Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well received collection of early Joe Meek productions...
Now then guys and gals this is a great 2 CD set that covers the time span of 1959 to 1962. The running times add up to a total of approx 121 minutes and I've had the set on several times since having it. These are the authentic and often developmental sounds that were responsible for the real sound of the 1960s. Michael Heatley does the liner notes and as with these Not...
Published on 3 May 2012 by C. FULLER

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars At least try and get the tracks right (and the artist's shown on the front cover too) before we put these out.
First the errors. The front cover and front inner sleeve proudly claim "Cliff Bennett & The Sparkletones", err.. Who?
Now even a square can tell the difference between Cliff Bennett & The Rebel Rousers (as on this double CD) and Joe Bennett & the Sparkletones (of "Black Slacks" fame, and obviously not on here).
Track 25 on the Amazon preview is...
Published 3 months ago by Leslie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well received collection of early Joe Meek productions..., 3 May 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Joe Meek Story (Audio CD)
Now then guys and gals this is a great 2 CD set that covers the time span of 1959 to 1962. The running times add up to a total of approx 121 minutes and I've had the set on several times since having it. These are the authentic and often developmental sounds that were responsible for the real sound of the 1960s. Michael Heatley does the liner notes and as with these Not Now Music releases they look good and sound good too. The photographs and particularly the one of studio equipment look right out of a 1950s sci-fi film. The 50 tracks here include some recognisable names but some I have to admit I'd forgotten but the sounds are as fresh so this should be a nostalgia trip for those who recognised the genius of Joe Meek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Meek compilation around, 26 Mar 2012
By 
CM Brett "shedlover" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joe Meek Story (Audio CD)
A great compilation with some seriously rare recordings thrown in.
The title is a bit misleading as it covers only the middle era of Joe's work. The biggest surprise is that Meek's biggest seller, Telstar, wasn't included!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blast From The Past, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Growing up in the 50s 60s the amount of bands about was astronomical and a lot of them faded away without a mention. But this playlist woke up my memory. I have 45s from a lot of these bands which i now do not have to go through the lengthy process of converting. My favorite track on this compilation is night of the vampire by the moontrekkers The Outlaws were a great band as well. Well done Amazon more compilations like this from out of print artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More lost sounds from JOE , Fad !, 25 Mar 2012
By 
Howard Griffiths (Radio station gtfm 107.9 or www.gtfm.co.uk tune in and enjoy) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joe Meek Story (Audio CD)
I'm please to add anything by "JOE" into my collection ,gaining a few missing tracks is a bonus. If your venturing into the JOE MEEK sound for the first time this is the best place to start , an ideal intro album to the "304 Holloway road studio sound " .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars At least try and get the tracks right (and the artist's shown on the front cover too) before we put these out., 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joe Meek Story (Audio CD)
First the errors. The front cover and front inner sleeve proudly claim "Cliff Bennett & The Sparkletones", err.. Who?
Now even a square can tell the difference between Cliff Bennett & The Rebel Rousers (as on this double CD) and Joe Bennett & the Sparkletones (of "Black Slacks" fame, and obviously not on here).
Track 25 on the Amazon preview is listed as "Last Stage West" by the Outlaws, and indeed that is what will be displayed when you play/rip the disc, but it isn't, it is "Ku-Pow!" by the Outlaws (the flip to "Last Stage West"), and indeed it is listed as "Ku-Pow!" on the listings both on the rear inlay card and the box too. This makes up for the "Ku-Pow" CD that doesn't have the title track but "Last Stage West" instead!!!
Sound Quality is not great, some clearly vinyl ripped, and varies from poor to adequate.
This is no way a "The Joe Meek Story". Joe Meek began in the mid 1950s (Bad Penny Blues etc...), and also did Trad stuff for a certain Mr Acker Bilk in the late 50s/early 60s too.
What you have here is the 1960-1962 era stuff again. You can get much of this in better quality elsewhere.
As it was less than a fiver I purchased it for two tracks (the aforementioned Ku-Pow! and "My Baby Doll" by Mike Berry & the Outlaws).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just another Meek comp, 10 Jun 2012
This review is from: The Joe Meek Story (Audio CD)
Issued last year by a new CD label called NOT NOW its at least keeping the Meek name in the media and at a reasonable price.Some of the earlier comps are now deleted and the Australian one on OXFORD called The Missing Recordings and Rareities was never available here and is not on Amazon anyway
There really WAS a Joe Meek sound-the military beat,the fairground organ,the use of girl bvs.the strings and tremeloe guitars and the sound effects-this was the true Wall of Sound which Phil Spector no doubt copied as Meek product was available in the States from 1961-Geoff Goddard's Girl Bride was licensed to the LAWN label and the Moontrekkers to DOT before Telstar was to break the name straight into the nation's consciousness.Consider that Spector came up with the Wall of Sound a year later
The military beat was also used to great effect on Vikki Carr's superb original of He's A Rebel
Meek himself was not beneath the odd bit of copying-Midnight In Luxemberg by the Charles Blackwell Ork is ascloaseasthis to Zambesi while the Tornadoes' Globetrotter is virtually Venus in Blue Jeans and he also recorded plenty of covers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Joe Meek Story., 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joe Meek Story (Audio CD)
It was a pleasure to hear some of the artists and groups that Joe Meek was involved with. He was a one off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music Great for Nostalga Freaks, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Ronald Armstrong (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joe Meek Story (Audio CD)
Great music and a nostalgic look back at music from that era. Joe Meek obviously had some great ideas, some worked well and others not so well. Majority of tracks chosen for this cd I knew from old, many on vinyl 45s boxed up in my loft. This compilation is missing one or two songs/instrumentals that I would have liked, but that is always the problem with compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To any budding music hostorian, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Joe Meek Story (Audio CD)
This is one of several collections charting the roots of contemporary producers, from the raw beginnings to the now automated effects. A must for any serious music historian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I'd hoped, 21 Jun 2012
By 
KC (nottingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Joe Meek Story (Audio CD)
I can't be quite as enthusiastic as other reviewers about this item. It's good and it's interesting, but it's not great. My main disappointment is that it doesn't contain as many of the typical Joe Meek-type productions as I was expecting. I'm aware of what Meek did and can do, and when he was good he was very good (allowing for the technology of the times) but I found a lot of the material on this double CD is just average 2nd-division early 60s pop with nothing to make it stand out. With many of these songs, I wouldn't have guessed they were Meek productions if I'd heard them at random without any information. And incidentally, the information with this package is pathetically poor; all you get is a single page folded sheet with a few paragraphs telling the basics about Joe Meek's life.

You've heard the old saying about "inside every double album there's a good single album trying to get out". This is one of the best examples of that I've ever come across. The good ones are worth having; so maybe it's useful for completists to know that Meek was also responsible for quite a bit of average filler which grabbed nobody's attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Joe Meek Story
The Joe Meek Story by Joe Meek (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews