Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal-watchers will love it
Written by Princess Elizabeth and Princess Margaret's governess, this 1950 memoir is surprisingly intimate and an excellent read. `Crawfie,' as she was called, worked for the royal family for seventeen years and was the girls' teacher, playmate, role model, and confidant.

She describes everything from the interior of the royals' homes and the girls' study...
Published on 22 Jan. 2012 by Kona

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Royal memory lane
Bought this as it was a book I loved when I was much younger and when The royal family was shrouded in mystery. If you are interested In The near history of the current royal family this is an interesting easy read,for you
Published 18 months ago by Lakelander


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Royal-watchers will love it, 22 Jan. 2012
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Written by Princess Elizabeth and Princess Margaret's governess, this 1950 memoir is surprisingly intimate and an excellent read. `Crawfie,' as she was called, worked for the royal family for seventeen years and was the girls' teacher, playmate, role model, and confidant.

She describes everything from the interior of the royals' homes and the girls' study habits and hobbies to the hardships of War and Elizabeth's courtship and wedding. She paints a picture of an exceptionally loving family who devoted their lives to their country. There are many personal letters to Crawford from Queen Mary, Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother, and the princesses. Though she writes with great respect and admiration for the royal family, the book must have been a horrible shock and unforgivable betrayal of their trust; after the book's publication, they never spoke to her again.

The book is entirely positive toward the royals and without a hint of malice, but one does wonder why she chose to reveal their very private lives in this manner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Royal childhood revealed, 26 Nov. 2011
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Marion Crawford was governess to Queen Elizabeth II and Princess Margaret from when they were small children until they were grown up. In 1950, she published this lovingly detailed account of her years as a royal governess.

The book provides a fascinating glimpse into the lives of the little princesses, from the days when they enjoyed a relatively quiet childhood with a close and happy family life, before their father became King. Then came the drama of the abdication, and the move to Buckingham Palace. Here Marion Crawford describes how the little girls prepared their stable of toy horses for the move:

'Though sad to leave 145 Piccadilly, the little girls, like children the world over, were excited over the move. They spent a lot of time getting their fine stud of horses ready. The saddles all had to be strapped on, the grooming brushes and polishing cloths packed up into their big basket. I began to wonder if the little girls would want to wheel them all the way over to the Palace themselves, but in the end they went with other treasures in a furniture van. There they took up their stand in a long row down the corridor in the Palace outside the children's rooms. They were still there on Lilibet's wedding morning.'

The book contains many such charming details of the princesses' childhood, descriptions of their games and lessons and outings, and the fun they had with their parents. Particularly it dwells on the eagerness of the princesses to do the things that other children did. Almost nothing is said that it as at all critical of the royal family, apart from a very little mild criticism of the frivolity of Princess Margaret's teenage years.

it is difficult to understand, sixty years on, why this book should have given the offence it did to the royal family on its publication, considering the number of much more lurid and much more critical books that have been published since. But as Andrew Marr pointed out in his recent excellent book The Diamond Queen, this was the first. The royal family have very little privacy, and to see detailed accounts of their likes and dislikes, their everyday doings, private family games etc, published for all to read, must have been painful. They could not know that much worse was to come, but this book may have given them an inkling. It is also a little hard to understand why, if Marion Crawford was really so fond of the royal family, she did not think to consult them before publishing this book.

This book will be enjoyed by anyone with an interest in the royal family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting insight, 9 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Princesses (Hardcover)
What better insight into the lives of the Royal's than someonne who has worked for them in such an important capacity. 'Crawfie' was frozen out after writing this book but she has provided the reader with a wonderful insight into her job inside one of the most 'secretive establishment's' in the world. I can feel that 'icy stare' looking down at me as I write this....yes, that 'smiling crocodile' the deceased Queen Mother - Elizabeth Bowes Lyons ....the Ice Maiden!!!

Read this delightful book for a closer look into the gilded cage and feel that 'old croc' bristling whilst she kept that well known outward smiling demeanour

A wonderful read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Good Read, 9 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Princesses: The Story Of The Queen's Childhood By Her Nanny Crawfie (Kindle Edition)
I have always wanted to read the book and it more than exceeded expectations. Marion Crawford was totally ostracized by the Royal Family following publication of the book. The details she revealed were intimate and private although entirely benign and complimentary. However, for the times I can well understand the Royals' feelings on the matter. How they must have felt years later when 'their own' revealed more damning details I do not know. Jennie Bond calls the book a historic document and I agree with her. It makes the present Queen appear more caring and sympathetic which must be a good thing. It also reveals that staff in Marion Crawford's position were treated like family, which surprised me. Quite why Crawford wrote the book is difficult to understand - she herself criticises the press at that time for intruding into the Royal Family's life and indeed causing distress to the then Princess Elizabeth. Whatever the morality of the times and the book, it is still an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was excellent. A real look inside the world of the Queen as she was growing up. l do not understand why the Royal Family were so angry with Marion Crawford she was always kind in what was said. She got a raw deal for a long and faithful service.
What came across is what a lovley..genuine person Queen Elizabeth was and is.

Great descriptions of the interior of the homes Queen Elizabeth lived in.
Beautiful photographs.

And bringing the past into 2013 Crawfie lived in a Grace and Favour home 'Nottingham Cottage' which is today where William and Kate are living untill the apartment in Kensington Palace is ready.
A great read and a keeper for your bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars delightful, 22 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is lovely, such an insight into the young life of our queen. Well written and by turns poignant and enchanting. In the year of the jubilee,this book deserves to be widely read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Little Princesses, 19 July 2012
By 
Sophy511 "Shaz" (Omagh,Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
At my advanced age I remember reading this book when it was serialised in "Woman's Own" soon after it was first published so it is a lovely, nostalgic experience to catch up with it again in Diamond Jubilee year.The Little Princesses: The Story Of The Queen's Childhood By Her Nanny Crawfie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just as I thought, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Princesses: The Story Of The Queen's Childhood By Her Nanny Crawfie (Kindle Edition)
This was an interesting read, even though I knew quite a lot of its content as I am a regular reader of royal family material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The little princesses, 29 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The Little Princesses: The Story Of The Queen's Childhood By Her Nanny Crawfie (Kindle Edition)
If you are into reading about royalty this is a must .A charming story about the queen and her sister when they were young by there teacher/ Nanny. It was easy read and had new facts that I haven't read before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the little princesses, 28 July 2012
By 
J. Hart (UK South coast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Princesses: The Story Of The Queen's Childhood By Her Nanny Crawfie (Kindle Edition)
A good read - giving insight to the Queen and Princess Margarets early years - and the influence of Crawfie - their nanny - a different
world to the one we know today - and although Im the generation of the Queens eldest son - Charles - I can appreciate the times were
hard during the 1920 for so many folks -
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews