Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A state-of-the-art guide to the wonders of our universe., 12 Sep 2012
By 
Jazzrook (Purbrook , Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This beautifully illustrated 416-page book consists of 100 concise chapters on key discoveries in astronomy & cosmology.
Some of the topics covered include quantum theory, the Big Bang, the origin of life, stellar evolution, dark matter & energy and the fate of the universe. The book concludes with a useful glossary of astronomical & cosmological terms.
'The Universe in 100 Key Discoveries' is a thought-provoking and accessible state-of-the-art guide to the wonders of astronomy and cosmology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly readable, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe: In 100 Key Discoveries (Kindle Edition)
I've thoroughly enjoyed this book. Extremely well written and easy to read, even with little background in the subject. Setting the book out in 100 chapters makes the book easy to digest. There's so much information in here I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Interesting Read, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe: In 100 Key Discoveries (Kindle Edition)
An interesting read, with various theories portrayed in a succinct style. With incredible detail provided by some fascinating images of the phenomenon present in our universe. Allowing a good grasp for anyone from amateur star gazers up to keen astronomers; whilst never getting bogged down in the mathematical proofs of each theory. Overall well worth the cheap price for a book of this quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Universe, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe: In 100 Key Discoveries (Kindle Edition)
What a massive bargain this was from Amazon for such a stunning collection of images and essays about our universe. Hard to put down, and hugely informative. Come on Amazon buyers pick up a bargain while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars knowledge, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
in one word excellent, I recommend it to family - all ages. Succinct and well ordered and deals with the subject matter
in a continually interesting way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly informative., 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe: In 100 Key Discoveries (Kindle Edition)
Not surprisingly this book is divided into 100 chapters each of which covers one subject. The information contained is up to date and presented in a way which is easy to absorb. Another attraction is that the history leading up to the latest understanding helps to consolidate the overall picture. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super books for anyone that is at all interested in ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book does not describe its subjects in vast detail or twenty chapter hard to understand jargon but informs you clearly in three page write-ups the basics of each.
It also compliments '100 Key Breakthroughs in Science'.
Super books for anyone that is at all interested in what makes our universe tick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars consider the material version, 21 April 2014
By 
G. Gromble "grim" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe: In 100 Key Discoveries (Kindle Edition)
this provides excellent coverage of the topic and is full of interesting material. i was concerned it might just be100 factoids but no, it's so much richer than that. the beginning of each 'discovery' comprises a rather contrived intro in the form of 4 sentences, in block capitals, supposed to let you know what it's about and why it's there. that can be rather irritating and often appears forced. ignore that and enjoy the clarity of what follows. Giles appears to be a writer who is enthralled by his subject and wants to let you know as much as he reasonably can about this exciting, and rapidly advancing, area of science without a scrap of formality to get in the way.

the kindle edition must be the best value reading material ever (it has loads of information in it) but you might want to consider the paper version because what you don't get with the kindle are some truly amazing colour images.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An east to follow guide next time your touring the Universe, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe: In 100 Key Discoveries (Kindle Edition)
It takes on a large subject by breaking it up into digestible chunks. It starts round the earth ,moves outwards through the solar system,pausing at the interesting areas just beyond then moves out to the galaxy and so on. Brief but authoritative essays at each stage. I particularly liked the sections on the zones just beyond Pluto including where all the comets are parked up and the section on supernovae. A lot of it I had not thought about before and it sparked my interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative read, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Universe: In 100 Key Discoveries (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. I would consider my self to be a keen armchair astronomer. I like to read about all aspects of space science and exploration.

This book was certainly very informative and was very good at explaining complex ideas and theories at a level for someone like me to understand. The chapters were not overly long so the book could be dipped in and out of if one didn't have very long to sit down and read.

I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Universe: In 100 Key Discoveries
3.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews