Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great collection of shorts !
Another set of excellent short stories from Shaun Jeffrey. I really liked the first collection, Voyeurs of Death, so I was not disappointed to find that The Mutilation Machination follows the same path and brings more strange and weird and dark and unusual stories to the reader.

As usual, they're written in a way that will immerse you into the story right away,...
Published on 1 Mar 2012 by Lorraine Versini

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mutilation Machination
I'm not sure this is the genre for me. I enjoy horror, generally speaking, but I need to feel engaged, rather than a voyeur. I like to have that chill breath on the back of my neck that makes me think, 'Could this really happen?' If it could, it's truly horrific. I only felt this with 'Clockwork' from this collection.
Published on 2 April 2012 by Ignite


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great collection of shorts !, 1 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutilation Machination (Kindle Edition)
Another set of excellent short stories from Shaun Jeffrey. I really liked the first collection, Voyeurs of Death, so I was not disappointed to find that The Mutilation Machination follows the same path and brings more strange and weird and dark and unusual stories to the reader.

As usual, they're written in a way that will immerse you into the story right away, and as a reader you'll never really know what's coming next.

Can't help but feeling like it's too short though ! Must mean I'm hooked, keep wanting more and more and it's never enough !

Totally recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling, 25 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutilation Machination (Kindle Edition)
Another sublime collection of creepy, thought provoking and thoroughly enjoyable short stories by Shaun Jeffery. Again, many scenes that he conjures through his words will long remain with me. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very creepy set of shorts!, 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutilation Machination (Kindle Edition)
This is an anthology of 8 short stories. There is a theme of the darkness of the human soul running through them.

These were really creepy. The author does a good job of making you look over your shoulder as you read them! One or two of them had me scratching my head a bit, but this did not lessen my enjoyment of them any. On the whole it was an enjoyable romp through the darkness of the author's mind! I totally recommend this anthology but say don't read them on your own or in the dark as you may find yourself seriously freaked out, as I did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable collection of short stories, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutilation Machination (Kindle Edition)
A great collection of dark and twisty short stories. Despite this not being a genre I have read much I found that I really enjoyed this collection. I will definitely be reading more from Shaun Jeffrey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutilation Machination (Kindle Edition)
I sat and read this book in one sitting, I didn't quite understand
the last story [ the darkness ] other than that one I enjoyed all of them. Would recommend it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mind Meddling, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutilation Machination (Kindle Edition)
A collection of short stories that differ from each other immensely. From the unnerving 'The Algae' to the chilling 'In Darkness', each tale envelopes you instantly, no faffing around with info-dumping here.

Shaun Jeffrey has the ability to drag the reader into the story, either kicking and screaming or at their own free will, this means however that every dark moment is intensified. There are some lovely turns of phrase within the text, things like, 'The walls either side of the entrance were daubed with the modern day hieroglyphics of graffiti artists'. and 'its limbs moving with the stiffness of a soldier on parade'. These may be short stories but they are well thought out and concisely written by an author who makes every word matter.

This isn't your Koontz, King, Hutson generic horror, this is cleverly manufactured and highly articulated horror, no need for a gore-fest with Jeffrey, he'll meddle with your imagination and leave you open-mouthed at the end of each tale. There are moments when you think you have second guessed the author only for him to prove you wrong, leaving you asking questions of yourself and your own innermost thoughts.

My favourite phrase in the book, is such a clever piece of writing that this alone should make you want to download this today, 'He laughed. It sounded like explosions going off in his throat'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutilation Machination (Kindle Edition)
Did enjoy the stories in this I must admit tho at times I was like what??? But got hooked with this book good for a quick read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horror and illusion, stories that will make you think, 24 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutilation Machination (Kindle Edition)
Eight short stories by a gifted writer, ranging from malfunctioning sex dolls, to a blind woman reading the signs of danger in everyday life, even to the devil Himself moving in next door. Here you will find horror and illusion, stories that will make you think.

There are eight short tales included in The Mutilation Machination by Shaun Jeffrey, and while not all of these are the strongest work by this author the majority of them produce enough to a punch to make them enjoyable and entertaining.

Although perhaps the shortest story in the collection, Sweet Music was one of my favorites, and Clockwork and In Darkness were right up there as the pinnacle stories in this book. Not so Different contains great characters, something missing from much short fiction, and its ending is pretty damn good.

Yeah, okay, you could find better work from Shaun Jeffrey out there, but if you're looking for an example of this author's well-crafted, engaging prose then you wouldn't be making a mistake buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sting in the tail, 1 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Mutilation Machination (Kindle Edition)
Read in one sitting really enjoyed the authors rather twisted humour stories had plenty of horrible surprises at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and sinister tales, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mutilation Machination (Kindle Edition)
This book of short stories is delightfully dark. All of the stories are sinister and most of them work very well indeed.

The author has thought up some very imaginative ideas, and I am slightly afraid of how his brain works! I raced through the book, each story wanting me to read the next. If you like your short stories chilling and very dark, this book is for you. You won't find much joy here!

The only story that I didn't get on with was the title story. It was well-written, as with the rest of the book, but it was too removed from reality for my taste; it left me cold in the end. However, I fully enjoyed the other stories and it's well worth a look if you like your stories dark and murky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mutilation Machination
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews