Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHERUB: The General - The very best of Muchamore!
CHERUB: The General follows the main CHERUB agents to Las Vegas in America, where they take part in one of the biggest war games ever. As always Muchamore is on top form, and the characters are well developed, plots are more action packed, and comical as ever.

We find out more about Kazakov, a Ukrainian training instructor whose brutal tactics and war expertise...
Published on 25 Aug 2008 by King Johno

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read
It is one of the better Cherub books but it is visible that the author is losing his touch. There are only a few more to go and the idea is wearing thin.
Published on 31 Dec 2010 by jack17938


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHERUB: The General - The very best of Muchamore!, 25 Aug 2008
By 
King Johno "Mark Johnson" (Stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The General (Cherub) (Paperback)
CHERUB: The General follows the main CHERUB agents to Las Vegas in America, where they take part in one of the biggest war games ever. As always Muchamore is on top form, and the characters are well developed, plots are more action packed, and comical as ever.

We find out more about Kazakov, a Ukrainian training instructor whose brutal tactics and war expertise come right into play when he's asked to head an insurgency against an entire American battalion. As battle begins in the world's largest urban training compound, James Adams and his fellow CHERUB agents are on the front line, deploying Kazakov's tactics against the troops. Kazakov thinks he'll have the troops, on the ground and begging for mercy before day two ends; but will it be so easy?

With CHERUB: The General, Muchamore brings forward a new breed of spy book. A book which doesn't need super-human skills, or stunts which are near impossible. Alex Rider bites the dust with a novel which is more realistic than ever before, a gripping and thrilling read which announces Muchamore's arrival onto the number one bestsellers lists and proves that he is a writer who can make teenagers (especially boys) want to read again!

Please don't think that CHERUB is like any other book. It isn't. It's original, it's realistic and it's my favourite!

Once you've read the book, why not head over to the official CHERUB forums? You can discuss what you thought, and even talk to the author of the books, Robert Muchamore, who visits daily! You can also find out about all the CHERUB events and signings, that are happening around the globe when this series goes totally global!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muchamore flying high!, 29 Aug 2008
By 
King Johno "Mark Johnson" (Stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The General (Cherub) (Paperback)
CHERUB: The General follows the main CHERUB agents to Las Vegas in America, where they take part in one of the biggest war games ever. As always Muchamore is on top form, and the characters are well developed, plots are more action packed, and comical as ever.

We find out more about Kazakov, a Ukrainian training instructor whose brutal tactics and war expertise come right into play when he's asked to head an insurgency against an entire American battalion. As battle begins in the world's largest urban training com, James Adams and his fellow CHERUB agents are on the front line, deploying Kazakov's tactics against the troops. Kazakov thinks he'll have the troops, on the ground and begging for mercy before day two ends; but will it be so easy?

With CHERUB: The General, Muchamore brings forward a new breed of spy book. A book which doesn't need super-human skills, or stunts which are near impossible. Alex Rider bites the dust with a novel which is more realistic than ever before, a gripping and thrilling read which announces Muchamore's arrival onto the number one bestsellers lists and proves that he is a writer who can make teenagers (especially boys) want to read again!

Please don't think that CHERUB is like any other book. It isn't. It's original, it's realistic and it's my favourite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 5 Aug 2009
By 
MHS (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The General (Cherub) (Paperback)
The General is the 11th book in the Cherub series. Cherub has appealed to me when no other spy adventure book did - having my hooked from day one!

It's always a challenge for an author to keep a series going for so long whilst maintaining interest, and Muchamore has been doing rather well. I think it was important that not every book ended up like another story of James Adams on a mission whilst he dealt with normal teenage terrors. This book has certainly added something to the series!

At the very beginning we are thrown into a whirlwind of adventure, as he finds himself in a huge protest shambles. After that, his mission ends up being pointless (which infuriated me a bit because it was a really good story line) and to console himself he signs up to a training exercise which promises to be rather fun.

The exercise takes place in Fort Reagan, the largest urban warfare-training compound, too mock the reality of a proper war. Kazakov, (a recently appointed training instructor) uses his ruthless edge, to win the best war game ever using 10 cherub agents - James and his friends. Kazakov's history had been well hidden in previous books, and The General certainly brings this to light.

I wouldn't say this un-put-down-able (because I did quite a few times) but it's certainly a good read. I look forward to reading the next in the series, however I doubt it will live up to it's expectations the way the books earlier in the series did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book in the series., 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CHERUB: The General (Kindle Edition)
So far I have read all the books in the series and this was by far the worst. I just never seemed to get going and lacked pace in a lot of places. I have now decided to stop reading the series because I feel that, by book 10, it's had it's time. This book felt like the author did not have anything to write about, so he just dribbled on. I think he may be out of ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 5 Feb 2012
This review is from: The General (Cherub) (Paperback)
I haven't read all the CHERUB books, but this is very good. (not as good as the recruit and brigands m.c) It's actually the first CHERUB book I got as it looked the best. It starts off with James in the final stages of a mission. When it's over, he and some other CHERUB agents take part in a war games excersise in America. It keeps you reading and it's hard not to laugh when Kazakov (one of the CHERUB instructers) tells an American soldier what people in his country use the American flag for.
A very good book and undeserving of the bad reviews it's been given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: The General (Cherub) (Paperback)
It is one of the better Cherub books but it is visible that the author is losing his touch. There are only a few more to go and the idea is wearing thin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One for the fans, 5 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The General (Cherub) (Paperback)
Muchamore's Cherub series are generally well-written and accessible books for teenagers. This one follows the formula pretty well, with the characters growing up and developing, and a couple of separate plots strung together.

The books work best when they are dealing with gritty realistic situations - drug dealing in Class A, rather than some of the more weird and wonderful plots around.

The General is OK, with a pacy start, but loses its way somewhat when the Cherubs get involved in war games in America. Apart from the fact that it seems unlikely that such a top secret unit would be publicly involved in a training exercise, it the book loses that page turning quality.

Not bad, but not his best. If you are new to Cherubs, then don't start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The General (Cherub) (Paperback)
bought as a present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE BEST BOOK EVER ONE DIRECTION, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CHERUB: The General (Kindle Edition)
I LIKE THE BIT WHERE THEY GO TO FORT REAGAN because it is funny when they put the chemical in the water source and they got stuck on the toilet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CHERUB: The General (Kindle Edition)
This book is one of the best I have ever read, I normally don't read books much but as soon as I got into the cherub series I have been reading 1 or 2 a day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CHERUB: The General
CHERUB: The General by Robert Muchamore
£2.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews