Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna's sexy anthem album done good!
This album has always been a subject in madonna's career, a myth that it was a flop - when it was released in 1992 it sold over six million copies worldwide and was a great success, it is a great album and should be a signpost in madonna's career as being one of her greatest - as always madonna will never do the same thing twice and will never do a bad album - as it...
Published on 24 Aug 2005 by Craig J. Richardson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good album to practice pole dancing to...
At least that's what I always thought. I stick on this album and I dance around my living room like a would be dominatrix (ahem). Anyway, generally if you are a Madonna fan then this is a good album with some really good songs on (main title track especially being my whip-cracking song of choice). There are a few dodgy numbers on there (Fever and Did you do it) but...
Published on 9 July 2007 by WelshJoanne 007


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna's sexy anthem album done good!, 24 Aug 2005
By 
Craig J. Richardson (birchington kent u.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Erotica (Audio CD)
This album has always been a subject in madonna's career, a myth that it was a flop - when it was released in 1992 it sold over six million copies worldwide and was a great success, it is a great album and should be a signpost in madonna's career as being one of her greatest - as always madonna will never do the same thing twice and will never do a bad album - as it proves she is still going and still is and will always be the biggest and most succesful female artist ever in history.
buy the album it is a highlight in madonna's massive career.
rating 10 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNDERESTIMATED, 8 Mar 2006
This review is from: Erotica (Audio CD)
At the time of release, this album was critically slammed as "the album to the book" and was never acknowledged for its artistic content. The only weak track is the infantile DID YOU DO IT?
Although they are good, most of the songs are overlong. Nevertheless, a brill album. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Material Girl to Bad Girl, 18 July 2005
This review is from: Erotica (Audio CD)
Out of all Madonna's albums, this is one of my personal favourites. Lots of criticism during it's release, the new sex obsessed Madonna was an ideal target for the press to poke some objections at. Did she care? Did anyone else? As if. The opening track, 'Erotica' has a feel of 'Justify My Love', but in my opinion is better. 'Fever' is a good remake of the classic, however the video version is better than the album version. The highlights are definitely 'Bad Girl' (complete with the best video of Madonna's career and 'Deeper and Deeper', (a great dancefloor number).
There were what seemed like shed loads of singles released from the album, and all the releases were the best songs from the album. As well as the singles mentioned, 'Bye Bye Baby' (released in Germany & Australia) is a fantastically sarcastic song about wasting no time on ditching someone; 'Rain', one of Madonna's strongest vocal performances and a beautul ballad at that. The explicit version of the album has the rare track, 'Did You Do It?', a funked up version of 'Where Life Begins'.
All in all, a very sexy album, with attitude, emotion and fun.
Fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex Isn't The Enemy! It's The Media's Scandouls Lies!!!!!!!!, 18 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Erotica (Audio CD)
Madonna the queen of pop well to be frank the queen on music. She returned in 1992 after a smash hit and a major film role. She had already been a bit naughty when her single "Justify My Love" was banned from MTV but became the worlds 1st Video single. Madonna locked herself away with writter & Producer Shep Pettibone. And recorded 14 tracks (not most albums conatin 14 due to a clean version and a *explic version where reasled. =* Conatined "Did you do it?) She recorded about her life and recoverd the classic Peggy Lee, Elvis song "Fever". She wrote songs about her friend dying, what does she have to do for respect, and her world...The album is filled with loads of pop tracks there are 13 tracks and only 2 i admitt r rubbish! the other 11 are really good the singles to look out 4 are Erotica, Fever, Rain & Bad Girl and the album tracks are Words, Waiting, Thief Of Hearts and in this life...this album is excellent just like the rest of her albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Madonna, 9 Sep 2001
This review is from: Erotica (Audio CD)
If there was ever an album which was very much of its time AND was before its time this has to be it. The hidden jewel in Madonnas crown, this is an outstanding collection of dance and ballad tracks that relect the sounds, glamma and party atmosphere of the early nineties, but also predicted the future sounds of Madonna....... Tracks like Deeper and Deeper, Where life Begins, Bad Girl and Erotica are some of Madonnas finest and deserve(as does this album) more recognition than they got at the time. This to me was the last of the 'golden era' albums(Like A Virgin onwards) and personally I dont think anything released since has been as good. I predict that in time, this album will come to be recognised by fans as one of the greatest, if not the greatest Madonna album ever. Its day has yet to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 30 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Erotica (Audio CD)
Madonna's Erotica album is one of the most incredible albums of her career.
Many people just don't 'get it'. It's raw, unpolished sound is what makes it such a departure for this incredibly talented artist.
If you don't have this album in your collection, you're missing out on a piece of music history. While everyone else was churning out the same old, same old... Madonna did what she always does and brought out something different. Once again, Madonna delivers something an a way that no-one else could. Or would dare to. Brilliance, sheer brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aural Pleasure, 23 Feb 2008
By 
A. Bristow (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Erotica (Audio CD)
Overshadowed by the über-hype and 'scandal' of her SEX book, this gem deserves more attention, as it has arguably the best production of any Madonna album. Listen to it LOUD or on headphones! Your ears will thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow romantic album better than critics think, 4 May 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Erotica (Audio CD)
Of all Madonna’s albums, this one is often regarded as her weakest. Actually, I’m still waiting to hear a weak album from Madonna and I hope I never do. Her appeal is partly that you never know what to expect next, and this is much mellower than her other albums. Perhaps that’s why it is often overlooked.
All the songs are original, co-written by Madonna, except one. The album includes five international hits (about normal for Madonna) – they are Erotica, Fever, Deeper and deeper, Bad girl and rain. Fever is a cover of a song made famous by Peggy Lee, although Peggy’s version was itself a cover. Madonna modernised Peggy’s arrangement for the time in which she recorded it (1992) and makes a fine job of it. Actually, Madonna is in many ways a modern-day Peggy Lee. Both of them had careers spanning many years and continually adapted their music to changing fashions, without ever forgetting what they were best at.
The album sets its own mood and is ideal for late-night listening. There is much more to the songs than you might expect. In this life is about somebody dying of AIDS. Why’s it so hard is a plea for respect – it could be about sexual equality, but the lyrics are open to interpretation, so it could just as easily be about racial equality or any other kind of equality.
This may not be the place to begin a collection of Madonna’s music, but neither should it be left to last. It is one of many excellent albums recorded by Madonna. Enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madonna at her best!, 25 Jan 2005
This review is from: Erotica (Audio CD)
'Erotica' is surely the most underrated album ever!How could anyone who is a fan of music not like this record it is astonishing how she and Shep Pettibone produced and performed on this album.The title track is a classic Madonna hit now but back in 1992 it was said to be too risque what with the release of her sex book in the same year everyone basically thought Madonna was mad about sex,if you listen to both the lyrics and the music on the 'Erotica' record then you will see straight away that Madonna is not mad on sex it was just she was singing what all the people in the world were thinking,she was extremely brave to bring this out in the early nineties as it had never been done before.My favourite song on the album is 'Why's it so hard' this is a song about people not caring for other people and it made me think twice about what I was doing personally in my life was I caring enough for others?Madonna certainly changed my perspective on life.'Erotica' also has Madonna singing about all the different things that have happened in her life such as 'In this life' was co-written by Madonna after one of her dearest friends had passed away,also 'Words' is another personal favourite for me as it brings to attention the situation that people often don't say what they mean in life.Madonna is undoubtedly a female icon and will be in 20 years from now.You go girl we love you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great but sadly underplayed CD, 6 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Erotica (Audio CD)
Ah, Erotica. The days of the SEX book and Madonna being seen, swearing on TV shows and censored pictures of her in magazines with a digit inserted in to an actor/actress/model. Sadly this is the main reason that this album neither gets the airplay or the recognition that it rightfully deserves. An excellent album, should rightfully be up there with Ray of Light, but alas the media attention in to Madonna's sex life was far more focussed than any that was focussed on the album and this was the main reason that it was given bad reviews and discredited entirely. The album is a great mixture of Pop, Dance and hints of blues and jazz. A brillian fusion of sounds, from Madonna and her assistants in crime, Andre Betts and Shep Pettibone. The album high points for me are: Words, Secret Garden and the title track (Erotica). There is also the brilliant cover of Fever. A very funky album which deserves a place in just about any CD collection, apart, of course, from those who don't understand the eclectic qualities of Madonna and this album. Probably better than "Music"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Erotica [VINYL]
Erotica [VINYL] by Madonna (Vinyl - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews