Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Read"
Really enjoyed this book. It was fast moving with lots of different stories interwoven throughout. The only thing that spoilt it a bit was the vast number of grammatical errors in the translation to ebook! Often had to re-read a passage to work out what it meant, with extra words or words missing or in the wrong order - over and over again.
Published on 16 Jan. 2012 by Margaret Cunningham

versus
82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very badly written and edited.
I have to agree with the reviewer Nicola Taunt. This book is appallingly written and edited. This is a shame as it probably has the potential for a reasonable story.

Some of the sentences don't actually make sense. The grammar and spelling would shame my 8 year old niece. The formatting is also very bad - though this may only relate to the Kindle...
Published on 22 Jun. 2012 by Amazon customer


‹ Previous | 1 2107 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Read", 16 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "War Brides" (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. It was fast moving with lots of different stories interwoven throughout. The only thing that spoilt it a bit was the vast number of grammatical errors in the translation to ebook! Often had to re-read a passage to work out what it meant, with extra words or words missing or in the wrong order - over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


118 of 121 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Story - Shame about the proofing, 19 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Brides (Kindle Edition)
This is a rattling good story, following the lives of several women, thrown together by war. Having heard my mother's stories of wartime hardships, I found it very interesting and absorbing. What spoiled the book for me was the appalling proofing: words missing, parts of words missing, parts of sentences missing. At times it was so bad that it was difficult to make out what it should have been and it got worse the further into the book you read. It was as if the person given this novel to check gave it only a cursory look at the beginning and got more apathetic as the pages went by. Not good enough. I'm sure the author will be pretty cross that her work is being sold in this poor state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 84 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very badly written and edited., 22 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Brides (Kindle Edition)
I have to agree with the reviewer Nicola Taunt. This book is appallingly written and edited. This is a shame as it probably has the potential for a reasonable story.

Some of the sentences don't actually make sense. The grammar and spelling would shame my 8 year old niece. The formatting is also very bad - though this may only relate to the Kindle edition.

I have only reached chapter 5, and the story hasn't really begun. Unfortunately I don't know if I can persevere with this book as I am becoming invreasingly irritated by the poor writing style and bad grammar. I don't understand why this book was published in this state.

Luckily I only paid 77p!

Update...........I did persevere with the book and did enjoy the story, if farfetched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful and patronising, 6 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Brides (Kindle Edition)
I should have known I would hate this book the moment the author started going on about the museums she had seen in London and how everyone should know what London went through in the Blitz. Erm... Even school children in Britain understand what Londoners had to live through. So thank you nice American lady for assuming we all need her education on one of the most famous and defining moments of British civilian history.

Then there's the characters. How the devil could anyone even understand , let alone warm too, a woman who steals another woman's fiancé just so she can be closer to the man she actually loves. This didn't make her deep and three dimensional. This made her annoying and teeth grinding. Francis applying to part of SOE? Whatever. Francis sent into France with a certain female condition? Utterly dis-credible.

There are also plot lines that just get abandoned. At one point the big emphasis is on rescuing two little Jewish girls but suddenly one complication happens and that's it: sorry Jewish girls , you may have miraculously escaped through Nazi occupied France and magically found transport to the Sussex Coast but now it's all in vain.

And this Sussex Coast business is silly too. You can tell the author looked at a map and thought 'oh England is really small so places in this area of the Sussex Coast must all be in walking distance of each other, England being so small and all!' No towns within a short walking distance of Brighton are on the London to Brighton mainline. There are only two towns that could fit the authors description of the location. I live in one of them, and there is no way smuggler tunnels would stretch that far inland or that the characters could walk to Brighton from in a morning. The smuggler tunnels are the least credible part however. Again, she must have thought 'ah England has lots of history with smuggling, so let's stick some tunnels from Brighton' ....erm, Brighton is flat. You're thinking of Seaford love. The town along the coast with a dark smuggler history and CLIFFS.

I read the whole book mistakenly thinking the characters might get less stereotyped, or even a bit more likeable. I was wrong. So very very wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would give a 4 for story - gets a 3 due to shocking editing, 10 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "War Brides" (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the story in this book, which is well conceived and written, with likeable characters. It makes for an easy read and I would recommend it, with one reservation; it doesn't appear to have been proof read at any stage! Pages seem oddly formatted for Kindle, with chapters appearing half way down the page (odd as it appears to have been published directly by Amazon), and the book is riddled with incoherent sentences that are badly punctuated, misspelled and often missing pronouns and even verbs. You'd usually expect to spot one or two bloopers in the entirety of a book, but there is at least one per page in this one, which makes it extremely difficult to get into the book properly, as it interrupts the flow of writing while you constantly try to piece together the intended meaning. In conclusion - a good read, needlessly spoiled by careless proofreading. Understand it's a cheapie but it's also a bestseller - not a quality edition!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 10 May 2010
By 
Mrs. C. M. Allan "grandma" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: War Brides (Paperback)
Brilliant story, it weaves a spell, mixing WW11 and modern times, romance, sadness and revenge taking you back and forth, which made putting the book down to do other things extremely hard, as you just needed to know what happens next. It kept me on tenterhooks right to the end, and what a surprising finale, not at all what I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars War Brides, 30 Jan. 2012
By 
V. A. Aitken (London, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: "War Brides" (Kindle Edition)
I agree with the reviewer who says this is a disappointing book. The events are so unlikely as to be ludicrous. The characters are stereotypes and the action stilted and not credible.
The book is riddled with spelling mistakes, grammatical mistakes, and poor editing. This makes it even more annoying to read.
Luckily it was only 77p! Just about worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 66 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good potential, but sloppily written, 14 Jan. 2012
By 
Nicola Taunt (York, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "War Brides" (Kindle Edition)
This novel has the potential to be good, but is let down by poor writing and even worse editing. The author repeatedly resorts to simply telling us about the action, rather than showing us. Too many times, we find out about major points through a one-sided phone call or by one character telling the others what's happened elsewhere. The plot is also riddled with unlikely coincidences or wildly improbable events.

This book would also have been improved by much tighter editing. It's full of spelling errors, grammatical mistakes and suffers from poor formatting. A good editor would also have cut down the clunky exposition. It's a shame that so many things spoiled this book. I do wonder how this got published in the state that it's in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great romantic saga, 6 July 2007
By 
M. Hackworthy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: War Brides (Paperback)
Once I'd started reading, I just couldn't stop - great characters, cleverly interwoven plot lines and fascinating historical details. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IRRITATING!!!!!, 27 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "War Brides" (Kindle Edition)
This book irritated me on many fronts. The plotline of the story itself had the potential to become what I call 'a 3 dimensional book' but oh dear.
The characters were all presented in quick fire style and it became confusing to sort them out which wouldn't have been nearly as difficult if one weren't also trying to get past the APPALLING editing.There were missing words, words put in where they were not needed and didn't make any sense; full stops in the middle of sentences and the layout of the text at the back of the book was just off on a mission of its own.
I only paid 77p for this book but I begrudge every penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2107 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

War Brides
War Brides by Helen Bryan
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews