Customer Reviews


412 Reviews
5 star:
 (223)
4 star:
 (78)
3 star:
 (57)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it time
Having previously played and loved the other games in the series, I looked forward to this as a shift from the norm but still keeping what made the others great...and it does this...eventually.

The main issue this game has is the horribly long hand holding tutorials. For anyone who's played the series before, having to play for almost 5 hours before they take...
Published 24 months ago by J. Smith

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If this game were a person I'd shoot it in the head
I'm a big fan of the Assassin's Creed series but was very disappointed with this particular release. I'm currently re-playing it to see if it was really as bad as I remember. It turns out that it's much worse than I remember.

It feels as if the creators took all the really cool elements from the previous games, ditched them and instead took all the annoying...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. R. Whyte


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If this game were a person I'd shoot it in the head, 17 Nov 2014
By 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
I'm a big fan of the Assassin's Creed series but was very disappointed with this particular release. I'm currently re-playing it to see if it was really as bad as I remember. It turns out that it's much worse than I remember.

It feels as if the creators took all the really cool elements from the previous games, ditched them and instead took all the annoying elements and made them even worse.

In terms of plot, it's an interesting, if contrived, entry in the saga. The problem is that it takes several light years to get going.

The gameplay is utterly awful - particularly when it comes to combat. I kept finding myself screaming "I'm pushing the f***ing button!" while the character stands still, calmly taking axe blows to the face. And the lockpicking....dear lord, the lockpicking! You're given simple instructions which you follow but then the character randomly decides he can't be bothered and just wants to squat instead - all the while some infuriating group of street urchins with tourettes repeatedly shout "whoa! whoa! whoa!" Not giving the option to kebab them with your hidden blade is one of the biggest downfalls of the game.

And the naval missions! Oh my God! Nice idea but not much fun if you're unable to see in front of you. It feels like some kind of pirate-related Specsavers advert.

The whole thing is a big glitchy, clumsy mess that is frequently beyond frustrating. Fortunately the follow-up, Black Flag, took all the bad bits from AC3 and managed, somehow, to make them really enjoyable elements in a vastly superior game.

I don't feel that I can give this 1 star - after all, a huge amount of work has clearly gone into it, it's a BIG game. However, I want to kill everyone around me after I play it and that can't be healthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful but boring, 12 Nov 2012
By 
R. Thomas "pipedreamer57" (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
The good:
- beautifully realised colonial America
- smooth freerunning
- satisfyingly vicious combat
- improved hiding mechanic

The bad:
- patchy control mapping
- unclear freerunning signposts
- awkward combat mapping

The ugly:
- boring protagonist
- contrived plot
- tutorial lasts 3-5 hours - way too long

Let's start with the great things about this game. If you want to stop reading after that, then you haven't got to wade through the numerous negatives to get here.

Improvements are pretty practical, and very welcome. The ability to crouch in long grass/bushes is long overdue, as is the ability to hover at the edge of a wall/surface for a kind of 3rd-person tactical view. Your assassin can also whistle whilst in hiding to distract guards away from key locations, and in general it all feels a bit more tactical than before.

Pre-Independence America is also absolutely gorgeous; wide sunlit roads in Boston, fields of grass glowing in the sunset, the vast, snow-filled frontier. This game looks amazing. Fling yourself from tree to tree (if you're like me, you're singing Monty Python's lumberjack song right now), branch to branch, cliff to cliff, in the most organic freerunning mechanic yet. It's also huge - a big sandbox playground to practice your parkour to your heart's content.

Combat is also satisfyingly visceral and punchy, though not without its flaws. We'll get to those later. In general, when it works, combat is a lot of fun and allows Connor to flow from one enemy to the next as a killing machine. Badassery, pure and simple. And a lot of fun.

The thing about the Assassin's Creed games though, is that each game's link to the Creed itself (essentially boils down to: stop the evil templars) gets more and more tenuous.

Altair was born and raised to be an assassin at a time when assassins worked openly (Crusade-era Jerusalem). His whole life is dedicated to the Creed and to fighting the Templar / Crusader threat. Having him as an assassin makes a lot of sense. He's also an unapologetic badass, which makes him awfully appealing as a protagonist.

Ezio....happens to be a very athletic young man who becomes an assassin almost by accident, following the deaths of some of his family members. It can still make sense though, given that the Ezio storyline in AC2, Brotherhood and Revelations focus on Ezio being surrounded by this fraternity of assassins who first guide him, and then allow themselves to be led by him as he matures to Master Assassin. He's also the right balance between charming and driven - again making him a pleasure to play.

Connor....makes no sense. He's withdrawn, his voice-actor doesn't seem to understand what "inflection" means, and whilst it's an absolute delight to hear the Iroquois languages (re: Native American) spoken with remarkable fluency, Connor is ultimately really, really boring. I understand that the devs wanted him to not take sides in the Revolution but instead look to his own interests, that's fine, but he has nothing interesting to say, no hook for the player.

And that is where AC3 really falls down. As you go through the AC series, the storyline also gets more and more ridiculous. I'm perfectly willing to buy into the idea of a parallel fight in the past (Desmond in the Animus) and the present (Assassin's Order trying to prevent global destruction caused by a Templar satellite launch) - hell, it's not the most ludicrous storyline out there and frankly I find it all part of the fun of playing the AC series.

But the real strength of AC comes from its ancestor storylines - Altair's story, Ezio's story, within the wider framework of Assassins vs Templars. AC3 doesn't have that balance because it doesn't have a protagonist that generates emotional investment. Connor is completely 2-dimensional, emotionally flat and generally uninspired. The conflict built into his nature feels forced - a contrivance necessary to carry the plot. And there is a LOT of plot.

That isn't always a bad thing, but in the presumed effort to make this game as accessible to new fans as to existing ones, the "hand-holding" phase is a good 3 to 4 hours long. Compared to AC2, where a half hour in you're climbing buildings and synchronising viewpoints, this feels overly long and again, a contrivance to set the amount of plot exposition necessary to justify Connor's role in all this, given that he's not sufficiently interesting on his own.

The game's mechanics and control mapping have also been completely overhauled. Generous reviews paint the new combat controls as similar to Rocksteady's Batman: Arkham Asylum / Arkham City. This just isn't true - but would be awesome if it was. The only similarity between the two is that both now use the ABXY buttons, but that's it. Batman's controls are far more streamlined and allow a much more consistent combat flow, moving seamlessly from one enemy to the next. AC3 is fiddly, awkward and takes a lot of getting used to. Not to overuse the adage "if it ain't broke....", but this supposed innovation feels like a step backwards from (in particular) AC:Brotherhood and Revelations, both of whom had excellent combat mapping and freerunning techniques. The game and the player also have to adapt to guns - and combat isn't all bad in AC3. The ability to use enemies as meat shields is hugely entertaining and a great device, but difficult to pull off consistently. When it is successful, there's no feeling like it - if only it wasn't so inconsistent.

Freerunning also sees a few modifications - it's now possible to simply run forwards and let the game almost "pick out" the best route - this holds up well in cities, but out on the frontier, trusting the game to pick the route is flawed and often results in falls, deaths and enormous frustrations. Trees are climbable - but not all trees and the game often doesn't make it clear which are and aren't. Same with the cliffs - areas that look completely climbable turn out not to be. It feels arbitrary. That said, the freerunning is generally intuitive and certainly a hell of a lot of fun when Connor gets into his flow, bounding from branch to branch with beautiful-looking animations. All in all though, comparing it even to AC2 (the least intuitive climbing system of the 3 Ezio games), AC3 doesn't hold a candle to previous titles.

The naval battles are also a lot of fun - certainly better than the dubious, immersion-breaking "den defense" from AC:Revelations.

But it's the messy, frustrating, slow development, patchy combat mechanics and a protagonist almost as boring as the modern-day Desmond Miles that let this title down badly. The only gripe I have with the graphics (and I had the same one with Revelations) is that none of the peripheral characters - Desmond, Rebecca and Shaun - look ANYTHING like their previous iterations. And we know it's possible - Mass Effect in particular is an excellent example of how you can have improved graphical output without sacrificing familiar faces.

All in all, the game tries to be stellar but ends up being a mish-mash of beautiful graphics let down by poor implementation. Pre-Declaration America is simply gorgeous - from the deer bounding through the woods as Connor leaps through the trees, to wide-paved cities and easily recognisable famous buildings and figures of Independence-Era America.

I still recommend the title, but given its AAA status, it's not worth the full price you'd pay on launch day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Give it time, 30 Dec 2012
By 
J. Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
Having previously played and loved the other games in the series, I looked forward to this as a shift from the norm but still keeping what made the others great...and it does this...eventually.

The main issue this game has is the horribly long hand holding tutorials. For anyone who's played the series before, having to play for almost 5 hours before they take off the stabilisers is incredibly tedious and I very nearly gave up as I was quite bored.

However once it lets go, the story comes to life, the action increases and the game becomes a quality entry that is well worth playing. Just keep with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst AC game in the series, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Massey (Stoke on Trent) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
Brought it played it and guess what i hate it

Now i did buy AC2 which was brilliant but this game is awful

Conner is very boring and not likeable

The free running system is messed up takes ages to run everywhere and the fast travel is wrong

The combat system is the worst one i have ever seen in a game - guards block your attacks and counters most of the time

Bugs are everywhere - if you want to complete this on 100% - it will be quiet diffcult

After buying this i have only played on it twice - it is by far the worst one in the AC series

Anyone giving this a 5 star rating - needs to have their head looked at

Don't waste your money on this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The game seems to collect all the annoying and irritating attributes of all the previous games, 14 Nov 2014
By 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
Simply awful. The game seems to collect all the annoying and irritating attributes of all the previous games, and somehow makes them worse. The controls alone are enough to make you want to smash the controller, they're too complicated, clumsy to work, and most of the time connor doesn't react at all during fight sequences, or does whatever he wants, resulting in all fights being an infuriating and desperate gamble. The glitches are terrible, most deaths are seen on screen with the two characters several inches apart on the screen, whole backgrounds disappear in cut scenes (which there are hundreds of, this is supposed to be a game not a film!) and the timing is badly out of sync. Some of the viewpoints are in trees in this game, but good luck climbing to the top as you will have no choice but to gamble which is the right route to the top and jump to your death several times to do each one. If you think it's worth the effort. Which it isn't, because the map doesn't improve all that much. The storyline is boring, and seems incoherent. They're aren't any interesting side missions either, so you are stuck with a very linear follow the storyline game that annoys the hell out of you. Only worth considering if you are desperate to continue the AC series, which in my opinion should have stopped before this drivel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Class, 1 Aug 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
Once you stop playing as Haytham Kenway and the non-assassin version of Connor, this game is great fun. Action-packed and has an engaging storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a bit of fun, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
I'm not saying that it's a master piece, but it will keep you entertained and delighted quite a lot. Good graphics (some bugs) and very cool battles on the sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than the last two, but the novelty is growing old, fast, 28 Mar 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
I have been playing assassins creed since the franchise was first released and don't get me wrong, its an absolute blast, most of the time. But since brotherhood i think both games have been exactly the same. They are starting to feel like expansion packs rather than actual games and this just bugs me. I'm not sure if its just me but the novelty of being an assassin has started to get old. But anyway, i doubt you want to listen to me rant about it, i do think the game has some amazing features. I think i was the only person but i kind of liked Connor, he had an interesting back story and i generally felt why he was angry. I also liked the new combat additions, the change meant that i wasn't just countering every single attack like i did in the past four games. I finally felt a achievement in the way i was fighting. I also loved the new free running, it wasn't just me holding down RT and A and pressing the analog stick forward. also the free running looked more smooth, it may seem like a small bonus but to me it felt really cool! Now to the bad points, for anyone who has played this game, I'm sure they will agree, NOBODY WANTS A 4-5 HOUR LONG TUTORIAL UBISOFT! I can barely stand a tutorial as it is! Instead i got treated to playing as the most annoying character ever and what was worse he couldn't climb trees. The whole tutorial is based in the woods. In the winter. instead i got treated to stumbling through snow. this probally puts this game down a whole star for me. Couldn't stand it! I also hated how all the side quests were usually delivering letters or pickpocketing someone. They seemed pointless to me. On the whole i think they should end the franchise next game. I only say NEXT game because they have announced assassins creed 4:black flag. I think its about time Ubisoft threw in the towel. It has enjoyable parts, but its not the big series changer that it was advertised to be.
If you have read all the way to here, i applaud you, and thankyou for taking your time to read this.
Thanks ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
it was all going well until. every time i go to single player it keeps saying install disk 2 but disk one is single player whats going ON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars In my opinion the game was not as good as it predecessor Assassin's Creed Brotherhood, 10 Nov 2014
This review is from: Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD) (Video Game)
In my opinion the game was not as good as it predecessor Assassin's Creed Brotherhood, which In my opinion is the best Assassin's Creed game to date (out of the one I played) and I would recommend if not already you buy that one. This (III) was slacking, there were far too many story trailers and not enough action in gameplay, the graphics are good, the storyline is poor and it does not have the in-depth thought that goes into it, unlike the other Creed games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed 3 (Xbox 360)(2CD)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews