Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Roots of Everything!
Wow, wow, WOW! This is probably the most wonderful compilation I have ever had the pleasure to lay my ears on! For an insanely low price you too can be treated to classic, after classic. If you ever wanted to know and hear the songs that influenced just about every rock or pop group that rose to fame or dived to obscurity in the Sixties, and I include The Beatles, The...
Published 20 months ago by John W. Edelman

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caution: my copy has dropouts
First off, CD 1 of this set has more dropouts than any CD in my collection (manufacturing issue?). I would be more concerned if this was an essential collection, but I bought it more for curiosity than any other reason. There are some obscure tracks that might be hard to find elsewhere, and a bunch of familiar favourites, but I found the collection surprisingly...
Published 9 months ago by Chris Michie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Roots of Everything!, 25 Feb 2013
By 
John W. Edelman - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story (Audio CD)
Wow, wow, WOW! This is probably the most wonderful compilation I have ever had the pleasure to lay my ears on! For an insanely low price you too can be treated to classic, after classic. If you ever wanted to know and hear the songs that influenced just about every rock or pop group that rose to fame or dived to obscurity in the Sixties, and I include The Beatles, The Rolling Stones and Led Zeppelin in that group, just listen to this fabulous collection.
The great thing is that the compilers haven't just gone for obvious hits- and let's face it for the price they could have and few would have complained. In fact there are a lot of gems that I've never heard sitting alongside MASSIVE classics like Johnny B Goode and Who Do You Love. And all re-mastered.

For less than a fiver? You're mad if you miss this.
Just to sum up... I rather like this CD set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not a duff track on the whole blinking thing, 9 Oct 2013
By 
R. Newbold (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story (Audio CD)
This is an amazing compilation - so many seminal tracks from the classic eras of R&B and Rock and Roll. CD recordings are excellent, clear as a bell whilst retaining the original atmospheric sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hooch is Coochie Man. The Chess Story., 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story (Audio CD)
Unbelievable CD's ! Fantastic tracks from some
Of the Worlds Best Blues players and Singers.
Think some of the tracks are classics and maybe
not available on other CD's ? Great Buy !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential blues!, 9 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story (Audio CD)
A must have collection from the greatest blues label of all.
No filler - just top quality throughout - just sit back, listen and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic compilation, 24 April 2013
By 
Mr. Richard G. Foulkes (North Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story (Audio CD)
As an introduction to so many very talented artists linked with the Chess record label, this is a very good place to start. Most listeners will be aware of some of the bigger names on this 2 disc compilation (Bo Diddley, Howlin Wolf, Muddy Waters, Etta James etc) but there are so many other artists here who had completely slipped through my net!! Covering a period of ten years or so from early 50's to 1960, it provides a very good insight into the development of Blues, Rock and Roll and to a smaller extent Soul music during this time, all intertwined very nicely. Even if you are fully aware of this period and genre of music, who did what and who influenced others, this compilation is well worth having in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of Music, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story (Audio CD)
The CD covers some great old blues music and early R&B I really enjoyed it and suggest you buy it for a little piece of history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yippee, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story (Audio CD)
CD contains music ! Oh yeah
good variety of artists and clear recordings, some old favourites and some new - all interesting and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blues Fans, 28 July 2014
By 
Mr. Peter P (Southend on Sea, Essex UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story (Audio CD)
Got this as an offer with my Georgie Fame album. I'm clearly a blues fan at heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hoochie Coochie Man - The Chess Story, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story (Audio CD)
Good to hear artists who have long been forgotten. Another wonderful trip down memory lane. An excellent collection of songs from the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Caution: my copy has dropouts, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Chris Michie (San Francisco, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story (Audio CD)
First off, CD 1 of this set has more dropouts than any CD in my collection (manufacturing issue?). I would be more concerned if this was an essential collection, but I bought it more for curiosity than any other reason. There are some obscure tracks that might be hard to find elsewhere, and a bunch of familiar favourites, but I found the collection surprisingly uninteresting. Any serious blues student or Chess fan should already have "Best Ofs" by Muddy Waters, Howlin' Wolf, Little Walter, John Lee Hooker, Chuck Berry, Bo Diddley, etc., so this collection can only be recommended to diehard completists or extremely casual and relatively undiscriminating neophytes.

On the other hand, I don't think I've ever previously heard Etta James' version of "I Just Want To Make Love To You," and that is a definite plus. There are also some fine recordings of unremarkable songs (e.g. "Flatfoot Sam" by T.V. Slim) that show just how much could be achieved with limited resources and crude equipment. Probably a testament to the multi-talented Willie Dixon, who is mentioned in the sleeve notes but not represented as an artist on disc. Dropouts apart, these recordings sound clear and fresh and are highly listenable, if somewhat unengaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story
Hoochie Coochie Man- The Chess Story by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews