Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars23
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2015
As usual, excellent work by Harlan Ellison. I'm not a volume consumer of books but Ellison's writing somehow manages to grab hold of me and talk to me like very few other authors can. I won't parrot other reviewers description of the contents of this book but as you can tell his work seems to illicit a love or hate reaction. Personally, I love it. Give it a try and see what you think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
A generous and eclectic selection from a mixture of well remembered and now forgotten authors. As you might expect the stories which seemed most groundbreaking and zeitgeisty when they were first published are the ones which have aged least well, some becoming almost unreadable IMO. nevertheless this is such a big book you still get your money worth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
The short stories themselves are of course excellent, but I am less than keen on the large number of mutual back-slapping introductions which add considerably to the weight of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Ground breaking short stories from the mid 60s group of new wave speculative fiction writers. A must read for all fans of the genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2015
A great collection even after 40+ years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
I love the Masterworks series, but this is not a good book. The concept of 'dangerous visions' seems to have been taken by most contributors to refer to horror rather than anything intellectually challenging. There is also a bizarre commentary on page 425 where the author claims that society's decision to restrict child access to porn is based on humanity's ability to 'think itself into a truth' (rather than the fact that porn has been proven to be damaging to young children). He argues there is nothing wrong with letting children get aroused by porn. I stopped reading at this point and the book is in the bin.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
All perfect...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2015
There are times when I don't like a book, that I can understand how someone else could like it; someone with different tastes than mine. But that does not apply to this book.

I found it impossible to read. The few stories I tried were disjointed, ungraceful, with no plot. I browsed the rest of the book, trying to find some stories that looked better, but couldn't.

I regretted not having paid attention to one of the reviewers here, who strong recommended against the book. The introductions to the stories, as that same reviewer pointed out, are colorless and a waste of time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
Prepared by the editor with the intention of making Science Fiction (SF - NOT Sci Fi) intellectually on a par with any other form of classical literature, which it is anyway, the stories have been collected not merely for their entertainment value, or as a demonstration of the best of the author's ingenuity, but as a contribution to this "intellectualisation" (sorry!) of the genre. I was disappointed.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
All very good stories
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.