Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Channing Tatum
Again I got this because I like channing tatum the story is really good and the other actors are very good swell glad its in my collection.
Published 6 months ago by Ursula Danielle Higham

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For fans of the genre ONLY
The phrase `slow burner' was made for The Son of No One. It's about a cop with a secret from his childhood that's about to come back and haunt him while he battles to save his marriage.

Basically, it's a `cop-on-the-edge' thriller. Only it's not much of a thriller. Drama would be a better description, as there's not much action in it.

It's not...
Published on 20 May 2012 by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For fans of the genre ONLY, 20 May 2012
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
The phrase `slow burner' was made for The Son of No One. It's about a cop with a secret from his childhood that's about to come back and haunt him while he battles to save his marriage.

Basically, it's a `cop-on-the-edge' thriller. Only it's not much of a thriller. Drama would be a better description, as there's not much action in it.

It's not particularly dark and it's not particularly gritty. It's just slow. The plot is strung out through use of flashbacks which tell you things that you already know (only longer).

You may be tempted to watch this because Al Pacino and Ray Liotta feature heavily in the promotional material. However, be warned, they're not in it that much - barely passing characters.

Overall, it's okay, but only if you don't mind your films slow and brooding. Every actor does his or her job in the film. Nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Orphan in Word and Deed., 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
One cannot but think that this is a film which in itself justifies its title given the old adage that success is everyman's child, but failure is an orphan. The plot is simple enough - a young boy kills two degenerates and years later, the young boy, now a New York cop assigned to the precinct in which he grew up and committed the killings, is faced with retribution from someone. The problem is that the storyline is convoluted in the extreme, the dialogue dull, and occasionally unintelligible, and the acting mediocre. I really fail to understand how actors of the calibre of Al Pacino and Ray Liotta could lend their names to such a travesty as I'm sure they couldn't have needed the money that badly. I made my usual mistake of watching it through to the end in the hope that it would get better, but of course it didn't. My copy of the DVD is destined for the local charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disowned (but not entirely awful), 23 Sep 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Casting may be 90% of the work in getting a move right, but this time even top class actors can't rescue the confused plot with its rather obvious 'twist'.
Ray Liotta is convincingly bullish and scheming as the police chief on his way up. Al Pacino brightens the few scenes he appears in as the outgoing top dog, who in his earlier career may have helped his partner's son evade a murder rap. A whole bunch of ghosts come back to haunt everyone, and the now grown killer has turned into an honest policeman himself; a family man, and frankly a fairly dull and dumb arm of the law if ever there was one.
Sadly, Channing Tatum's performance is what lets down the movie; his scenes tend to plod and that's a problem because he is the pivotal character. There's also some random violence thrown in for no good reason (ask yourself at the end who rammed his car and why). And the 'heartwarming at home with the family' scenes gave me gas.
When the motivating force behind the events is revealed then very little of it makes sense: the bad guys, who are perfectly willing to kill, could just have topped a couple of people earlier in the day and saved themselves an awful lot of meaningless machinations.
The Son Of No One also suffers from the usual poor soundtrack mix (incidental too loud, key dialogue mumbled).

Overall, thought, this is a reasonably entertaining little thriller if you abandon common sense. Just don't be distracted by the big names and think you're going to see some quality scripting or direction; it's a B-movie which aims high, is all. Three stars is generous: two stars is a little bit harsh.
5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disowned (but not entirely awful), 22 Sep 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
Casting may be 90% of the work in getting a move right, but this time even top class actors can't rescue the confused plot with its rather obvious 'twist'.
Ray Liotta is convincingly bullish and scheming as the police chief on his way up. Al Pacino brightens the few scenes he appears in as the outgoing top dog, who in his earlier career may have helped his partner's son evade a murder rap. A whole bunch of ghosts come back to haunt everyone, and the now grown killer has turned into an honest policeman himself; a family man, and frankly a fairly dull and dumb arm of the law if ever there was one.
Sadly, Channing Tatum's performance is what lets down the movie; his scenes tend to plod and that's a problem because he is the pivotal character. There's also some random violence thrown in for no good reason (ask yourself at the end who rammed his car and why). And the 'heartwarming at home with the family' scenes gave me gas.
When the motivating force behind the events is revealed then very little of it makes sense: the bad guys, who are perfectly willing to kill, could just have topped a couple of people earlier in the day and saved themselves an awful lot of meaningless machinations.
The Son Of No One also suffers from the usual poor soundtrack mix (incidental too loud, key dialogue mumbled).

Overall, thought, this is a reasonably entertaining little thriller if you abandon common sense. Just don't be distracted by the big names and think you're going to see some quality scripting or direction; it's a B-movie which aims high, is all. Three stars is generous: two stars is a little bit harsh.
5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars New DVD, 12 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking forward to this DVD but, found it was not at all what I expected. It was too "bitty" going backwards and forwards through the years. The story itself was good BUT you knew what was going to be the outcome before it was half way through. What was meant to be the sting in the tail was obvious from almost the beginning of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Channing Tatum, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
Again I got this because I like channing tatum the story is really good and the other actors are very good swell glad its in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good film, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
although al pacino only plays a fleeting part I enjoyed this complex film,but may not be to everbodys taste worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
great film highley recommend brilliant price,cheaper than any where else,got for my son who is very pleased with it recommened
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NO ONE CARES, 23 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
Channing Tatum plays Jonathan "Milk" White, a police officer who recently transferred to Queensboro, NY. It is 2002, the aftermath of 9-11 is going on, and acts as a symbol of Jonathan's life. The movie flashes back to 1986 when Jonathan lived in the Queensboro projects with his grandmother. He was harassed by a thug, who he shot and killed. The body was dumped in the garbage, the crime was never solved. A lot of people knew "Milk" did it. The people in the projects hate the cops.

Now in 2002, Jonathan lives with his wife Katie Holmes and a daughter with a medical condition. She is one of those adorable kids that make you want to run out and have a dozen or so. There is a push to clean up the district, making it safe. There is an anonymous person who places articles about TWO unsolved murders from 1986, a reminder to Jonathan. The projects is still an asylum and the cops have better things to do than to dig up a 16 year old case (the movie claims 14 years, but do the math.)

Al Pacino plays Officer Charlie who was investigating the case in 1986. Ray Liotta plays Captain Marion Mathers , Jonathan's boss. Jonathan was the son of a police officer, one that was the partner of Officer Charlie.

As the movie progresses we get more pieces of the puzzle and the harassment becomes more intense. We are drawn into it. We want to know, "Who is the snitch?" "Why are they doing this?" "Who else knows?" The snitch part is fairly easy to figure out.

This isn't Pacino's finest film. This isn't the best cop drama around. The acting was decent, the script had a certain amount of predictability. Katie Holmes was great for the short time she was on the screen. It makes for a decent rental.

PARENTAL GUIDE: F-bomb, no sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star poor effort, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Son of No One [DVD] (DVD)
i watched this film with my family, a while ago so its not really fresh in my mind but i do know i really did not like this film, it didnt even have any real plot and didnt make sense, it could have been a good film just dont know what went wrong, really dissapointed DO NOT buy waste of money and my time, plus some of the things that happened didnt have any relevance to anything else that was going on, the worst thing ever!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Son of No One [DVD]
Son of No One [DVD] by Dito Montiel (DVD - 2012)
4.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews