Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric and entertaining
It's one thing to create characters, environments, plotlines and atmosphere over dozens of chapters and hundreds of pages. It's so much harder to pull off the same stunt in a bite-size chunk... but RJ Ellory has done the job admirably in the Three Days in Chicagoland trilogy of novellas.
You really MUST read all three stories in order. Start here, with The Sister...
Published on 23 May 2012 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Again not my cup of tea.
Read my review for Book 3. Well written but not to my liking. Not then having read Books 2 and 3 I could not understand why the book was so one-sided.
Published 5 months ago by Audrey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric and entertaining, 23 May 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Sister: Book 1 of THREE DAYS IN CHICAGOLAND (Kindle Edition)
It's one thing to create characters, environments, plotlines and atmosphere over dozens of chapters and hundreds of pages. It's so much harder to pull off the same stunt in a bite-size chunk... but RJ Ellory has done the job admirably in the Three Days in Chicagoland trilogy of novellas.
You really MUST read all three stories in order. Start here, with The Sister. Share with her the bitterness of losing her closest relative to murder most foul, and the mounting tension as she endures the trial of the suspect, and finally must face the gut-churning reality of the execution of a convicted killer. Ellory has written a graphic, gritty description of how an execution by electric chair in the 1950s might have gone down... you can almost hear the clock ticking as the prison staff wait for a final phone call, a possible stay of execution. Will the killer meet justice? Or will that phone ring?

There were a couple of moments in the story where my attention wobbled slightly. The Sister fixates on the smell of a man's aftershave when she's inside the gaol, watching the death room. My inner critic immediately suggested that she'd be more likely in these circumstances to smell the stink of male incarceration and outright fear; sweat, disinfectant, ammonia and puke... but I soon snapped back to the story, propelled on by a wide-eyed fascination with the plot. When the zinger came at the end of the tale I felt both completely rewarded and utterly intrigued - and scampered straight on to read the second segment.
So don't be misled by the fact that this is a short story, and not a full length novel. It contains every bit as much entertainment as many overblown, bloated big books. Indeed, I think it reveals a writer at his sharpest, weaving a taut, back-to-basics tale which used to be what pulp fiction was all about, in the days before it became fashionable to describe every facet of every character yay unto their fifteenth ancestor, including what they each had for breakfast and which designer shoes they wear.
Thoroughly recommended, and probably my favourite of this trilogy of short stories.
9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Sister, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sister: Book 1 of THREE DAYS IN CHICAGOLAND (Kindle Edition)
Very different and must be read first, in conjunction with the other two stories in the trilogy. But R J Ellory never lets you down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Again not my cup of tea., 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sister: Book 1 of THREE DAYS IN CHICAGOLAND (Kindle Edition)
Read my review for Book 3. Well written but not to my liking. Not then having read Books 2 and 3 I could not understand why the book was so one-sided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sister: Book 1 of THREE DAYS IN CHICAGOLAND (Kindle Edition)
As always, Ellory writes beautiful. Despite the subject matter often being gruesome it is written almost poetically and with great insight. The trilogy is not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three days in Chicagoland Book 1, 14 April 2013
By 
Malvolio (Dorset, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sister: Book 1 of THREE DAYS IN CHICAGOLAND (Kindle Edition)
This is a trilogy and I was looking forward to three chunky novels to get my teeth into. Very disappointed on how short the book was and will be expensive to buy all three. I didnt feel I was getting value for my bucks. I am an RJE fan, but probably won't order the next two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing, 3 Nov 2014
By 
Peter Lakeland (preston lancs uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sister: Book 1 of THREE DAYS IN CHICAGOLAND (Kindle Edition)
The three parts to this story were excellent but my complaint is that they were much shorter than the 200 or so pages advertised and the third part was even shorter still, three quarters of this book was an excerpt of his new book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait for part 2!, 15 Mar 2012
By 
S. Bennett (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sister: Book 1 of THREE DAYS IN CHICAGOLAND (Kindle Edition)
RJ Ellory's writing style is as eloquent as ever in this short novel!

It is not rushed or watered down. The story expresses one person's memories, thoughts and emotions, slipping easily between a murder, a court case and an execution day.

I'm sure that RJ Ellory fans will enjoy this story and that new readers will get an accurate taster and introduction to his writing.

I'm so glad that there is a Part 2 & 3 and can't wait to read them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cliff-hanger for the ebook age, 18 Mar 2012
By 
J. H. Bretts "jerard1" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sister: Book 1 of THREE DAYS IN CHICAGOLAND (Kindle Edition)
R J Ellory at his best writes extremely taut brooding crime fiction. Here he brings his considerable skills to the first part of a three part short novel, each novella-length section to be narrated by a different protagonist in the drama. Set in Chicago in the late 1950s, it is good on noir detail (though I doubt if a woman would be addressed as 'Ms' in those days)and has a great cliff-hanger of an ending that leaves you wanting more in an ebook variation on the tradition of the great serials of the past. Though part of a longer piece it is also substantial in its own right and well worth 99p! I'm really looking forward to Book 2. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 10 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sister: Book 1 of THREE DAYS IN CHICAGOLAND (Kindle Edition)
A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Daily Mail article 03/09/12, 3 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Sister: Book 1 of THREE DAYS IN CHICAGOLAND (Kindle Edition)
Novelist RJ Ellory was forced to make a grovelling apology yesterday after it emerged he had been posting gushing praise of his own work - and attacking others' novels - under an assumed name on Amazon.

Read more: [...]

Perhaps, as others have stated, his writing is worth a read but I will not buy any of his books because of his deceit. It is bad enough that he must toot his own horn, but to make disparaging remarks about other authors, sets a new low. Perhaps other authors are also writing their own reviews and have not been caught out but there is no excuse for deceiving the general public. BTW, I have always enjoyed Stuart McBride novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews