Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 great action movies for a nice price.
I think the transfers of the movies are very good.
Not perfect, but easily enough to encourage buying the Blu-Ray-versions instead of the DVDs.

All 4 are great movies, but I think number 1&3 are a bit better than the other two.

I am also going to join the "Die Hard With A Vengeance is uncut"-club.
Before I watched the movie I checked out a...
Published on 21 July 2012 by Victor Källgren

versus
21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray 25th Anniversary is an Ode to disappointment !
Finally ! I've been waiting forever for a proper Blu-ray box set of these films to come along and have been toying with the idea of buying them individually for ages , but always knew a box set was on the horizon so held out.
Yes , I know I could have waited until all five movies were available to buy in one neat box set , but couldn't resist this 25th Anniversary...
Published 18 months ago by Julian


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4 great action movies for a nice price., 21 July 2012
By 
Victor Källgren "ville" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Die Hard Quadrilogy [Blu-ray] [1988] (Blu-ray)
I think the transfers of the movies are very good.
Not perfect, but easily enough to encourage buying the Blu-Ray-versions instead of the DVDs.

All 4 are great movies, but I think number 1&3 are a bit better than the other two.

I am also going to join the "Die Hard With A Vengeance is uncut"-club.
Before I watched the movie I checked out a video which shows many or probably all cuts made by the BBFC.
The first scenes shown are definitely not censored. Neither the lift scene nor the scene with a woman stabbing a police officer to death are cut.
I can't guarantee everything is uncensored, though, because there are too many scenes to remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John McClane just keeps on ticking., 1 Nov 2007
By 
Christopher Wynn (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're looking to buy this, you probably already know if you like the Die Hard movies so I'll skip the first three as for most people, the first film out of the box will be Die Hard 4.0 otherwise known as Live Free or Die Hard. It's an enjoyable romp although any sheen of reality that the first three had has been stripped away for this installment. This movies' terrorists appear to be of the superhuman variety, exhibiting rather unbelievable gymnastic abilities coupled with the capability to sustain impacts that would kill most people. It's also the least sweary of all the Die Hard movies, attaining a 15 certificate instead of the usual 18. Oh, and some parts of the film have obviously been dubbed in post production. That happens in all movies because otherwise you'd have the same inconsistent soundscape you get on a camcorder but you usually don't notice because they're saying the same lines. In this film, there are scenes where their lips are clearly saying one thing and their voices are saying something else. It's really annoying when TV networks do that but you'd think a Hollywood studio would pull it off a bit better. But don't let that put you off as it's a rip-roaring action movie.

The boxset itself seems a little haphazardly put together. None of the original three movies are brand new prints so they all have dirt and scractches on them, although they're not really old prints either and the picture quality is probably still superior to what you might see on TV. They're also all in 16:9 Full Widescreen whereas Die Hard 4.0 is in Letterbox Widescreen. It's a bit of a mystery as to why. Die Hard With A Vengeance has a really strange box, cheap and amateurish and nothing like the VHS coverart that came out years ago. This is the only Die Hard movie not produced and released by Fox so presumably that's the reason.

You might as well buy all four together unless you're a die hard 'Die Hard' fan in which case you may be better off looking for remastered special editions of the earlier movies for better picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray 25th Anniversary is an Ode to disappointment !, 1 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally ! I've been waiting forever for a proper Blu-ray box set of these films to come along and have been toying with the idea of buying them individually for ages , but always knew a box set was on the horizon so held out.
Yes , I know I could have waited until all five movies were available to buy in one neat box set , but couldn't resist this 25th Anniversary Blu-ray set thats available now... I've waited too long !

Whats left to say about the Die Hard movies that hasn't already been said ?
I won't bore the pants off you by rehashing opinions on how Alan Rickman is the greatest onscreen villain ever (YES , he should have gotten away with it !) or Robert Davi's line about Saigon being the greatest line ever shouted and that the first Die Hard is without doubt the best of the bunch , as you know this already , so will concentrate on telling you about the Blu-ray quality that you get and whether its worthy of the upgrade.

For the first 3 films picture quality is good and much better than its DVD versions , BUT... You still get the feeling its not as good as they could have gotten them and could do with a further polish.
The audio transfer is acceptable and certainly not the worst I've heard , but its far from the best.
Die Hard 4.0 being relatively new compared to the others , has a flawless picture and sound.

As for the bonus disc "Decoding Die Hard" this is a brilliant addition , with new interviews with actors/directors/writers (Rickman and McTiernan are the real highlights) and Hart Bochner (who appears not to have aged a day) is a real treat , although weird without the beard , and looking at every aspect of all the films , but at a little over an hour and a half to cover all 4 films , this could and SHOULD have been twice as long.
When you have a distinguished actor (who rarely gives interviews) like Mr Rickman sat right in front of you ready to talk about his role as Hans Gruber , you really should milk it for all its worth and I'm fairly certain you're only getting a tiny fraction of footage that was filmed in these new interviews.

The films are of course great viewing and I like them all (DH2 not so much) , but all in all , this is NOT a very good presentation for a "milestone" box set , and when it comes to the picture/sound quality and extras , all the films really are just previous releases "tagged" together and even has trailers for old cinema releases on DH3 , which for me is an absolute no no when buying a box set , especially an Anniversary Edition.
Its a shame they didn't do a proper fold out box with an extra slot for the fifth film like they did on the 50th Anniversary Bond Blu-ray box set for the arrival of Skyfall...that would have at least told me someone cared.

I'm glad I now own these great movies on Blu-ray and is definitely worthy of an upgrade from DVD , but can't help but feel this was a wasted and missed opportunity here being the 25th Anniversary and was expecting just a little more effort than this.
There seems to be a real lack of any kind of work done here and I may as well have just bought them individually years ago and its only the bonus disc that really makes this box set worth having... Still , this hasn't cost me anything more than it would buying them separately , so I've not lost out.
If I'd bought these separately , I would have given 4 stars each for the quality , but this presentation for a "All New 25th Anniversary Box Set" is a real let down and a bit of a copout with only new sleeve covers and a bonus disc to shout about , so have decided its only worth 3 stars for making me feel so disappointed.

When I look at the other "milestone" box sets that I own on Blu-ray (Alien , Blade Runner , Indiana Jones , Bond) you just feel that no effort has been made whatsoever with this , and all that was needed was a proper overhaul/remastering of the first 3 films and a decent box... Just something different that stands out from whats already been available for a few years now , and would quite happily pay a bit more for it (as I'm sure most people would) if the work had been done.

So for those of you who are going to wait for the fifth instalment (which I've not seen yet , so can't comment) in a nice shiny box set , just hope they do an updated remastering of the first 3 before you buy , as I have a feeling that it will be just "tagged on" with this already available box set.
If you're as impatient as me and want this now , this isn't the worst box set you can get and its better than some I could mention , but given the hindsight on this , I'd try and wait a little longer until this drops to around £15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series of films, 2 May 2013
This review is from: Die Hard Quadrilogy [Blu-ray] [1988] (Blu-ray)
80s and early 90s movies sometimes have a cheap grey look to the film stock which means they will never, in my opinion, look particularly good in high definition (the Lethal Weapon films for example didn't gain anything from the upgrade). The Blu-Ray picture and sound quality appears to be excellent on all four of these movies. I get the impression real effort has been made to master the early films as best as possible, instead of just quickly chucking them out.

Die Hard (1988)
It's a proper, solid drama that just happens to have a lot of action in it. A very good thriller could have resulted from it if they removed all the action. It could even have made a decent stage play. The characters all have some dimensions to them, certainly more than is usual for the genre. Particular kudos should go the wife character as she brings a lot to the semi-realistic tone of the movie. I assume as it was adapted from a novel that the extra depths and realism comes from that. The bad guys are limited in number, have been cast with distinctive looking actors and they all have names (no Henchman 1 and Henchman 2). The script is authentically dramatic and doesn't rely on the action to entertain the audience on its own. It is the Citizen Kane of its genre. For me the secret of its success is that it has a dramatic script that just happens to have lots of excellent action in it. It's curious how so many cast members, who make an impact in the biggest movie of its year, failed to make anything else of note.

10 out of 10

Die Hard 2: Die Harder (1990)
A very good action movie with more of a plot than usual for the genre. It's a very interesting set up with the airport controls taken away from the tower. Renny Harlin isn't as clean and clear a director of action as John McTiernan so it's not as obvious as to what is happening sometimes during the fighting. A lot of henchmen are no name bad guys just there to be killed. The end fight on the wing of the plane was a bit too silly (with a very oddly placed door over the wing itself). I liked it a lot.

8 out of 10

Die Hard with a Vengeance (1995)
It's a bit dafter than the previous films, but I quickly adjusted my suspension of disbelief for this more cartoony tone. It's expanded out into a whole city so it doesn't feel very Die Hard - the previous movies were fairly tight and claustrophobic with a limited scope and a Christmas wintery setting. I've always really liked the movie but I would say it's the weakest of the first three by a little bit. The ending in Canada with the helicopters was a scene too far. It's kind of tiresome by then and it's just not a well done action sequence. Visually it favours bumpy handheld camerawork. It's the most stylish looking of the series.

8 out of 10

Die Hard 4.0 (2007)
I've always been very sniffy about this movie. This time I just accepted it for what it is - an entertaining action movie. It's not very Die Hard feeling as a plot involving computers and Det John McClane are not an obvious combination. It's the lesser of the four movies but I enjoyed it. The script is average, the direction so-so and the bad guys very tepid, especially the main baddie. I hate the bridge-truck-helicopter scene at the end is it's just a big blob of weightless out of place CGI. It's possibly the funniest of them as I laughed out loud a fair number of times.

7 out of 10

-----NOT INCLUDED IN THE BOX-----

A Good Day to Die Hard - Extended Cut (2013)
It was watchable and nowhere near as bad as it's very poor reputation suggests it would be. There just isn't much plot and the twists are obviously being made up as it goes along. A writer is credited, but it's hard to imagine there was more than a few pages of dialogue as it's mostly car chases etc with very little stringing it all together. It squanders a few potentially good ideas (the Chernobyl setting) and it has weak bad guys. A very underwritten movie. The action is alright and the money is on screen. It's just not very Die Hardy in style or tone. Some of the scenes were edited in a choppy style that suggests they didn't quite get all the scenes properly shot, such as when Willis meets his son for the first time in the van. It's basically a competent straight to rental action film with a massive budget. I thought it was alright, and although mediocre it was enjoyable enough.

5 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing.., 2 Nov 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "Spoon" (UK, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Obviously all these films are classics in their own right, and immensely entertaining.

Where this box set really falls down is that is far from an ultimate edition. As previously mentioned, none of the films are special editions, and are all packaged as single disc versions only, which I find very dsappointing. I weould have thought, the opportunity would have been made to put together a more polished version with double disc editionsand packed full of extras as the films were when they were released as the trilogy set.

If you are a big fan of the films and love the extras that come with films, documentries and extra scenes, so on and so forth... then I have to say this isn't the boxset for you. I would advise you get the trilogy version and then buy the special edition of Die Hard 4.0.

If however you do like the films as they are and aren't bothered about the extras, you can't go far wrong.

For me though, a lover of these films, and of all the extras that went with the original special editions, I feel this boxset has been very hurriedly put together, somewhat rushed and all in all, not what it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this box set!, 30 Dec 2007
By 
DD (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The films are without doubt some of the greatest action films ever made. The two stars is a reflection of the poor quality of this box set. The cover drawings are like those on a pirate copy. The transfer on 1 is very poor, giving a grainy picture throughout (not much better than my original video version!)DH3 has 12 minutes cut out of it compared to other versions! Some of this is in the fight scenes and is the worst cutting I have seen since the old UK versions of Bruce Lee's films. And the extras are virtually none existent.
All in all this is a rushed product, put out in time for Xmas. It does not compare favourably with other contemporary box sets e.g. Bladerunner - 5 discs, loads of extras, pictures etc and as such should be avoided!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yippee Ki-Yay!, 29 Oct 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
If you like action films, you've got to own this boxset!

Die Hard (1988): New York cop John McClane, facing Christmas alone, flies to Los Angeles to see his estranged wife Holly (Bonnie Bedelia) and their kids in an attempt to patch things up. He arrives at his wife's high tech office building in the middle of their Christmas party just as it is gatecrashed by the ruthless master criminal Hans Gruber (Alan Rickman) and a dozen fellow activists intent on relieving the Nakatomi Corporation of six hundred million dollars in negotiable bonds...

Die Hard 2 - Die Harder (1990): On a snowy Christmas Eve in the nation's capital, a team of terrorists has seized a major International Airport, and now holds thousands of holiday travellers hostage. The terrorists, a renegade band of crack military commandos led by a murderous rogue officer (William Sadler), have come to rescue a drug lord from justice. They've prepared for every contingency, except one: John McClane, an off-duty cop seized by a feeling of deadly de-ja-vu.

Die Hard With A Vengeance (1995): This time, New York cop John McClane (Willis) is the personal target of the mysterious Simon (Jeremy Irons), a terrorist determined to blow up the entire city if he doesn't get what he wants. Accompanied by an unwilling civilian partner (Samuel L. Jackson), McClane careens wildly from one end of New York City to the other as he struggles to keep up with Simon's deadly game.

Die Hard 4.0: Live Free Or Die Hard (2007): A computer genius is systematically shutting down the computer infrastructure of the US. The mysterious figure behind the scheme seems to have figured out every digital angle, but he hasn't counted on an old fashioned 'analogue' cop, John McClane.

Four of the best action films of all time, starring Bruce Willis as fast-talking John McClane, are finally available in one collection. With only the last half of Die Hard 3 being a let-down, each one of these excellent films were the best from each year they were released and can be watched over and over again. Brilliant stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent package of the first four Die Hard films, 28 Jun 2013
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
There have been five Die Hard films at the time of writing this review and the first four that are contained in this neat package are easily the best of the bunch.
This makes this set still a valid collection.
Each film is in a slim DVD case and all four contained in a stylish box.
Each movie is great and although often shown on TV you actually get the original films without cuts and adverts.
Great picture and sound quality and a great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just die hard Fox!, 5 Feb 2013
Move along folks, nothing new to see here!

Bought this set, thinking that I could finally get rid of my old DVDs, though in reality, I think I should just return this Blu-Ray release, you may get all 4 movies in one neat little cardboard box, sadly, they are just the theatrical releases... typical Fox, only partially giving us the goods as per usual! Bonus disc is quite OK!

If you want to see the good versions of the movies, get the special edition DVDs and leave you money in your pocket in regards to the Blu-Ray discs, at least until Fox see the error of their way and give us the goods next time around. Though if you are OK with the theatrical versions, then this set is alright, just don't expect perfect picture and sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DHWAV is UNCUT, 17 April 2012
By 
Mr. J. S. Robinson "Robbo72" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Die Hard Quadrilogy [Blu-ray] [1988] (Blu-ray)
Dont listen to the 2 previous reviewers a Die Hard with a Vengeance is uncut and NOT the censored version.
This boxset is the same what has been released in America and Australia,yes number 4 is the PG13 version as the film hasn't been released uncut on bluray anywhere in the world.
If you love the Die Hard films then this boxset is a definite improvement over the DVD boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Die Hard Quadrilogy [Blu-ray] [1988]
Die Hard Quadrilogy [Blu-ray] [1988] by Len Wiseman (Blu-ray - 2012)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews