Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Compilation, 30 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece - Andrew Weatherall (Audio CD)
Mr Weatherall needs no introduction to anyone over the age of 30.
A great remixer and producer and this selection of tracks he's mixed for the Ministry Of Sound label doesn't disappoint.
It's certainly 'leftfield' in the sense that you wouldn't hear these tracks in your 'average' club - but you avoid the run of the mill
predictable pap that usually fill dance 'mix' cd's.
CD one and two are my favourites as disc three just seems a bit 'heavy' and slow.
The flow on the other two dics is superb and constantly surprising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really glad I bought this..., 10 May 2012
This review is from: Masterpiece - Andrew Weatherall (Audio CD)
I walked into HMV whilst Cut Copy was playing on CD#2.

Amazing track. I asked the assistant, he got the CD which turned out to be 'Wevvers' which was new in that day.
Took that to be my invitation to buy, and I didn't regret it.

This CD is full of lush melodies, solid beats and swirling backings + the odd vocal thrown in.
Seeing as it's the 1st solid state music format I've bought for many a year, I'm pretty happy with it.

Musically it seems to press all the buttons.

For 10 and 3 CD's. It's a surefire thing..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece - Andrew Weatherall (Audio CD)
Outstanding album. If you like Andrew Weatherall's taste in music, then buying this mix should be a very simple decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Dr Weatherall on top form, 4 Oct 2012
This review is from: Masterpiece - Andrew Weatherall (Audio CD)
Dr Weatherall provides you with 3 CD's of music you quite simply need but didnt even know you wanted.
It has some elements of his Dj sets around very early 90's, but at the same time it sounds very fresh.
Indeed a masterpiece!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 5 July 2012
This review is from: Masterpiece - Andrew Weatherall (Audio CD)
Last time I felt this excited about a mix cd was in 1994 when The first Rennaissance compilation came out. Dance music has been dull for a decade but suddenly a new generation of quality underground house/techno tunes have come along that hit the spot like they did in the old days. 3+ hours of beautifully produced pumping original dance music monsters that had my hairs standing on end. For less than a tenner, you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars masterpiece indeed, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece - Andrew Weatherall (Audio CD)
mr weatherall has always been the more discerning nocturnalist's turntablist of choice.i first caught him at the legendary sugar sweet night in belfast with his sabres of paradise way back when and the extraordinary buzz surrounding his visit was only surpassed by the seismic influence he had thereafter on the expectations of anyone who witnessed it on what a dj can do to an audience.i moved to london shortly afterwards and over subsequent years was lucky enough to follow just some of the many twists and turns that are so much a part of his craft first hand and in the correct setting,i.e.in a dark sweaty basement at the mercy of a sleek yet uncompromising sound system.weatherall,s recorded output has been no less interesting whether in terms of his collaborative efforts as the sabres of paradise and their skewed organic take on dub via acid house to his more technoid incarnations as bloodsugar to two lone swordsmen,s singular electro and dark futurist rockabilly and mutant punk.the problem,if indeed there is a problem is that no mix album that has been released so far could truly be said to represent the astonishing range and depth of this man's musical imagination within the constraints of the humble 70 minute mix format.andrew weatherall,s dj sets are often unpredictable yet exhilarating musical lessons spun out over 3or more hours that leave you feeling like a changed person after coming out the other side of one,like the most vital art in fact they are transformative which would explain why he has remained the undeground dj,s choice of dj for nigh 25 years.this cd will go some way toward explaining why as it is quite simply astonishing .3 hours 40 minutes of everything that weatherall does best with its feet firmly on the dance floor.ive been living with this for a week now and think that it may just be the best mix cd of all time and ive bought plenty.wont try to describe the myriad delights contained within other than to say that its heaving with them.jaw dropping,masterpiece indeed mr weatherall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This really is a Maserpiece, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece - Andrew Weatherall (Audio CD)
i very rarely give cd's and comps five starts but i truely believe this cd deserves it...Amongst all the other comps i bought over 2013 (Warren, Cattanteo, Digweed, Guy J etc) all of which i am a massive fan this CD beats them all hands down. its not even full of records i would naturally lend my ear to or go out of my way to walk into a dancefloor if i heard them played in a club etc but the way Andrew puts all three CDs together is just incredible. Some of the mixing is a bit archaic but i found myself not caring as i listened to it more and more as i just found myself filling with excitement when the next track came in.

its hard to pin point the genre but its a sort of new wave funk filled electro melodic disco rolling beats and cosmic tune type aural festival for your head with each and every listen. You'll find yourself muttering the inane lyrics of some of the songs as you listen to it more and more (Soft Rocks - Magic Milk). I put this on at a few parties over the last few months and EVERYONE loved it.

If you are a fan of the old (and original) MOS sessions series, the Azuri Collection of Classics and the new DJ Kicks series coupled with the old Masters series from Renaissance which offers simply quality sets from excellent global DJ's then this should be in your CD collection. If you appreciate the old Bristol music movement of the 90's (Tricky etc) then this should be in your collection. If you love electronic music (the good stuff, not the high paced commercial rubbish) then this should be in your collection. in fact...after just writing all this im off to for a listen to the whole thing again!.....genuinely excited to listen to it all over again.....the last time i felt like that about a CD was then i purchase James Holdens Balance 005 or Sasha & Digweeds Northern Exposure Vol II
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Exceptionally well judged selection of tracks. The three hour long mixes have real momentum and shape, I found myself tapping my feet for three solid hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music for Senior Headphones, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece - Andrew Weatherall (Audio CD)
For those of a certain vintage, Weatherall's name is a guarantee of quality. Mercifully, this mix continues the Lone Swordsman's recent yearning for slower, chugging beats and "cosmic disco" production. Masterpiece is an ideal headphone excursion, and shows the man's passion for his subject. And surprisingly, it's from Ministry of Sound. The kind of mix that makes me happy that Acid House was my Punk. Do enjoy. Do enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A grower., 3 Jan 2013
By 
J. Elkin "CM" - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpiece - Andrew Weatherall (Audio CD)
I didn’t get this album at first as it is not as dancey as I was expecting, but it is just cool. Buy it listen to it a few times, and it will grow on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masterpiece - Andrew Weatherall
Masterpiece - Andrew Weatherall by Andrew Weatherall (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews