Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Robe" (starring Richard Burton) on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues For UK Buyers On This USA-ONLY Release...
As you can see – most of the reviews for “The Robe” revolve around the ‘DVD’.

It was released Stateside on BLU RAY in 2009 and fans have expected it to turn up on this side of the pond – it hasn’t.

I say this because the American 20th Century Fox version is REGION A LOCKED – so it will not play on our...
Published 12 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Redemption Enrobed in Staid Script
In a film slowly becoming dated and due for a remake, we are told the story of a man's struggle to reconcile his guilt with his doubt, and his doubt with the persuasive faith of those he meets. Can a broken man be redeemed?
When watching newer movies, like Mel Gibson's "The Passion," it is easy to forget that it is movies like "The Robe" set the stage, and motivates...
Published on 17 Mar. 2004 by A.Trendl HungarianBookstore.com


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Robe" (starring Richard Burton) on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues For UK Buyers On This USA-ONLY Release..., 15 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
As you can see – most of the reviews for “The Robe” revolve around the ‘DVD’.

It was released Stateside on BLU RAY in 2009 and fans have expected it to turn up on this side of the pond – it hasn’t.

I say this because the American 20th Century Fox version is REGION A LOCKED – so it will not play on our UK machines unless they’re chipped to be ‘all regions’ (which few are).

So until someone sees fit to release it on a REGION B disc - this is another classic denied us by Region Coding…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Robe, 19 Jun. 2006
This review is from: The Robe [DVD] (DVD)
I rate this film 5 star for its content, drama and the original shooting and production. However, beware some copies of this DVD since at least one version of the transcription from film to DVD has severe faults on the sound track, with pronounced WOW and FLUTTER in some sections which goes on for some while. This entirely spoils the drama and the film for me. I am still trying to find a copy without this defect, so far unsuccessfully.

When so much was spent on this production as the very first in the new format at that time of Cinemascope, with multi-channel stereo sound, it is totally amazing that Fox could allow this gross error in the transcription of this film to DVD. Viewing this DVD in the two copies which I have purchased so far and sent back as faulty, is like going to a run-down cinema where the projectionist is an amateur bungler, and is using a worn and tired copy of a film on the circuit with a worn-out projector which is on the point of expiry and collapse! It spoils the whole experience. The film copy used for the only transcript which I have found so far also is clearly a well-used worn one, with damage to the film emulsion and resulting scratches and flashes on screen.

This film was so good, with such good acting and drama that it really deserves more respect from the people at Fox who got this transcription completely wrong. They just don't seem to be able to make films on this sort of scale or quality any more.

Try to get a good copy of a proper transcript to DVD if one exists. Then watch this with your family. It is a real family film and one which clutches at your heart strings, unless you are the sort of person with no heart at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "as for me, I have found another king", 27 April 2004
This review is from: The Robe [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A marvelous epic melodrama, with portions that are emotionally stirring,and with two exceedingly attractive stars, this film ranks high in the"sword and sandals" genre.
This is prime-time Richard Burton, at age27, heavenly to look at and even better to listen to; his crispenunciation makes the English language shine, and though some of hisscenes are a little "over the top", he carries them off with charismaticpresence. Jean Simmons is exquisite as Diana, the woman who has lovedMarcellus (Burton) since childhood, and their screen romance has a raredepth and spark.
Other notable performances come from Victor Mature asDemetrius the slave, with a mute but moving scene at Christ's crucifixion,and Michael Rennie is grand as Peter. Jay Robinson is wonderfully rottenas the vicious Caligula.
I always like a good fight sequence, and there is a brilliantlychoreographed one between Marcellus and a centurion. It is the kind ofswordplay great Shakespearean actors have perfected, and it is a delightto watch.
Directed by Henry Koster, it has an exceptional score byAlfred Newman, and vibrant Technicolor cinematography by Leon Shamroy. Ilike the way the night scenes have a deep blue glow to them, and thecostumes are wonderful. Oscars went to Best Art Direction/Set Design(color) and Best Costume design (color). It was also nominated for BestPicture, Best Actor, and Best Cinematography (color), and was the firstfilm to be released in CinemaScope.
I saw this film many years ago, and had thought it a little silly, but wehave both aged well; I can now watch it repeatedly, and appreciate thedepictions of courage, and the beauty and humanity of it. Total runningtime is 2 hours and 13 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very acceptable interpretation, 18 July 2009
By 
Linda Spray "Bookworm" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Robe [DVD] (DVD)
I read the book 'The Robe' by Lloyd C. Douglas a few years ago and considered it one of the best novels I have ever read. I was delighted to obtain the dvd recently, starring Richard Burton, Victor Mature and Jean Simmons, but expected it to fall short of the drama and sensitivity contained in the novel. However, I was relieved to find it remained true to the storyline and delivered some powerful scenes and fairly authentic dialogue, costume and scene atmosphere.

It is a wonderful story of a Roman tribune who witnesses the crucifixion of Jesus, his involvement in the soldiers' game to win the robe and the subsequent events which lead him to become a Christian and therefore an enemy of the Roman Empire.

I felt the acting was probably a bit theatrical, but had to bear in mind that it was produced by Hollywood film makers who traditionally always colour their productions and offer irritating background 'movie music' throughout. But if you try and ignore all that and look at the film as a piece of storytelling, I feel it passes as one of the greatest films (based on a book) that I have ever seen. Mature was perfect as the Greek Slave Demetrius and I looked forward to seeing the sequel (not by the same author) called Demetrius and the Gladiators.

I can certainly recommend 'The Robe' which won two Academy Awards in 1953, but is still relevant today as a piece of fiction based on the greatest story ever told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Robe, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Robe [DVD] (DVD)
Although I Am not religious in the orthodox sense, I caught a part of this film on tv and was very moved by the story so decided to buy it. The wonderful Richard Burton plays a Roman officer, Marcellus Gallio who is present at the crucifixion of Christ. Although he is a Roman officer, he doesn't take any joy or pride in watching the man Jesus suffering and dying. A group of Roman soldiers sit at Christ's feet playing a game of dice and use a red robe that Jesus had worn as a wager. The robe gets some of Christ's blood on it and at the end of the game, after Jesus has died, everyone leaves. Burton's character takes the Robe away from the soldiers out of sadness and disgust that they used it in this way and then the Robe has a profound affect on him, taking him into the realms of Christianity in it's underground and fledgling emergence. Thus begins his struggle between his love of Rome and the awakening of his own, inner spirituality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wholesome viewing for the whole family, 4 April 2000
This review is from: The Robe [VHS] (VHS Tape)
It's not often that a family can sit down to home entertainment without fear or embarrassment;this is a must-see movie for all ages.Thoroughly enjoyable story of what might have happened to The Robe,yet focus is drawn to the central character who is not even shown(The Messiah) Great costumes and a terrific performance by Richard Burton.See it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Redemption Enrobed in Staid Script, 17 Mar. 2004
This review is from: The Robe [DVD] (DVD)
In a film slowly becoming dated and due for a remake, we are told the story of a man's struggle to reconcile his guilt with his doubt, and his doubt with the persuasive faith of those he meets. Can a broken man be redeemed?
When watching newer movies, like Mel Gibson's "The Passion," it is easy to forget that it is movies like "The Robe" set the stage, and motivates modern moviemaker to bring in realism.
With Jesus Christ's death and resurrection in the backdrop, with a Roman Catholic-esque tone, Marcellus grapples with the reality of spiritual power. He believes it is in the robe Christ wore, but he quickly learns the robe is nothing. He feels angst and anguish when he touches it.
He meets Judas Iscariot, Simon Peter, Miriam and unnamed disciples. Like "The Mission," this movie is filled with complex characters, less wooden than first glance might lead a viewer to believe.
As guilty as any man could be of Christ's crucifixion, Marcellus knows the passion of his emptiness. He sets to find out what it is that is freeing Christians from circumstances beyond reason, like the joy one woman has despite her paralysis. Why do the Christians continue on, even though they face persecution?
The messages in the movie are more than Judeo-Christian. Hollywood blacklists come to mind as people are commanded under duress to give up names of followers. Living life with and for a purpose, and knowing what we really believe is encouraged. We are shown humility, desire for freedom and messages against bigotry and greed.
As a concept, the story has potential. The plot is strong, but falters in script form. Even the great Richard Burton is denied the opportunity to win an Oscar with dramatic sequences that only whisper could've been more boldly written. The sets may be award winning in their day, but now, we can see the painted stage walls that are meant to seem like a city.
I recommend "The Robe," with hopes that it will inspire a great filmmaker to pick up the script, rewrite it and show us what could be.
Anthony Trendl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Were you out there?, 1 Jun. 2010
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is the first picture ever made in Cinemascope where the screen is twice as wide as it is tall. After being given the Blu-Ray treatment, and remastering there are some spectacular scenes in this film yet we also concede that many scenes were made on the film stage that should have been in the natural world. The background music does not seem to suffer from this problem. Be sure to notice Diana's theme.

The story starts out in the 18th year of our Emperor Tiberius (Ernest Thesiger.) Marcellus Gallio (Richard Burton) after snubbing Caligula is sent to an outpost from whom few have returned. There he is given the minor task of dispatching the King of the Jews in a cross manner. After the deed is done, Marcellus wins Jesus' robe and a dice game. Due to stormy weather, he places the robe upon his head. He has an instant negative reaction. Is this some strange form of sorcery? Or just plain guilt? Only time and the unfolding of the story shall tell. We shall take the journey together.

The movie based on a story by Lloyd C. Douglas, though not quite historically correct, is of choices and circumstances. The problems or their time is still the problems of our time so it is easy to relate.

"And by the gods you shall go. Both of you. Into your kingdom.", "They are going to meet their king" Caligula (Jay Robinson)

The Blu-ray DVD has a commentary by film composer David Newman (son of Alfred Newman) and film historians Jon Burlingame, July Kirgo and Nick Redman that is worth listening to. Blu-ray has been out for quite some time so there normally is nothing exceptional about remastering old films. In this case however the original Cinemascope and exceptional sound. Still you can see that they did not have a handle on Cinemascope for another year or so.

The Robe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding restoration work, 27 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The picture and sound quality resulting from the restoration work done by Fox for this blu-ray release is exemplary. It honestly makes the DVD edition look like a blurry mess in comparison. Truly outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars or ANY of his great works during his life, 30 Dec. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Robe [DVD] (DVD)
A true classic !...WHY Richard Burton NEVER got an Oscar for this....or ANY of his great works during his life ...leaves me with VERY LITTLE respect for the "Oscars"!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Robe [DVD] [1953]
The Robe [DVD] [1953] by Henry Koster (DVD - 2012)
£4.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews