Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great.
After buying the excelent The Solar Centre Curve Solar Motion Light i thought i would give this light a go has it was cheaper, basically the same light, very happy.
Published on 6 Nov. 2012 by natalie woodward

versus
181 of 187 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by a weird feature
This is a neat little light (it is quite small so check the measurements before buying) but for the money was pretty nice... unfortunately, it has one feature which wasn't explained in the description and lets it down IMO...

When it goes dark, the light comes on automatically, on a dim setting... then when someone walks past, it comes on full bright. I didn't...
Published 21 months ago by Adam C. Dale


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

181 of 187 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down by a weird feature, 27 Sept. 2013
By 
Adam C. Dale "Devotee" (Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterproof Wireless Solar Motion Detection Sensor Light 16 LED Wall Illuminate Garden Yard Lamp (Garden & Outdoors)
This is a neat little light (it is quite small so check the measurements before buying) but for the money was pretty nice... unfortunately, it has one feature which wasn't explained in the description and lets it down IMO...

When it goes dark, the light comes on automatically, on a dim setting... then when someone walks past, it comes on full bright. I didn't know about the dim feature and it's a) not what I wanted - I want it OFF when not in use and b) unless it's had a good 12 hours of direct sunlight, the dim setting drains it so by about 2am it's completely stopped working!

So on an average days charge (especially in winter) if you came home really late it wouldn't come on - which makes it useless. Shame as it seemed really good till I worked this out.

I don't know if this option can be turned off so it's just an on/off but as there's no switches on the thing I don't think so - the instructions were rubbish too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great., 6 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterproof Wireless Solar Motion Detection Sensor Light 16 LED Wall Illuminate Garden Yard Lamp (Garden & Outdoors)
After buying the excelent The Solar Centre Curve Solar Motion Light i thought i would give this light a go has it was cheaper, basically the same light, very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not "Waterproof", 15 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Waterproof Wireless Solar Motion Detection Sensor Light 16 LED Wall Illuminate Garden Yard Lamp (Garden & Outdoors)
I question whether this is actually "waterproof" or not. The construction suggests otherwise, with small gaps in some areas where the lower plastic light section makes contact with the upper aluminium solar section. There seems to be no attempt of waterproofing these areas, allowing water to roll off the top section and seep into the main body of the unit when it rains.

This observation is further supported by the warning section in the manual. Page 5, point 1: "Keep the device away from fire, water and moist places in order to avoid explosion, leakage, moisture.

Due to such a discrepancy in the title of this product and what is likely to be a key feature for some buyers, this is a 2 star review for what is otherwise a 5 star product.

DIY waterproofing will easily rectify this issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Can You Possibly Be Negative About This Little Light??, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterproof Wireless Solar Motion Detection Sensor Light 16 LED Wall Illuminate Garden Yard Lamp (Garden & Outdoors)
For under £9, this light is a little gem. I really can't understand how anyone could find anything negative to say about it (and I'm particularly critical), It gives off a soft glow when not fully illuminated. When triggered, the light is absolutely satisfactory and serves its purpose. Just purchased another...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful LED light though some room for enhancement, 15 April 2015
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Note: The maker supplied a review sample for evaluation, the opinion of the product is my own personal view

There are a few models listed here this review refers to the larger white model which mounts via two screw poles to a wall this model doesn't support motion detection (at least the sample I have)

To attach this you can use one or both of the poles included in the box they are about 20cm length (bolts and plugs are provided) each this gives you a bit of choice if one pole is long enough you can just use that or extend it out with the second they feel reasonably strong (aluminium) the unit is fairly light a white plastic casing and has resistance to moisture/rain and dust. On the underside are 12 LED lights output is quite good more than enough to see at a door or where you are walking. The unit I tried has a single on/off there are no other modes this charges in the day via the solar panel when the light level is dark enough it switches on. Now the light output will drop at night depending on how much light it has had in the daytime, though a cloudy day did seem to provide adequate charging for at least some of the night, a very sunny day will do better here.

I'd rather have a unit that was off until it detects movement (thus saving lots of power) this just comes on when it's dark which is fine if you need that. Build is quite good really for the price it doesn't feel flimsy and the output gives a decent light spread. Not too many complaints if this is what you are after, whilst the mounting is further away from the wall it does have the advantage of gathering more light during the day depending on where you put it, I wouldn't mind an option to mount it directly to a wall though (you might not need the extension)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For my New Shed, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterproof Wireless Solar Motion Detection Sensor Light 16 LED Wall Illuminate Garden Yard Lamp (Garden & Outdoors)
Just the job ordered this for my new shed, on all night and brightens when anyone gets near does exactly what it says. very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright light, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterproof Wireless Solar Motion Detection Sensor Light 16 LED Wall Illuminate Garden Yard Lamp (Garden & Outdoors)
These lights are great to have scattered around the garden they are really bright, some sola powered garden lights promise more than they should and just give off a glow but these really do light up nicely, I bought 2 but unfortunately one had a fault so I wanted to retun it for replacement but the supplier just advised me to dispose of the faulty one and they sent me a replacement no quibbling, they were very helpful I can not speak highly enough of their excellent after sales care and helpfulness and I would buy from them again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dissatified with this product, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterproof Wireless Solar Motion Detection Sensor Light 16 LED Wall Illuminate Garden Yard Lamp (Garden & Outdoors)
This product is awfull does not throw out any light at all. very very disappionting I still have to use my torch to see my way.
I would not recomend this to anybody comlete waste of money. and being a pensioner I can not afford .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK at first, then stopped working, then started again, 10 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterproof Wireless Solar Motion Detection Sensor Light 16 LED Wall Illuminate Garden Yard Lamp (Garden & Outdoors)
A real shame because when it was first installed it worked very well and gave off plenty of light around the shed. However, after a few weeks it just stopped working completely.

Then it started again!! Now worked out that it needs very bright light to charge it. Doesn't work through the winter, which is a shame as that's when it's needed most! For a light that only comes on when you pass it (not often in my case) it's disappointing how much light it needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, but does not switch OFF (at night), 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Waterproof Wireless Solar Motion Detection Sensor Light 16 LED Wall Illuminate Garden Yard Lamp (Garden & Outdoors)
SAME product as so many other listed, but this was the cheapest by price; (even cheaper than 'amazon' despite being 'fulfilled by Amazon' ?)
Pro: works well (Remember to switch ON by the pin supplied when first installing)
Needs good sunshine (south facing) to charge
Works well at night; given enough sunshine

Lose a star :
Because it does NOT switch 'off' at night; it is always 'dim' the theory being it can be a 'locator'; it then switches to 100% when it detects movement; this seems silly and just wastes power (especially during low sun charging) glowing 'dim' all the time'.
Would be brilliant if only switched ON when it actually detects movement.
Easy to install; complete with screws and raw plugs provided: insert the pin to switch on, leave and forget.
First impressions are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 260 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews