Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the most infamous exploitation film of all time
When movies first came out on video there were two legendary exploitation films I had to track down. One was "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and the other was "I Spit on Your Grave," which is actually the more memorable film of the pair overall (although I do grant the highest place to the "hook" scene in TCM). Director Meir Zarchi's 1978 film has become rather infamous,...
Published on 8 Jan 2003

versus
35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Different, controversial...but somewhat muted in UK version
New York writer Jennifer (Camille Keaton, the grand-niece of physical comedy genius Buster Keaton) retreats to a cabin in the country to write her first novel, but her peace and train of thought is interrupted by four men she meets upon arrival, who go on to gang-rape and commit savagery on her three times before leaving her for dead (one of the guys was supposed to kill...
Published on 15 Sep 2005 by Mr. A. T. Whitaker


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of the most vicious pieces of cinema ever?, 18 Jan 2002
By A Customer
'I Spit On Your Grave' is one of THE most infamous of the video nasties. Often ranked alongside films such as 'Texas Chainsaw..' and 'Driller Killer', it has gathered a reputation for itself as being 'the rape movie'. While '..Grave' deals with the subject of a lonely woman being attacked several times during one day, in the most brutal fashion (the film is also known as 'Day Of The Woman'), she ultimately gains retribution over her tormentors. However, the film is difficult to watch, and there is not much pleasure to be gained from it. The way in which the rape scenes are filmed is unnerving, in a kind of cinema verite form, and these scences are prolonged, making the viewer feel uncomfortable watching them. However, although the victim gains her revenge (by cutting of the main protagonists gentails in a bath being one choice for retribution), it feels as if the torture of the male is significantally shorter than the ordeal that the female has to endure. The film has been defended in the past by womens groups, as she coaxes her attackers using her sexuality in order to gain revenge, and does so in a bloody way. The end result of the film is that it made me feel a little uneasy, and i didnt so much as cheer for the heroine, as felt extremely sorry for her and her ordeal. It is grubby little explotation picture that has gained mass noriety, and is easy to see why. The BBFC version is sure to be shorn of a lot of the rape scenes, which i think may dilute the shock value of the film. Do not watch this film is easily offendeded, as it will offend. Incidently, a sequel was planned by director Zairchi, with Keaton reprising her role, but nothing ever emerged, thankfully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the most infamous exploitation film of all time, 1 Nov 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
When movies first came out on video there were two legendary exploitation films I had to track down. One was "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" and the other was "I Spit on Your Grave," which is actually the more memorable film of the pair overall (although I do grant the highest place to the "hook" scene in TCM). Director Meir Zarchi's 1978 film has become rather infamous, since critics hated it, audiences were outraged, and the film was banned in Germany and Great Britain. The story, such as it is, finds Jennifer Hill (Camille Keaton, Buster's grand-niece) out in the woods of Connecticut to work on a novel when she crosses the path of some local boys who decide she should be the first sexual partner for their mentally-disabled friend. When he cannot complete the rape, his friends do it for him. Then they decide that they are not done with Jennifer.
At issue are not Jennifer's specific acts of revenge, including the infamous bathroom scene, but rather the series of brutal rapes that precede them. I do not want to meet anyone who is not disturbed by these rape scenes and I think it is fairly obvious that Zarchi intended to make audiences uncomfortable. In retrospect you have to wonder about all those movies with rape scenes that do NOT upset the audience. But Zarchi certainly pours it on thick, absolutely assuring that things go beyond the tolerance level of anyone who watches this film. So the bottom line is that this film will upset you and it is therefore effective at doing exactly what it wants to do, which is supposed to be a good thing, right? I have always considered this an "X" rated movie although I would not consider it pornographic in the traditional sense. But it is a very disturbing film and I do not think I would want my kids to see it until after they graduate college (if ever). Anyone renting this film for cheap thrills is in for a shock.
As I now understand it, this 1978 film was originally released as "Day of the Woman," but that rather innocuous title was replaced by the well known "I Spit on Your Grave," although the film was also screened as "I Hate Your Guts" and "The Rape and Revenge of Jennifer Hill." All of this is interesting since it seems the producers were trying to pass off this film with both higher and lover levels of pretention. Beyond being letterboxed, this DVD offers nothing than the cheesy original theatrical trailer. But this is one film where you would certainly like to have to hear what the director has to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is the only version to have, 5 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. M. Balde "dvds fan" (london.uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
l am suprise,to see that l am the first one ,to write a review for this movie ( which is 100% uncut ). and l can not inderstand why so many people want for the uk version,which is horribly cuts,so much that you want to put the dvd in trash bin. the americain version ? well maybe less cut, but still a waste of time . so which is the best country to buy a dvd which is 100% uncut ? well the answer is very simple: the german version ,the deutch version or maybe the austrian version . ok ,ok some people will say : l can not inderstand the writing on the front cover and the back cover of the dvd,everything is written in deutch or in german.but how care because as long as you have the english audio language ,that is really matter?in my opinion, not at all.that why anyone sould buy this version of this movie, and is written : strong uncut version on the back cover of the dvd .you can not go wrong .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A SHOCKER, 18 Jun 2013
This film was banned in the U.K. in the early 80s (1982 I think). I was a teenager and me and my friends were determined to see it. We managed to get the un-cut version of it 'under the counter'. We were horrified to say the least. As teenage girls we often spoke of rape, because as young females we knew we could fall victim to this cime. We were not so aware back then that rape happens to boys and men as well, and to all age groups and ethnicities. Many people said at the time that this film exploited women and was trying to portray rape as titillating. Well, all I can say is if you can watch this sickening film and find it sexually arousing, then you must be as depraved as the men in the film itself. And far from exploiting women I think that it shows the TRUE horror of rape. I know of men who watched this film and admitted that it made them realise just how horrendous sexual assault is. The reason I give this film 5 stars is not because it is a favourite film of mine (definitely not). I gave this rating for the film's shock and horror value. The rape scene is very prolonged (or it was in the uncut version) and the brutality inflicted upon the victim is savage. Me and my friends did manage to watch it till the gruesome end (just about), and I have to say that all these years later, it is still one of the most shocking films I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A female view point, 4 Jun 2006
By 
I bought this film not expecting to much from it, but it is possibly one of the most conversation inciting film for women that i have ever seen! A realistic account of rape and mental torture revenged in a way i have never before seen on screen that will leave any women watching it wondering what they would do.

