Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Miracle of a Movie
I first became interested in this film when a committed socialist told me how much he had enjoyed the film. `Hang on', I asked, `isn't `Marcelino' a bit too religiousy?' My friend shrugged and said he didn't think so. I ordered my own copy and it is now one of my favourite films. The film has touches of the classic `Three Men and a Baby'. It concerns how Franciscan friars...
Published on 27 Aug 2008 by Ms. M. O'Regan

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece - but beware the Vanguard Latino DVD
"Marcellino, Pan y Vino" (1955) is a marvel. Simple but touching, beautifully acted and filmed, it captures that elusive mixture of logic and mystery at the heart of childhood. Ladislao Vajda's spare yet sensitive direction is mirrored by Pablo Sorozabal's masterful score, and by the child Pablito Calvo's marvellous portrayal in the title role.
This Spanish/Italian...
Published on 7 April 2005 by Master Jacques


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Miracle of a Movie, 27 Aug 2008
By 
Ms. M. O'Regan (Cork) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Miracle of Marcelino [DVD] (DVD)
I first became interested in this film when a committed socialist told me how much he had enjoyed the film. `Hang on', I asked, `isn't `Marcelino' a bit too religiousy?' My friend shrugged and said he didn't think so. I ordered my own copy and it is now one of my favourite films. The film has touches of the classic `Three Men and a Baby'. It concerns how Franciscan friars are left to cope when a baby boy (Marcelino), is abandoned on their doorstep. Throughout the film, there is that expectant, lovely atmosphere of a nursery with a new baby. As Marcelino grows, he becomes ever more curious about who is mother is. He starts holding conversations with a life-size crucifix. And when little Marcelino is at his most sincere, Christ on the crucifix grants the child's wish to see his mother...

Not only a captivating film for adults, children love it especially. I showed it to a group of ten year olds and whilst they found the old fashioned music amusing, they were mesmerised by the central story and the film's apex, which is of course the miracle of Marcellino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real tear jerker, 8 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle of Marcelino (DVD)
The DVD "Miracle of Marcelino" was purchased for my wife. It is one of the best films that we have seen for a long time and well worth an investment of a few pounds with Amazon to obtain a copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CLASSIC, 1 April 2012
By 
Peter M "cinerama" (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This masterpiece about childhood was a huge International hit back in 1955. I have not seen it since its original release so I can't wait to see this memorable film again. I have never forgotten the impression that it left on me back in 1955.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching, 15 Feb 2012
By 
A. Fraguglia - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle of Marcelino [DVD] (DVD)
Whatever you believe in God or not..this movie is beautiful and has a message of faith and hope which shows that this world is not Gods place. A must see film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I need my mother!!!, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle of Marcelino [DVD] [1955] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
charming 50-ish story of a foundling taken on by a group of monks; the challenges they have in raising a baby and the pranks the child gets up to as he grows. His longing for his mother plays a large part of this emotive if simplistic story. Absolutely charming - but be careful - if you want to view in the Spanish language check out the EXTRAS option on menu first as it is not immediately obvious that the badly dubbed English version is not the original if that is what you wanted. The original Spanish is of course the natural and quite easy tollow - sub-titles are also available. The child actor is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real delight, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle of Marcelino (DVD)
This is a delightful version of the classic Spanish story, which is more or less true to the book. For some reason the character of a bad-tempered local mayor has been added, which doesn't enhance the story. The film was made in 1955 and colour has not been added. The sound is passable only, it has been dubbed using American actors and the subtitles are in Korean. If you have read/studied the book in Spanish and loved it, you will be able to cope with this as the film captures the essence of the characters. If you are just looking for a children's film, this will not be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece - but beware the Vanguard Latino DVD, 7 April 2005
By 
Master Jacques (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
"Marcellino, Pan y Vino" (1955) is a marvel. Simple but touching, beautifully acted and filmed, it captures that elusive mixture of logic and mystery at the heart of childhood. Ladislao Vajda's spare yet sensitive direction is mirrored by Pablo Sorozabal's masterful score, and by the child Pablito Calvo's marvellous portrayal in the title role.
This Spanish/Italian co-production came up fresh as paint in a recent Spanish-only release from Video Mercury Films (2002.) It gives me no pleasure to report that the 2004 Vanguard Latino issue - the only one currently available with English subtitles - is a travesty of the crisp original print. It claims to be "digitally remastered", but the Vanguard DVD is horribly bleached, blurred and blocky, with crumbly sound and laced with video artefacts. It is in fact well-nigh unwatchable. Presumably it was taken from a poor VHS copy, maybe of Mexican provenance (which might account for its attribution of the film to that country.)
The English subtitles are sparse and spiky - whilst the magical sung scene at the heart of the film is not subtitled at all! It's frustrating that the excellent Spanish issue has no subtitles, but anyone with even the barest smattering of Spanish should seek it out, rather than this appalling Vanguard Latino travesty, which defaces a cinematic masterpiece beyond repair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Childhood memories, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle of Marcelino (DVD)
This was for me and my siblings. We all saw it in cinema when we were kids. We all enjoyed the film
and the memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film!, 22 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miracle of Marcelino (DVD)
I simply love this film because of the story and the music! I saw this film i the 1960ties and was very fond of it, and it was wonderful to see it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unforgettable classic, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although unfortunately unknown to the general public its in my opinion much better than the recent remake. Humanity at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miracle of Marcelino [DVD] [1955] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£6.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews