Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great indroduction
Explains key commands, and options/switches, in an easy to use way. Deliberately leaves out details that won't be of use and might confuse a beginner, these can always be looked up in the man files (see the book) or googled but the key information of what commands exist and where to start is extremely useful.
Published 16 months ago by Nate

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading
What's to say? It's awash with typos, skims lightly over topics, contains a lot of shameless plugs and even contains some authorial misconceptions ( my favourite was 'man functions a lot like less' - it should; man uses the less pager to display info) that said it is very easy to understand and it's very cheap - well thats why you're looking at it right?

As a...
Published 4 months ago by JJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great indroduction, 16 May 2013
By 
Nate "Nate" (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
Explains key commands, and options/switches, in an easy to use way. Deliberately leaves out details that won't be of use and might confuse a beginner, these can always be looked up in the man files (see the book) or googled but the key information of what commands exist and where to start is extremely useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really well written and helpful, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
Written really well. It is great for people who want to become more familiar with the command line, or who are just starting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful reference to have on hand., 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
For less than 1 this is well worth purchasing. I found it a great help to get me started with the command line in puppy Linux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essential Purchase, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
This is an essential purchase for anyone who wants to start using the terminal and wasn't sure where to begin. Whilst it doesn't cover everything it gives a good starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 1 May 2014
By 
JJ (devon, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
What's to say? It's awash with typos, skims lightly over topics, contains a lot of shameless plugs and even contains some authorial misconceptions ( my favourite was 'man functions a lot like less' - it should; man uses the less pager to display info) that said it is very easy to understand and it's very cheap - well thats why you're looking at it right?

As a linux user of some 6 years, I bought this book as a light reading alternative to a real jargon brick of a book I'm working on. The writing style is verycleR to new users and covers a broad range of commands.

Where this book falls down is in it's content. It's all over the place - lengthy detailed description of how to change file and directory ownership, almost just a casual nod to installing software. The author clearly wrote the book to sell a book, but it feels like a 1st draft. The author skims some parts because he doesn't have a full comprehension of the answer. I see he has an ubuntu guide, so my guess is there's almost nothing on package management because he doesn't know RPM, Yum (wow that read like a wikipedia first paragraph) or Yast.

This could easily be a 5* book, but the author has not put the effort in to plan it out. I did notice his categories are in the same order as a couple of lpi texts, so I figure the structure was lifted from another text. Could really do with rethinking from a beginners perspective.

All in all i enjoyed the read. It was a refresher for me and i completed it in 6 days of commuting. That said the only new thing I learned was the apropos command, but then it's the same as man -k which i did know but isn't covered. I suppose that's it; this is a great guid for understanding what a command is used for. You just might not always get told how to use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Linux Command Line Guide for Beginners, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant - This will be extreamly useful - The book is exactly what I'm looking
for a simple organized introduction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent article, good for beginners to Linux, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
very well written, excellent article, good for beginners to Linux.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
A good general introduction for the novice, but probably not that useful for those with experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its is okay fr beginners, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
If you are really new to command line and command line Linux I would recommend this book. It doesn't go into great detail but it is a good start ad you can always use it as an introduction to Linux command shell etc... This s good @ a low cost price. I wouldn't pay any more than 2 pound for it. But would recommend it, for beginners in which I was when I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction at an easy pace, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide (Kindle Edition)
An easy writing style makes what could have been a very dry and difficult topic quite simple and enjoyable to follow. Yes, there's much more detail and technical completeness available online, but for me this was the perfect way to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Linux Command Line Beginner's Guide
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews