Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Creepy Movie
At the risk of getting an online slamming (I can take it) this is a really good creepy movie. Sure, the storyline isn't something never told before, but it does it well. Plus, it's a remake so it most definitely has been told before. But then most horror movies fall back on familiar themes (like the past coming back to haunt and threaten us, or what happens when you...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by Pete

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Be Afraid of the Dark
I quite enjoyed this in a funny sort of way (spoiler upcoming) especially with the little troll type midgety beasties running about trying to steal children's teeth and living in the cellar. The story concentrates on the little girl which is okay because she's a talented actress and because of her age, you find yourself sympathising with the situations she finds herself...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Je Salter


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Creepy Movie, 13 Mar 2012
By 
At the risk of getting an online slamming (I can take it) this is a really good creepy movie. Sure, the storyline isn't something never told before, but it does it well. Plus, it's a remake so it most definitely has been told before. But then most horror movies fall back on familiar themes (like the past coming back to haunt and threaten us, or what happens when you leave the safety of the path and head into the woods) but I certainly jumped and was really caught up in this movie. I've around thirty years experience of watching horror movies and this was a good little trip into the darkness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thought this film was great, 8 Mar 2012
By 
A typical movie in the Del Toro style. Spooky and atmospheric, and even after the movie I am thinking about it (later at night when things are going bump! lol) - definitely not one for the kids (it isn't gory - just jumpy in parts). As I was watching it - parts of it reminded me of gremlins, but the spookiness, creepiness and atmospheric style of the movie was great. Dark and creepy sets, lovely music score, good acting and a good old fashioned spooky story - a great film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Be Afraid of the Dark, 28 Feb 2012
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I quite enjoyed this in a funny sort of way (spoiler upcoming) especially with the little troll type midgety beasties running about trying to steal children's teeth and living in the cellar. The story concentrates on the little girl which is okay because she's a talented actress and because of her age, you find yourself sympathising with the situations she finds herself in.

Well worth watching if you like horror films and the goblin type creatures are great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unsettling, eerie and well directed film, 18 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Del Toro is renowned for delivering visually stunning and unsettling films, you only have to look at Pan's Labyrinth and Hellboy to know that he is a seriously talented and has a boundless imagination. However Del Toro acts as producer and writer on this film and allows Troy Nixey to direct, and he does so very well. The intial set up is very well done and the opening immediately instills dread and fear. He then proceeds to deliver some brilliant set pieces and makes use of Del Toro's imagination and script to draw the viewer into the creepy, gothic manor that increases the sense of fantasy, dread and horror. The protagonist, a little girl, soon stumbles upon the houses dark secret and into the basement where the ash pit of the fire place, or whatever is inside, begins to whisper to her. Nixey doesn't show the creatures immediately, instead opting to have them in partial shadow or as silhouettes beneath the bed and in the air vents. When the creatures are revealed they are admittedly not too scary, but they are disturbing in their mannerisms and desire for children's teeth. The acting is not bad, Katie Holmes is decent as the stepmother who ends up believing, Guy Pearce is alright with his role as the disbelieving father that is rather cliched but ultimately necessary. However it is Bailee Maddison as Sally who really shines.
While this film is jumpy in places and offers some decent gruesome, shocking moments it never goes all out scary and makes you want to leave the lights on. But possibly this was a wise move, rather than giving us the cliched slasher, killer, blood all over the place horror we get an hour and a half of tension, well crafted chills and jumps that ultimately go on to make this one of the best creature horrors i have ever seen. Though it's got Del Toro's fingerprints all over it, Nixey does make it his own and never lets the fantasy be too overbearing and unbelievable and delivers enoughn chills and scares too keep you gripped the whole way through.
Extra features include a couple of decent featurettes that explains the creating of the creatures and the story and some interviews with the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Very (Very!) "Traditional" Horror Movie, 2 April 2012
By 
Elk2011 "Elk2011" (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Don't Be Afraid of the Dark follows Sally, a little girl who's sent to live with her father and his girlfriend at Blackwood Manor, a very old (and somewhat creepy) manor house which they are renovating with a view to selling on. Sally, unhappy with feeling unhappy and unloved after her mother "sent her away" soon gets herself into trouble, finding a previously hidden cellar door in the overgrown grounds of the house which belongs to the previous owner - whose son disappeared without a trace many years prior, only to shortly disappear himself.

Sally hears voices whispering to her from the fireplace, asking to be let out so they can be her friend, feeling lonely she does so - but soon realises that the last thing the voices want is to be her friend, but rather to harm her.

The story itself is pretty good in my opinion, there's nothing wrong with a "traditional" horror movie. Of course we've all seen a haunted house movie before and it's nothing new but that doesn't mean it can't be good! And in this sense, I did enjoy this for what it was - a good, old fashioned horror flick.

But! The movie has three fatal flaws for me:

1. There's a difference between traditional and stereotyped and cliché - this really does cross the line into the later. There's the weird caretaker, who's really the good guy, there's the hidden collection of books at the local library that "explain all", there's the something moving under the bed sheets scene and the bathroom scene. The problem is NONE of it is new, unexpected or even just extremely well done.

2. The "monsters" aren't scary! You spend the first half hour, desperate to see the source of the eerie voice and when you do you're left under whelmed - it's like play doe gremlins! After seeing them for the first time, I just kept thinking "Oh come on, just squash them!" I'm sure given all of the special effects possible in this day and age; something better could have been managed.

3. None of the main characters are likeable. Sally is a very aloof child and to begin with you find yourself quite irritated with her. Her father is not just indifferent, he's negligent and the girlfriend, although probably the most likeable of the bunch is unfortunately played by Katie Holmes, who is fast winning my vote for worst actress to make it on to the big screen.

I did enjoy this movie, it was "OK" overall but true horror fans will probably find this overdone and unoriginal. It's a struggle to understand why you'd choose to re-do an old horror movie like this one and not do it better than before but that's exactly what this is - more of the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE PERFECT HALLOWEEN HORROR!, 9 Oct 2011
By 
G. Stephenson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
DON'T BE AFRAID OF THE DARK is a 2011 horror film directed by Troy Nixey and starring Guy Pierce, Katie Holmes and Bailee Madison. It was SCARY! The scariest film i've seen since INSIDIOUS! It gave me goosebumps! The acting was brilliant and most of the characters were extremely likeable. The storyline was awesome. It was scary, sad, funny and ridiculously entertaining.

Sally Hirst's mother has decided that Sally should go and live with her father and his new girlfriend. At first she feels angry and annoyed, but she becomes fearful as she hears strange whispers coming from below the house. Her father doesn't believe her but soon they all realise that the creatures living in their house want Sally...

The ending was intense and surprisingly dark. The opening scene was horrific! This film is thrilling, chilling and sad, with some hilarious and breathtaking parts. One of the best horror films i've ever seen, DON'T BE AFRAID OF THE DARK is definately worth seeing at the cinema! The perfect Halloween horror film! SHOCKING! 10/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An old fashioned story of ancient creatures, expertly told, 10 April 2014
I am a big fan of this genre, fantasy/ horror, particularly stories of the ancient beings, faery folk, Guillermo del Toro was involved with this film, one of my all time favourites is his Pan's Labyrinth, this film has a similar feel, it really is a good film, the acting is very good, especially the young girl and the atmosphere created is dark and foreboding, the creatures are brilliant, not a film if you prefer fast paced, full on, overloaded with pointless special effects, this film is much better than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Scary, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A film to rival many haunted house movies,recommended to all horror film buffs who like this genre of horror film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars You won't be afraid..., 13 Mar 2014
A young girl is sent to live with her estranged father and his girlfriend at their new home.

The father, Alex has plans to spruce up the home with the help of his interior decorator girlfriend, Kim.

The previous owner of the home was a famous painter who mysteriously disappeared.

Alex's daughter, Sally, soon discovers the cause of the painter's disappearance.....

This is one of those films that has a famous Autuers name on some producing credit to give the movie that little bit more gravitas.

Del Toro stated that he wanted to make this as it was his favourite TV mini series of the seventies. And good grief is the film bad.

Like the re-make of 'The Haunting' the house is beautiful and so are the sets, but you come to see a horror movie to be scared, or be put under a little tension, not to see anorexic gremlins bully a little girl.

Pearce and Holmes have zero chemistry and the only reason this hasn't got one star is because, to my knowledge the first time that Mike and Jim Robinson from hit Aussie soap 'Neighbours' have been in the same room on the big screen.

otherwise, it's dull, don't let the Del Toro credit fool you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great twist on the tooth fairy, 12 Mar 2014
Perhaps a little slow to start but its not too long before you start to wonder whats in the cellar room.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0ddaf90)

This product

Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark (SINGLE DISC) [Blu-ray]
Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark (SINGLE DISC) [Blu-ray] by Oliver Stapleton (Blu-ray - 2012)
7.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews