Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars intreging thought provocing thriller
I found this film a really good watch from start to finsh.
i enjoy a good thriller with a good storyline,I hired it from my local library on a recomandation from one of the staff although id not heard of it.I was not disapointed
as I found it a realistic well written film .As other reviews found it disapointing I found it a moving story of a boy living in a...
Published on 18 May 2012 by Mr. A. T. Clarke [Welsh Dragon}

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For fans of the genre ONLY
The phrase `slow burner' was made for The Son of No One. It's about a cop with a secret from his childhood that's about to come back and haunt him while he battles to save his marriage.

Basically, it's a `cop-on-the-edge' thriller. Only it's not much of a thriller. Drama would be a better description, as there's not much action in it.

It's not...
Published on 20 May 2012 by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For fans of the genre ONLY, 20 May 2012
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
The phrase `slow burner' was made for The Son of No One. It's about a cop with a secret from his childhood that's about to come back and haunt him while he battles to save his marriage.

Basically, it's a `cop-on-the-edge' thriller. Only it's not much of a thriller. Drama would be a better description, as there's not much action in it.

It's not particularly dark and it's not particularly gritty. It's just slow. The plot is strung out through use of flashbacks which tell you things that you already know (only longer).

You may be tempted to watch this because Al Pacino and Ray Liotta feature heavily in the promotional material. However, be warned, they're not in it that much - barely passing characters.

Overall, it's okay, but only if you don't mind your films slow and brooding. Every actor does his or her job in the film. Nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO ONE CARES, 23 Aug. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
Channing Tatum plays Jonathan "Milk" White, a police officer who recently transferred to Queensboro, NY. It is 2002, the aftermath of 9-11 is going on, and acts as a symbol of Jonathan's life. The movie flashes back to 1986 when Jonathan lived in the Queensboro projects with his grandmother. He was harassed by a thug, who he shot and killed. The body was dumped in the garbage, the crime was never solved. A lot of people knew "Milk" did it. The people in the projects hate the cops.

Now in 2002, Jonathan lives with his wife Katie Holmes and a daughter with a medical condition. She is one of those adorable kids that make you want to run out and have a dozen or so. There is a push to clean up the district, making it safe. There is an anonymous person who places articles about TWO unsolved murders from 1986, a reminder to Jonathan. The projects is still an asylum and the cops have better things to do than to dig up a 16 year old case (the movie claims 14 years, but do the math.)

Al Pacino plays Officer Charlie who was investigating the case in 1986. Ray Liotta plays Captain Marion Mathers , Jonathan's boss. Jonathan was the son of a police officer, one that was the partner of Officer Charlie.

As the movie progresses we get more pieces of the puzzle and the harassment becomes more intense. We are drawn into it. We want to know, "Who is the snitch?" "Why are they doing this?" "Who else knows?" The snitch part is fairly easy to figure out.

This isn't Pacino's finest film. This isn't the best cop drama around. The acting was decent, the script had a certain amount of predictability. Katie Holmes was great for the short time she was on the screen. It makes for a decent rental.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bomb, no sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disowned (but not entirely awful), 23 Sept. 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Casting may be 90% of the work in getting a move right, but this time even top class actors can't rescue the confused plot with its rather obvious 'twist'.
Ray Liotta is convincingly bullish and scheming as the police chief on his way up. Al Pacino brightens the few scenes he appears in as the outgoing top dog, who in his earlier career may have helped his partner's son evade a murder rap. A whole bunch of ghosts come back to haunt everyone, and the now grown killer has turned into an honest policeman himself; a family man, and frankly a fairly dull and dumb arm of the law if ever there was one.
Sadly, Channing Tatum's performance is what lets down the movie; his scenes tend to plod and that's a problem because he is the pivotal character. There's also some random violence thrown in for no good reason (ask yourself at the end who rammed his car and why). And the 'heartwarming at home with the family' scenes gave me gas.
When the motivating force behind the events is revealed then very little of it makes sense: the bad guys, who are perfectly willing to kill, could just have topped a couple of people earlier in the day and saved themselves an awful lot of meaningless machinations.
The Son Of No One also suffers from the usual poor soundtrack mix (incidental too loud, key dialogue mumbled).

Overall, thought, this is a reasonably entertaining little thriller if you abandon common sense. Just don't be distracted by the big names and think you're going to see some quality scripting or direction; it's a B-movie which aims high, is all. Three stars is generous: two stars is a little bit harsh.
5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disowned (but not entirely awful), 22 Sept. 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
Casting may be 90% of the work in getting a move right, but this time even top class actors can't rescue the confused plot with its rather obvious 'twist'.
Ray Liotta is convincingly bullish and scheming as the police chief on his way up. Al Pacino brightens the few scenes he appears in as the outgoing top dog, who in his earlier career may have helped his partner's son evade a murder rap. A whole bunch of ghosts come back to haunt everyone, and the now grown killer has turned into an honest policeman himself; a family man, and frankly a fairly dull and dumb arm of the law if ever there was one.
Sadly, Channing Tatum's performance is what lets down the movie; his scenes tend to plod and that's a problem because he is the pivotal character. There's also some random violence thrown in for no good reason (ask yourself at the end who rammed his car and why). And the 'heartwarming at home with the family' scenes gave me gas.
When the motivating force behind the events is revealed then very little of it makes sense: the bad guys, who are perfectly willing to kill, could just have topped a couple of people earlier in the day and saved themselves an awful lot of meaningless machinations.
The Son Of No One also suffers from the usual poor soundtrack mix (incidental too loud, key dialogue mumbled).

Overall, thought, this is a reasonably entertaining little thriller if you abandon common sense. Just don't be distracted by the big names and think you're going to see some quality scripting or direction; it's a B-movie which aims high, is all. Three stars is generous: two stars is a little bit harsh.
5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Orphan in Word and Deed., 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
One cannot but think that this is a film which in itself justifies its title given the old adage that success is everyman's child, but failure is an orphan. The plot is simple enough - a young boy kills two degenerates and years later, the young boy, now a New York cop assigned to the precinct in which he grew up and committed the killings, is faced with retribution from someone. The problem is that the storyline is convoluted in the extreme, the dialogue dull, and occasionally unintelligible, and the acting mediocre. I really fail to understand how actors of the calibre of Al Pacino and Ray Liotta could lend their names to such a travesty as I'm sure they couldn't have needed the money that badly. I made my usual mistake of watching it through to the end in the hope that it would get better, but of course it didn't. My copy of the DVD is destined for the local charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Criminally disappointing, 3 May 2012
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
Set in New York in 2002, Channing Tatum (The Eagle) stars as Jonathan White, a 30 something New York rookie cop with a young family, who for reasons brushed over, happens to be assigned to the Police precinct that presided over his housing project as a youth. Where in 1986 as a 14 year old kid, something sinister happened, and now, 16 years on, someone is sending letters to nosy reporter Loren Bridges (Juliette Binoche -Dan in Real Life) and slowly revealing details of those involved.

Overall this film was a hard watch, not for any grotesque content, but for the way it was written & presented, so convoluted, that it made little sense in all honesty. The crux of the film wasn't even something that heigtend interest as it wouldn't had made any significant difference if the truth was to come out, because there would had been no physical proof to link anyone to the murders. There was no real action in this film of any real note either, it was mainly an attempt at a Noir-ish character based crime drama, which was so drawn out & not going anywhere fast. And even when the build up to the finale came, i felt no suspense, as the ending felt rushed & messy.

The steller cast did the best with what they had to work with. Tatum was alright, with a limited lead role. Pacino (Heat), Liotta (Goodfellas) & Juliette Binoche shined for the moments they had, but weren't stretched to any extent of their true acting abilities. Underused were Katie Holmes (Dawson's Creek) as White's wife & Tracy Morgan (30 Rock) in a cameo performance as the older Vinnie, who looked pretty promising as a serious actor, i normally slate him in his Comedy films, but i'd definatly like to see more serious work from him after this. The acting highlight of the film were probably from the two kids who played in the many flashbacks during the film, Jake Cherry (Night At The Museum 1 & 2) as White & Brian Gilbert (Son of no one) as his friend Vinnie.

In conclusion, I was really disappointed in how the Son Of No One turned out, with a promising cast & story premise going sadly unfulfilled, as it's badly let down by the execution. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star poor effort, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
i watched this film with my family, a while ago so its not really fresh in my mind but i do know i really did not like this film, it didnt even have any real plot and didnt make sense, it could have been a good film just dont know what went wrong, really dissapointed DO NOT buy waste of money and my time, plus some of the things that happened didnt have any relevance to anything else that was going on, the worst thing ever!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New DVD, 12 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking forward to this DVD but, found it was not at all what I expected. It was too "bitty" going backwards and forwards through the years. The story itself was good BUT you knew what was going to be the outcome before it was half way through. What was meant to be the sting in the tail was obvious from almost the beginning of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars intreging thought provocing thriller, 18 May 2012
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
I found this film a really good watch from start to finsh.
i enjoy a good thriller with a good storyline,I hired it from my local library on a recomandation from one of the staff although id not heard of it.I was not disapointed
as I found it a realistic well written film .As other reviews found it disapointing I found it a moving story of a boy living in a queens slum district in new york 1986 who killed 2 people while living in fear.deeply disturbed by these events local police chief al pacino a friend of the boys father soon works out the boy and 2 friends involment,the case is investigated no further,we move on to 2002 the boy now in the police force and still deeply disturbed by the past, now in his 30,s played by channing tatum ,who,s performance was exellent,is now living with wife and daughter in statton island,letters threatning to expose the past by an unknown person then start a trail of events that move along to a climax with a twist,yes it could happen for real,a good dark disturbing film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Birthday hit!, 12 Jun. 2013
By 
HL Murphy "dedicatedunistudent" (N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this DVD as a present for the world's biggest Channing Tatum fan. The film is fine but Tatum's performance is quite impressive. However, my friend whom I bought it for seemed not to care as long as he was in it! Not brilliant but not the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Son of No One [DVD]
Son of No One [DVD] by Dito Montiel (DVD - 2012)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews