Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great indroduction
Explains key commands, and options/switches, in an easy to use way. Deliberately leaves out details that won't be of use and might confuse a beginner, these can always be looked up in the man files (see the book) or googled but the key information of what commands exist and where to start is extremely useful.
Published 14 months ago by Nate

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading
What's to say? It's awash with typos, skims lightly over topics, contains a lot of shameless plugs and even contains some authorial misconceptions ( my favourite was 'man functions a lot like less' - it should; man uses the less pager to display info) that said it is very easy to understand and it's very cheap - well thats why you're looking at it right?

As a...
Published 2 months ago by JJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad easy to read, 25 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Computer Beginner's Guides Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I really liked the style of this book. It deals with a geeky subject in a non-geeky way so it is easy to. It is a beginner's guide, not a reference manual, and its layout lends itself to that. Unfortunately there are quite a few typos which took the edge of some of the learning points.
Jonathan is not only a technical author but a novelist as well. He mentions that. That's fine but I thought adding a chapter of one of his novels to this book was going too far.
But for the price it is a worthy read for anyone needing an introduction to Linux command line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Linux command beginners guide, 22 Jan 2013
By 
I. D. coulter (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Computer Beginner's Guides Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Well written and ideal for someone new to Linux as it leads you gently into the topic and is not full of jargon.
At this price it is good value for money. Similar information can be found on the internet for nothing but it's much better to have this on your kindle so you can refer to it when trying out the commands.
You have nothing to lose by buying this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never judge a book by it's cover... except this one., 4 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Computer Beginner's Guides Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I purchased this book because, well, there's a woman on the cover. And I figure, if a woman can understand Linux, with all those commands you have to learn, I sure can.

Boy was I wrong. This book is exclusively aimed at the female market. The pink cursive text is virtually impossible to read, and the frequent comparisons to various cooking techniques to describe simple tasks in Linux only added to my confusion.

Perhaps a lumberjack edition book could be released as well?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Instructive, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Computer Beginner's Guides Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
This book blew my eyes wide open. Thanks for the time taken to write it. Very much appreciated. I like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Insulting, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Computer Beginner's Guides Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
Just like all this author's Beginner's Guides, information that should fill no more than 3 pages of A4, was churned into a guide book. He even presumes to add his fictional ramblings as if that ameliorates the original insult of the poor standard of the guide. Why anyone would want to read his stories when his technical nous is limited, is beyond me. There is nothing he offers about the Linux command line that cannot be found on-line anyway. Anyone wishing to read about an Operating System's Command line surely has no interest to read stories. Ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At last, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Computer Beginner's Guides Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
At last plain English ,something I can follow and get stuck in and learn, was really difficult with out this guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good basic guide, 5 April 2013
By 
Mr. Campbell D. Morrison "minoandad" (Belfast, Northern Irelanc) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Computer Beginner's Guides Book 3) (Kindle Edition)
I no longer review items because Amazon insists that you complete it, and I do not wish to spend my time doing this unless I have had an exceptional experience. It means I can't actually enter my rating - which I genuinely want to do. Shame on you Amazon. As far as this item is concerned I would not given it a rating if I didn't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews