a home for his talent,here's hoping this is the start of a great run with this band and not a putting to bed,given their other careers,Bonamassa specifically.

Sound quality pretty decent,i assume(not having seen the dvd,its a straight audio lift),i do hanker slightly for the days when producers knew how to record drums,i would have loved this even more had Bonhams drums been a little louder/higher in the mix,but thats a small negative,this is a great release and well worth investing in.

ps my copy lists 'i see your spirit' as opening disc 2 but is actually on disc 1
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
Both studios albums are fantastic. But this double live CD is more than the sum of its parts: the best songs, the live feel (although the public is hardly heard), the perfect SOUND, and an incredible energy transmitted directly from Glenn Hughes and all. Bonham drums are thunder. Bonamassa is ... god once again. Sherinian is a bit low key. The whole thing is Amazing. One of the best live albums I have ever heard, and I have thousands of CDs. Plus, cherry on the cake, an amazing live version of "burn", where Glenn shows he still has it all, intact, and Bonamassa quietly but surely impersonates Blackmore with his personal zest. MUST HAVE ALBUM, TOTALLY.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
To be honest, I never expect much from live albums. However, "Live Over Europe", is one of the exceptions. Sound quality: Great! Songs: Great! This truly is a supergroup in every sense of the word. Glenn's singing is fantastic as is his bass playing. Before BCC, I'd only heard Joe Bonnamasa doing the blues albeit very good blues. Derek Sherinian is just an amazing keyboard player. And then there's Jason Bonham. He is every bit the drummer his father was and then some. All of the songs are top notch and then the piece de resistance, a blistering cover of "Burn". I'm playing this album at least once a day. Nice to hear Glenn so obviously happy in this setting. Pick it up, you won't be sorry. And if you can find it on vinyl, even better. Cheers.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Bought the two studio albums so no surprises on here. However if you've seen the band live you'll get a good reminder of how good they are as musicians. The cd gives you a good feel of being at a concert. If you haven't seen them then buy this and you'll hear what you missed. A good opportunity to get a couple of Joe Bonamasa tracks. I'd recommend it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
One of the great new bands in rock for sometime. All the individuals can play there own parts and really come together as a strong rock band. Long live BCC.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2012
....a wonderfully paced live concert album that captures the excitement and virtuosity of this modern day 'supergroup'.Let's all hope they are 'built to last'
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 March 2012
With the exception of the opening track of the first album, I loved the maiden issue from this (so called) supergroup. The follow up, wasn't bad, but for me, was too Zepplinesque and therefore derivative....so now we come to this Live double CD offering which I really, really wanted to love, but find myself just a little bit disappointed.
The opening "overture" sets a false mood in that everything sounds fine and clear but, once we get into "Black Country", that's when the problems begin - the sound being a little muddy, which is strange because Bonham's drums have clarity, so does Sherinian's keyboards but Bonamassa's guitar seems to be a little low down in the mix and has a bit of a muffled sound......as does Hughes's bass (and maybe just slightly out on it's tuning(?) - and as for the vocals...well, they don't have quite the edge that I've come to expect over many years of listening to the man - but again, is this down to the mix....I am no sound engineer, but I know what sounds good and what sounds bad....and this falls somewhere in between the two!
The band themselves certainly seem to be enjoying themselves, as do the crowd, and in fairness, it probably was a better sound experience on the night than this recording bears witness to.
If you're into electric rock with a blues tinge...this will doubtless already be in your collection or on your wishlist - and that's all fine and dandy, just bear in mind that this is not the finest of recordings and doubtless most won't care...but for me, if you are going to put out a live one, then make sure that the sound is good - after all if Bonamassa can put out live recordings of the calibre of "From Nowhere In Particular" then why can the "quality control" department not use the same yardstick when it comes to one from BCC?
BUT, for the price, this is a VFM album!
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2012
I have never written a review on here before but after hearing this album today I felt obliged to spread the word. This is quite simply one of the most amazing live albums I have ever heard. I would easily put it alongside the greats like made in Japan and live and dangerous. Buy it now. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
Having come to this BCC album as a Joe Bonamassa fan I saw a 1* review on Amazon from a Joe fan who didn't like it, but I have to beg to differ. It is not a typical album for him - but if you look at who the 3 other group members are it was never going to be. It is hard rock with a blues edge. Great guitar, great drums, great vocal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
Being brought up in the golden era of the late 60's to the late 70's when rock music was wonderful to behold with the countless class acts ie, Led Zeppelin, Sammy Hagar, Scorpians, UFO etc, it was very much to my regret that I had to take a time out to explore other generes (Alternative)because of the invaision of the bunk hair metal bands like Bon Jovi, and Guns and Roses et all, this with the inclusion of the crap Trash and Sleaze of the 80's and 90's continuing through to today. But OMG BCC has made me feel alive again with 2 wondrous studio offerings, and now culminating with this killer live offering, here are 4 musicians who compliment each other perfectly and play together in perfect harmony, already this deserves to be placed alongside UFO's Strangers in the Night, Hagar's Live Loud n Clear and Lizzy's Live and Dangerous, a complete and utter classic already which every self respecting rock fan who know's their music should own!! Simply stunning!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.99
£7.99
£7.99
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)