Although it will leave and lady viewers feeling uncomfortable it will also leave them feeling powerful and proud of who they are.

This is not the fastest paced film i have ever seen but gripping never the less, if you are a fan of old skool realistic horror this film is a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Vendors Are Supplying the Older Version instead of this Special Edition, 2 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This disc is the SPECIAL EDITION. It includes commentary from the Director Meir Zarchi; Lots of extras; has been made from an original negative therefore is in pristine condition; widescreen; dolby sound; and the number of cuts for the UK authorities has been reduced and more artistically made. All together a first class disc. Screen released two versions of I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE. In 2001 they released a DVD with no extras and used the existing master tape they had from the 1990s. In 2004 Screen issued a new DVD Special Edition, from an enhanced newly minted master tape of the original film supplied in 2003. This version was resubmitted to the BBFC and less was cut as the censorship laws had been relaxed somewhat. They also included a director's commentary and numerious extras. The packaging was modified to reflect those changes and clearly states SPECIAL EDITIOIN on it. The catalogue numbers are also different. The Special Edition which is pictured on this page is SDVD1012. The older version is SDVD1005. Some vendors are using this page to sell the older version of I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE but the DVD without making it totatly clear that they are sellling the older version so watch out for: "supplied in a different cover" or "not the SE version".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Uncut...unfortunately., 27 Dec 2006
By 
Some films have a reputation that is justified - `Clockwork Orange', for example, which still hits hard even today, for the coldness and detached objectivity with which its notorious violence erupts onscreen.

Some films gain a reputation that is inversely proportional to their actual content - `the Exorcist' being the most obvious example I could think of. At least, until I sat down to watch this; allegedly `shocking', `important', `socially relevant', `magnificent' motion picture.

Except that it's a dirty little sexploitation schlock number that would have deservedly sank without trace decades ago, but for the outraged bleatings of a few angry critics, and some strange individuals with clearly some perverted sense of reality who try to justify this as a `feminist' picture. Any woman who can suffer the first hour of this turgid, talentless display of ineptitude deserves a medal, and any man who can sit to the end without howling with laughter at the pathetic male characters isn't worthy of the name.

I don't think I've seen so many talentless actors together in one film, but I suppose useless, untrained wooden artistes were all that would actually wish to appear in such an effort. The leading lady, while gorgeous to look at, does her best with the "script" but ultimately shows why she spent her minimal career floundering around the plughole end of European Grade Z slasher garbage. So much for being related to the legendary Buster Keaton!

The first half of the picture succesfully exploits the idea of rape as a hardcore porn experience. Plenty of screaming, macho close-ups, submissive female poses. Which, as sexual psychology tells us, some men (and even some women) do find secretly exciting - any casual examination of the S & M scene will prove this. And clearly the director finds it exciting, too, as we have our unlucky heroine abused not once, but thrice, just in case we didn't get the point first time around, or didn't understand what rape actually entailed. So having put the female character through such hell for so long, do the male abusers receive an equal amount of torment before they're slaughtered? Don't be ridiculous!

The second half trivialises the revenge motif to a ludicrous extent, contriving ever more unbelievable situations in which the rapists can be dispatched; plot, suspense and characterization are zero to begin with, and quickly descend into negative values hereafter.

There's no glory or sense of vengeance done, just utter disbelief in the mind of the viewer that any man with an IQ above single figures would allow himself to get into that spot in the first place. So after dehumanizing females in its first forty minutes, the film then denigrates males just as effectively - an utterly degrading, foul, and unsatisfying spectacle for all who can bear to watch this to the end. Having known several women in my life who have suffered sexual abuse, I find this all the more offensive. I can't think of either of them finding this cathartic, satisfying, or exciting. Nor can I see any man wanting to identify with the 4 retarded neanderthals.

So why would I, for one, care to watch this in the first place? To see if it was what it was cracked up to be. To see how this important, socially relevant film would change my life, and make me consider sexual attitudes and my own views towards them, as many reviewers seem convinced it will. To challenge my own conscience, and sense of what is acceptable viewing, to push myself to my limit. To see if a film made 30 years ago still has the power to shock and offend that it is alleged to possess. To experience a little of the thrill of the transgressive, to view something which the authorities in this country have refused to be made viewable in its full form to this day - to watch an uncut, notorious `video nasty' from end to end. They really needn't have bothered. Most average filmgoers will be well asleep before anything even remotely controversial occurs - the rest will either be repelled, offended, or numbed. Those that aren't will already be huge fans of `Death Wish 3' and `Dirty Weekend', and will get from this film exactly what they had hoped for; naked breasts, a little bit of blood, chicks with guns, and hilarious Grand Guignol overacting.

The sad thing is, it could have been a decent enough picture, had it been directed by someone with even a vaguest hint of cinematic talent. There are moments of promise in there. Some of the shots and angles are actually quite interesting, some of the camerawork effective in a raw, maverick kind of way. The lack of music and sound effects on the score is a good notion, very badly realised, as the actual soundtrack mix is so low and badly arranged it hardly seems worth playing it in stereo. In fact, the stilted dialogue and corny acting hardly makes it worth even turning up the volume. It's not like there's a complex, metaphysical plot unfolding which you will miss out on. In fact, do yourself a favour; ignore this boring, sordid little piece of tat and go and watch Polanski's `Death & the Maiden' instead. Now that has some artistic credentials, is more satisfying, and produced by people who know how to make a film. Overall I would rate this film somewhere between the best work of Ed Wood, and the `Blair Witch' - and that's no compliment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why Bother, 20 Sep 2010
By 
M. A. Smith (australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Why bother releasing this movie in a fancy package with a book and poster when the fact is the movie is still cut to ribbons.
Purchase the uncut dvd elsewhere or wait for an uncut blu-ray from somewhere else as im sure it will be available from the states, australia or Europe in blu after the remake has finished its cinema run.
BBFC you should be ashamed of yourselves as this is not as bad as some of the other stuff out there and is very dated now......grow up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars After Waiting 30 years to watch it........., 18 Nov 2007
By 
Mr. N. J. Bevis "BEV_RED_HOT_B" (Suffolk , Eng) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I decided to get the region 1 version which i assume is uncut... I have read many reviews on amazon etc. Iam a 70's / 80's horror / Slasher fan and loved the last house on the left.. So , was this as what i thought it would be? Well, not really, the problem i found with it was that the woman in it didnt seem to try and put up much of fight as towhat was being done to her... Some of the scenes were a little disturbing but nothing that really shocked me.. And i liked the idea of the revenge's on the 4 men but it didnt seem to have any impact.. As i said, i am sure i have the uncut version but it just didnt seem very graphic in the death scenes... I found the last house on the left to be a very simular film but by far better... It somehow felt real which this didnt.. Dont let me put you off though as it worth watching, i just dont think i would watch it again!!!And one athoer thing.... Where was the 70's music ? !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Spit On Your Grave [DVD] (DVD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Spit On Your Grave [DVD]
I Spit On Your Grave [DVD] by Steven R. Monroe (DVD - 2011)
4.31
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews