Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illustrated Greek Myths
I bought this book for my teenage daughter as a bridge between the childrens versions of the Greek Myths and the translated texts. It gives comprehensive unbowdlerised coverage of all the stories,(even Rosemary Sutcliff's superb retelling of the Illiad omits the sacrifice of Iphigenea) but for me its chief strength is in the quality and range of the illustrations used...
Published on 15 Sept. 2012 by R. SLATER

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Some variation on 'accepted' versions of Greek Mythology but fairly comprehensive. Writing cliché ridden and fairly amateurish.
Published 11 months ago by H. FISK


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice read, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Myths: Stories of the Greek Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold (Kindle Edition)
Good stories, well told. Helpful for casual reading but probably not for more advanced study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you will ever need to know about Greek mythology, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Myths: Stories of the Greek Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book, a well-written telling of the myths of Ancient Greece.
You will be surprised by how much of it you know already; familiar names crop up all the time, and other names, which you didn't even know were from the myths will appear, and much will fall into place.
Don't try and remember it all, it can get very confusing trying to work out who fathered who, and who is immortal, semi-mortal or mortal, but it moves along at great pace, and is really entertaining.
The only thing missing is an index or glossary, but I suspect there are plenty of those available elsewhere. If you are looking for a book that tells you the stories, then this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Myths: Stories of the Greek Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold (Kindle Edition)
Probably should have read this book long ago. Very good, just the last chapter is written in the first person found that a bit odd. All in all decent facts easily cross referenced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very interesting read, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Myths: Stories of the Greek Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold (Kindle Edition)
I found this book on greek myths to be interesting to read
I did get lost abit with all the different names and relations but that didn't put me off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 13 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Greek Myths: Stories of the Greek Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold (Kindle Edition)
Very good value for money. Gives all the information ever needed into greek mythology and tells the story with great detail, would definately recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written!, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My husband is thrilled with this book and the way the stories are conveyed. He is highlighting as he goes and we discuss further what he's read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Myths: Stories of the Greek Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold (Kindle Edition)
I've not yet read my way through it all but what I have read is well put together and interesting. It will keep me dipping in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars greek mythology for the beginner, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Myths: Stories of the Greek Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold (Kindle Edition)
very informative and enjoyable and written in a way to keep the interest going. i would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 4 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Myths: Stories of the Greek Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold (Kindle Edition)
A good read, a great way to learn about Greek myths and the personalities of the Gods and Goddesses of ancient times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Greek Myths: Stories of the Greek Gods and Heroes Vividly Retold (Kindle Edition)
A good long read and is very interesting to read for people of all ages so that's why I'm giving it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews