Customer Reviews


368 Reviews
5 star:
 (195)
4 star:
 (71)
3 star:
 (53)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it time
Having previously played and loved the other games in the series, I looked forward to this as a shift from the norm but still keeping what made the others great...and it does this...eventually.

The main issue this game has is the horribly long hand holding tutorials. For anyone who's played the series before, having to play for almost 5 hours before they take...
Published 20 months ago by J. Smith

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh
I love the Assassin's Creed franchise and having played all of them from the first this one was VERY disappointing.
I feel they have ruined the combat system as having to hold B to then press X to counter and kill a enemy is frustratingly annoying and hard as you have little to no time to press X. The introduction is tedious and way too long.

Haytham is...
Published 5 months ago by Ciaran


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Meh, 28 Mar 2014
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
I love the Assassin's Creed franchise and having played all of them from the first this one was VERY disappointing.
I feel they have ruined the combat system as having to hold B to then press X to counter and kill a enemy is frustratingly annoying and hard as you have little to no time to press X. The introduction is tedious and way too long.

Haytham is the exact kind of character you'd be hoping for as the main character in any Assassin's Creed game, ruthless and interesting as a character. Instead we have Connor who as you progress through the game is just boring to be fully honest. Another thing that annoyed me was that it was set in America where all the houses looked the same, there was no real fun free-running obstacles due to the majority of buildings being the same, unlike in previous games where there was a variety of different buildings. Another thing that annoys me which is little, but the fact there are guards on literally every rooftop and can see you from far away, it took away the fun of being able to run around on the rooftops and not being chased by guards every 5 minutes and then waste another 5 minutes trying to lose them to carry on with the story- something that annoyed me in Revelations too. A lot of the game seemed to be take item from A to B, or retrieve item and take it to so and so, barely any proper assassinations were a part of this game.

Another thing annoyed me, which a lot of people seem to really like was the massive part the naval warfare in this game. I really did not enjoy it. The same concept was in Brotherhood and Revelations but was no where near as tedious and took so much game time.

The only positive is that the game looks beautiful and you can tell the developers took a lot of time researching to make it seem as real as possible, a shame they didn't put as much effort into the part of the game that is supposed to be enjoyed.

As a whole I felt the game was the complete opposite of what they wanted to achieve when they first released the first Assassin's Creed. They've basically ruined the fun combat system from the previous games, free-running is now not fun, when they first released the first Assassin's Creed the developers said you can assassinate your targets any way you wanted to, where now I feel they've gotten lazy and just given you one route to assassinate someone- when you actually get a chance too which is hardly ever.

I feel you aren't really an assassin in this game but more an courier with your father as your enemy.

2/5. It would've been 1/5 if it weren't for the amazing graphics/visuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it time, 30 Dec 2012
By 
J. Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
Having previously played and loved the other games in the series, I looked forward to this as a shift from the norm but still keeping what made the others great...and it does this...eventually.

The main issue this game has is the horribly long hand holding tutorials. For anyone who's played the series before, having to play for almost 5 hours before they take off the stabilisers is incredibly tedious and I very nearly gave up as I was quite bored.

However once it lets go, the story comes to life, the action increases and the game becomes a quality entry that is well worth playing. Just keep with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 88 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but boring, 12 Nov 2012
By 
R. Thomas "pipedreamer57" (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
The good:
- beautifully realised colonial America
- smooth freerunning
- satisfyingly vicious combat
- improved hiding mechanic

The bad:
- patchy control mapping
- unclear freerunning signposts
- awkward combat mapping

The ugly:
- boring protagonist
- contrived plot
- tutorial lasts 3-5 hours - way too long

Let's start with the great things about this game. If you want to stop reading after that, then you haven't got to wade through the numerous negatives to get here.

Improvements are pretty practical, and very welcome. The ability to crouch in long grass/bushes is long overdue, as is the ability to hover at the edge of a wall/surface for a kind of 3rd-person tactical view. Your assassin can also whistle whilst in hiding to distract guards away from key locations, and in general it all feels a bit more tactical than before.

Pre-Independence America is also absolutely gorgeous; wide sunlit roads in Boston, fields of grass glowing in the sunset, the vast, snow-filled frontier. This game looks amazing. Fling yourself from tree to tree (if you're like me, you're singing Monty Python's lumberjack song right now), branch to branch, cliff to cliff, in the most organic freerunning mechanic yet. It's also huge - a big sandbox playground to practice your parkour to your heart's content.

Combat is also satisfyingly visceral and punchy, though not without its flaws. We'll get to those later. In general, when it works, combat is a lot of fun and allows Connor to flow from one enemy to the next as a killing machine. Badassery, pure and simple. And a lot of fun.

The thing about the Assassin's Creed games though, is that each game's link to the Creed itself (essentially boils down to: stop the evil templars) gets more and more tenuous.

Altair was born and raised to be an assassin at a time when assassins worked openly (Crusade-era Jerusalem). His whole life is dedicated to the Creed and to fighting the Templar / Crusader threat. Having him as an assassin makes a lot of sense. He's also an unapologetic badass, which makes him awfully appealing as a protagonist.

Ezio....happens to be a very athletic young man who becomes an assassin almost by accident, following the deaths of some of his family members. It can still make sense though, given that the Ezio storyline in AC2, Brotherhood and Revelations focus on Ezio being surrounded by this fraternity of assassins who first guide him, and then allow themselves to be led by him as he matures to Master Assassin. He's also the right balance between charming and driven - again making him a pleasure to play.

Connor....makes no sense. He's withdrawn, his voice-actor doesn't seem to understand what "inflection" means, and whilst it's an absolute delight to hear the Iroquois languages (re: Native American) spoken with remarkable fluency, Connor is ultimately really, really boring. I understand that the devs wanted him to not take sides in the Revolution but instead look to his own interests, that's fine, but he has nothing interesting to say, no hook for the player.

And that is where AC3 really falls down. As you go through the AC series, the storyline also gets more and more ridiculous. I'm perfectly willing to buy into the idea of a parallel fight in the past (Desmond in the Animus) and the present (Assassin's Order trying to prevent global destruction caused by a Templar satellite launch) - hell, it's not the most ludicrous storyline out there and frankly I find it all part of the fun of playing the AC series.

But the real strength of AC comes from its ancestor storylines - Altair's story, Ezio's story, within the wider framework of Assassins vs Templars. AC3 doesn't have that balance because it doesn't have a protagonist that generates emotional investment. Connor is completely 2-dimensional, emotionally flat and generally uninspired. The conflict built into his nature feels forced - a contrivance necessary to carry the plot. And there is a LOT of plot.

That isn't always a bad thing, but in the presumed effort to make this game as accessible to new fans as to existing ones, the "hand-holding" phase is a good 3 to 4 hours long. Compared to AC2, where a half hour in you're climbing buildings and synchronising viewpoints, this feels overly long and again, a contrivance to set the amount of plot exposition necessary to justify Connor's role in all this, given that he's not sufficiently interesting on his own.

The game's mechanics and control mapping have also been completely overhauled. Generous reviews paint the new combat controls as similar to Rocksteady's Batman: Arkham Asylum / Arkham City. This just isn't true - but would be awesome if it was. The only similarity between the two is that both now use the ABXY buttons, but that's it. Batman's controls are far more streamlined and allow a much more consistent combat flow, moving seamlessly from one enemy to the next. AC3 is fiddly, awkward and takes a lot of getting used to. Not to overuse the adage "if it ain't broke....", but this supposed innovation feels like a step backwards from (in particular) AC:Brotherhood and Revelations, both of whom had excellent combat mapping and freerunning techniques. The game and the player also have to adapt to guns - and combat isn't all bad in AC3. The ability to use enemies as meat shields is hugely entertaining and a great device, but difficult to pull off consistently. When it is successful, there's no feeling like it - if only it wasn't so inconsistent.

Freerunning also sees a few modifications - it's now possible to simply run forwards and let the game almost "pick out" the best route - this holds up well in cities, but out on the frontier, trusting the game to pick the route is flawed and often results in falls, deaths and enormous frustrations. Trees are climbable - but not all trees and the game often doesn't make it clear which are and aren't. Same with the cliffs - areas that look completely climbable turn out not to be. It feels arbitrary. That said, the freerunning is generally intuitive and certainly a hell of a lot of fun when Connor gets into his flow, bounding from branch to branch with beautiful-looking animations. All in all though, comparing it even to AC2 (the least intuitive climbing system of the 3 Ezio games), AC3 doesn't hold a candle to previous titles.

The naval battles are also a lot of fun - certainly better than the dubious, immersion-breaking "den defense" from AC:Revelations.

But it's the messy, frustrating, slow development, patchy combat mechanics and a protagonist almost as boring as the modern-day Desmond Miles that let this title down badly. The only gripe I have with the graphics (and I had the same one with Revelations) is that none of the peripheral characters - Desmond, Rebecca and Shaun - look ANYTHING like their previous iterations. And we know it's possible - Mass Effect in particular is an excellent example of how you can have improved graphical output without sacrificing familiar faces.

All in all, the game tries to be stellar but ends up being a mish-mash of beautiful graphics let down by poor implementation. Pre-Declaration America is simply gorgeous - from the deer bounding through the woods as Connor leaps through the trees, to wide-paved cities and easily recognisable famous buildings and figures of Independence-Era America.

I still recommend the title, but given its AAA status, it's not worth the full price you'd pay on launch day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
For a fan of the series this was a must have, the open world frontier was a nice change and enjoyable to wander. The storyline did captivate and kept me playing for hours and the new naval battles where a particular highlight. Didn't enjoy this as much as AC Brotherhood but is far better than AC Revelations. Must play for any fans of the AC series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A degree of patience is required, 28 Aug 2014
By 
John Mitchell (Lossiemouth, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
Assassin's Creed 3 is not the third game in the series somewhat confusingly, but does feature the third protagonist in Connor. The game is set in the time of the American Revolution, which on the surface sounds interesting and at times the story is captivating. It does pick up as the story progresses, but does start off slow and to such an extent that it's so dull that it's possible to just lose interest entirely. This could also be linked to the plethora of Assassin's Creed titles over the years which have been churned out with regularity. Another area which does hinder the game and its story early on are the expansive environments and attempting to incorporate elements from other games such as hunting but not really executing them as well.

Connor as a main character has attracted criticism with a personality which is docile and is a cliché character generally in mannerisms. The dialogue from Connor in particular is sometimes delivered more as if it would be found in a Resident Evil game in the feigned delivery. Overall though the story is largely done very well minus some technical glitches which sometimes appear within cutscenes.

The combat has received an overhaul as has the user interface and both are for the worse as combat is awkward and clumsy to execute at times but the free running doesn't feel right either when on roofs or climbing buildings. The gameplay and its change from previous titles is probably the biggest change that has been detrimental to the game.

There are positives though such as the environments with changing weather patterns which look fantastic, but some of the micromanagement found in previous titles such as purchasing tailors and bookshops has now been removed entirely which is disappointing as the feeling of regenerating a city from Templar control is lost. This has been revamped in the form of forts but it's not as lasting in its impact. Later on, Connor, can control assassin's and send them on assignments as in previous titles. Unlike previous titles though your fellow assassins can't be killed which takes much of the risk out of miscalculations.

One of the main positives and a new addition are the naval missions. These missions are fun and are well delivered. Unlike the main game, the combat works much better and doesn't feel as if it's down to an element of chance and as a result appears more responsive. Multiplayer also returns and does throw up some different dynamics from conventional multiplayer games with a factor of risk and reward. Only deathmatch is really still accessible as the number of players has dwindled. The multiplayer is functional and even occasionally good but probably hasn't got much longevity.

---Summary---
Graphics 8 Some glorious vistas and environments but textures and pop in knock the score down.
Sound 7 Mostly good but for certain characters such as Connor it could have been better.
Gameplay 5 Really wonky in places (particularly in combat) but not unplayable.
Lifespan 7 Assassin's Creed 3 will probably take around 25-30 hours if side missions are also explored. The multiplayer is limited due to the title now aging but it can still be accessed at time of writing.

Assassin's Creed 3 is perhaps too radical an overhaul, although parts of the game do remain largely untouched. It's a game that seesaws between lacking and adequate. There are many shortcomings for tinkering with a formula that already worked. If you're looking for the best of Assassin's Creed, this isn't it. 7/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Class, 1 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
Once you stop playing as Haytham Kenway and the non-assassin version of Connor, this game is great fun. Action-packed and has an engaging storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a bit of fun, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
I'm not saying that it's a master piece, but it will keep you entertained and delighted quite a lot. Good graphics (some bugs) and very cool battles on the sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the last two, but the novelty is growing old, fast, 28 Mar 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
I have been playing assassins creed since the franchise was first released and don't get me wrong, its an absolute blast, most of the time. But since brotherhood i think both games have been exactly the same. They are starting to feel like expansion packs rather than actual games and this just bugs me. I'm not sure if its just me but the novelty of being an assassin has started to get old. But anyway, i doubt you want to listen to me rant about it, i do think the game has some amazing features. I think i was the only person but i kind of liked Connor, he had an interesting back story and i generally felt why he was angry. I also liked the new combat additions, the change meant that i wasn't just countering every single attack like i did in the past four games. I finally felt a achievement in the way i was fighting. I also loved the new free running, it wasn't just me holding down RT and A and pressing the analog stick forward. also the free running looked more smooth, it may seem like a small bonus but to me it felt really cool! Now to the bad points, for anyone who has played this game, I'm sure they will agree, NOBODY WANTS A 4-5 HOUR LONG TUTORIAL UBISOFT! I can barely stand a tutorial as it is! Instead i got treated to playing as the most annoying character ever and what was worse he couldn't climb trees. The whole tutorial is based in the woods. In the winter. instead i got treated to stumbling through snow. this probally puts this game down a whole star for me. Couldn't stand it! I also hated how all the side quests were usually delivering letters or pickpocketing someone. They seemed pointless to me. On the whole i think they should end the franchise next game. I only say NEXT game because they have announced assassins creed 4:black flag. I think its about time Ubisoft threw in the towel. It has enjoyable parts, but its not the big series changer that it was advertised to be.
If you have read all the way to here, i applaud you, and thankyou for taking your time to read this.
Thanks ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Thought this was meant to be a revolution..., 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
I have played AC since the original and it is something that I want to like so much but it never meets my expectations. AC 2 is probably the best one in the series and it remains that after this addition. That game broke new ground, introduced new aspects and refined game play from the original. However AC 3 does not. You do get new weapons and a new character and a new time frame but the game play is still the same. Kill someone, collect something, kill someone, etc.
Maybe it's me because some of my friends love these games and they look so cool and it is a world I want to be part of but when I pick up the controller I have no motivation to travel across a massive open field to kill someone very easily because I have done it a million times before.
If you love the series buy it, it is definitely an AC game but if you wanted improvements like the leap from AC to AC 2 it is not to be found here and I don't think that will ever happen again. Ubisoft are rolling in it because these games sell really well and they release one every year which is probably why I am fed up of the series already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Feels like a chore., 14 Nov 2012
By 
C (CARDIFF, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
I was really looking forward to this game, but I have to say it was a pretty big disappointment. The biggest problem with it is simply that it is just not very much fun... in fact I'm taking it back to trade in even though I'm only on sequence 9 because I can't be bothered finishing it. I spent the whole game so far thinking, if I get through this the fun bit will be soon... well I have given up on a fun bit ever coming. Seriously. I've had more fun doing the ironing.

The missions and animations feel like a chore. Often you're sent half way across the map just to press B, watch another animation and then run back again. The main character is not likable and his character arc doesn't make any sense, I can't understand why he is even involved with the civil war. There is also a story line with Desmond which is tedious and confusing. The controls are clumsy, with only one button for running, free running, jumping etc you often end up running into walls or leaping off a tree instead of climbing it... it's so frustrating. Despite the fact that this is supposed to be ASSASSIN's Creed, it is almost impossible to make any stealthy kills as there isn't even a crouch button! In bushes he will automatically crouch but it is quite unpredictable and often he just stands bolt upright at the vital moment. The map is slow to load and it is cumbersome to change weapon. Aiming with a gun or a bow is very awkward to do with a tiny white dot which you can barely see used to select a target. Fighting with swords etc is also tedious as the controls are just not very good. There are also a large number of glitches - some of which make it impossible to continue playing without a reboot. I've had the blue screen of death twice, which I have never encountered in any other game on this console (xbox 360).

If I could go back in time I would unbuy and unplay this game. I'm done with this franchise now, I won't be buying any more of their future releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD)
14.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews