Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT...BUT NOT THE GREATEST
I come at this from a very personal angle because in 2011, I compiled a prog compilation for Angel Air records called 'Ventis Secundis Tene Cursum'. I chose the tracks on merit and flatteringly (but a little unimaginatively)virtually the whole album has been replicated here, licenced from the aforesaid label!

This is a creative compilation including some old...
Published on 30 April 2012 by HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (fo...

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Ever Prog Rock
I do not like repeating what other reviewers have already stated, but this is not the greatest ever progressive rock collection.
This is a collection of peoples favourites. You will never keep everyone happy. No sign of Family, Groundhogs, Jethro Tull, to name but a few.
Published 20 months ago by Steven E. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT...BUT NOT THE GREATEST, 30 April 2012
By 
HAYLING BOOK & MUSIC VENUE (follow us on Face... (26 Rails Lane Hayling Island) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Ever Prog Rock: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
I come at this from a very personal angle because in 2011, I compiled a prog compilation for Angel Air records called 'Ventis Secundis Tene Cursum'. I chose the tracks on merit and flatteringly (but a little unimaginatively)virtually the whole album has been replicated here, licenced from the aforesaid label!

This is a creative compilation including some old classics which seem to appear on every compilation of this type (eg 'Don't Fear The Reaper'), but also takes us down some wonderful new avenues, not least Rob Thomson's fabulous 'Dust' from the album of the same name (check it out - it is phenomenal).

But who can ignore the wonderful despair of Atomic Rooster's 'I Can't Take No More' or the fabulous 'Back Street Luv' by Curved Air? pure magic!

Then we have the excellent Running Man and Zebra - all hard-to-find-on-CD gems until recently.

Not perfect, but pretty damn good all the same.

For value - top notch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let The Good Times Roll...., 10 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Greatest Ever Prog Rock: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This album is great! It brings back so memories as soon as I hear these songs....pubs, fantastic bands and the music circuit around London. I remember seeing Consortium in The Prince of Wales in Tottenham High Street performing "Where", the track featured on this album, amongst many other of their renowned, self penned classics. They had a fantastic following, and the faithful followed them wherever they played. As someone once so aptly said...."Those were the days!!" This album is great, and well worth the money. Don't miss out....it's a must have for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 30 April 2012
This review is from: Greatest Ever Prog Rock: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
love this album! it is hard to say it is the best ever collection because of the huge amount of prog rock out there and of course everyone will have there faves but this is about as good a collection ive come across so far. the inclusion of zzebra,galahad and quintessence are rare and add to the more easily seen yes,edgar winter and marillion. £4.99 is a steal for this 3 cd boxset. Highly reccomend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old man's birthday present, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
Mrs. F. C. Williams (South West UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Ever Prog Rock: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Bought this for my husband for his birthday in January and he loves it. Found new to us bands to follow up on and buy more cds of the particular artist. Galahad has been our favourite closely followed by Consortium, a sixties band who have been around like forever.
Perfect to listen to over and over, great track choices and all in all probably the best compilation rock/progressive ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Progtastic value mate!, 28 Aug. 2013
By 
uncleken (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Ever Prog Rock: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
As with any compilation (especially one with 40 tracks) it is pretty much inevitable that there will be some selections that you woudn't have included had the choice been yours. However, there are still plenty of great tracks to enjoy here, especially if (like me) you spent your teenage years browsing the weird and wonderful album covers in your local record shop in search of interesting new music. The prog rock heyday of the early seventies was swept away by the arrival of punk/new wave, which I have to admit was like a breath of fresh air at the time; but what this collection amply demonstrates is that (as so often happens) quite a few lovely babies got thrown out with the bathwater. Overall I'd say that it is a bit dubious in places (although surely this will always be a subjective judgement) but when you factor in the low price it really is a bit of a bargain. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Prog Rock selection, 5 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Ever Prog Rock: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This one I selected after searching for Prog Rock and the selection is really good.For those, who like Prog Rock thsi could be the set of CDs to start with - to get acquintaced with top songs in progressive rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest ever?, 23 April 2012
By 
R. Hughes "Grumpy Old Git" (Deepest Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Ever Prog Rock: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Probably not but they have had a good stab at it. A good spread of bands and a selection of tracks that is not obvious. Also includes some rarities like Roundabout and Back Street Luv that don't appear on compilations that often! The three CDs add up to about 3 1/2 hours of great prog music for a very reasonable price so a no brainer for me. Had to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 13 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Ever Prog Rock: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant collection of classic prog rock, not every track hits the mark for me but that's the nature of the beast, it's so varied in range, texture, tempo etc. For anyone looking to explore, or for anyone wanting to be reminded of, this most articulate field of contemporary music this collection is a must. For a fiver it's rude not to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Ever Prog Rock, 6 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Ever Prog Rock: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
My husband was made up when he found this in his Christmas box. The delivery was quick and the service was brilliant. We are very pleased with the CD selection, description and the service we received. We would definitely recommend this seller and use them again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good if you are a prog rock virgin., 2 Aug. 2014
By 
A. P. Monblat (Sutton, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Ever Prog Rock: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
No progressive rock in your possession? Then buy this, as it has many, many great prog bands on it, but not every last one obviously. If you do have some compilations already, however, you will end duplicating several tracks you already have. Especially if you have the brill Time Machine - A Vertigo Retrospective [Box Set].

Jefferson Airplane's track will appeal to prog fans, but is more psychedelic than prog. To my mind progressive/prog was a mainly British (and to some extent European) thing. There was certainly some great American music in the late sixties/early seventies, but it was not really prog as we would recognise the genre - I'd be interested in people's views on this. (Of course a certain US demographic liked UK prog - it complemented rather than duplicated their own music.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews