Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and readable poetry.
I first heard Sophie Hannah read some of these poems a few years ago at the Aye Write book festival in Glasgow (I particularly remember "Rubbish at Adultery") but took a while to follow it up by reading any of her work.
Many of the poems are funny and light-weight, but her writing is lucid and direct, and a reminder that poetry is also about song and play, and our...
Published on 5 Sep 2011 by Glasgow Reader

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pessimism for beginners
Decided it was not for me as I prefer narrative to poetry but I am sure poetry readers would enjoy it as there were many humorous and interesting pieces throughout.
Published 18 months ago by Tondy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and readable poetry., 5 Sep 2011
By 
Glasgow Reader (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
I first heard Sophie Hannah read some of these poems a few years ago at the Aye Write book festival in Glasgow (I particularly remember "Rubbish at Adultery") but took a while to follow it up by reading any of her work.
Many of the poems are funny and light-weight, but her writing is lucid and direct, and a reminder that poetry is also about song and play, and our reaction to everyday, mundane things is also what helps define us.
I derived pleasure and enjoyment from reading these poems - and who can complain about that? I particularly enjoyed "Round Robin", "Astronomical", "Something and Nothing" and "Don't Say I Said".
The collection contains 40 poems and was a "Poetry Book Society Choice".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good read, gave it to my brother in law for his birthday, he loved it and passed it round the family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stay up all night reading, 22 Jun 2011
By 
M. Callaghan "mags" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like all of Sophie Hannah's books I find myself staying up all night to finish them. This collection was no different
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poetry, 21 Nov 2010
I loved this book, massive fan of Sophie Hannah's fictional writing and this book shows a different side to her completely. I particularly like the poems Don't Say I Said and How I Feel Now, very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, brittle, sharp, cruel, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Love Books "Jessie" (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I hadn't read Sophie Hannah's poetry before, but heard her talking on the radio and thought I'd give her a go. I absolutely loved this compilation. Witty, modern and laugh out loud funny. Shocking in places. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The poetry part was AMAZING, but..., 25 Feb 2014
This review is from: Pessimism for Beginners (Kindle Edition)
There wasn't enough of it. I was hoping to read lots more considering what I paid for this Kindle treat, but there was a lot of wasted space at the end about her new novel.

Also, the formatting of the Kindle edition was most disappointing: the last line of several poems carried over onto the next page. Not what you'd expect from a mid-priced Kindle read.

Wish I'd got the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars when you need a laugh, 3 Mar 2009
By 
L. Morgan (Colchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I enjoyed this book - there are some little gems in here and always something to brighten your day when you're feeling really cynical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pessimism for beginners, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pessimism for Beginners (Kindle Edition)
Decided it was not for me as I prefer narrative to poetry but I am sure poetry readers would enjoy it as there were many humorous and interesting pieces throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hannahists' last fix - how long till the next?, 21 Oct 2012
By 
Simon Barrett "Il penseroso" (london, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A darker Wendy Cope (and as proficient) one misses her wry, abrasive tone on the radio. I'm glad she's carved out a prose career for herself, but what's she (and Carcanet) doing plugging her second 'psychological thriller' in the back? Never mind - just so long as they subsidise the poetry, which is both thrilling and chilling - read Anyone Can Draw a Line

The five stars apply to *all* five of her poetry books, by the way, which dazzle equally - well, I haven't read Leaving, but there's a bunch in the Selected. I'm surprised not to see more reviews; her consistency is enviable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pessimism for Beginners
Pessimism for Beginners by Sophie Hannah
5.37
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews