Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars24
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
21
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2008
Ref: Omnibus 1: This was, like many others have reported, a holiday read. Very simply this was very enjoyable and the stories flowed with ease. I am familar with the TV series so I could not get Fry and Laurrie's voices out of my head. This perhaps added to the ammusement and the general flow. All of them are far fetched and over the top but in good clean taste. The only draw back about this as a holiday read is the size and weight of the book. No regrets.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
Those who already know the writings of P. G. Wodehouse need no further introduction. Those who are unfamiliar with him should know that he was one of the best humorous writers in English in the 20th century. He was also one of the best writers of English. He always seemed to find the right word.

In his series of books about Bertie Wooster and his manservant Jeeves he created a collection of unforgettable characters. Bertie Wooster was a young man-about-town living on a private income. Wooster had been educated in Eton College, and at Oxford University, where presumably, like the sons of gentlemen, he obtained a pass degree. He invariable speaks in slang.
His manservant Jeeves invariably uses correct English like a schoolmaster, and one of the joys of Wodehouse is the contrast between the language of these two. Besides these are various formidable aunts who terrify Bertie, and nubile high-minded young ladies who have designs on him and who he cannot stand.
Fortunately it is in the interest of Jeeves to frustrate these young ladies to safeguard his own position. After fiendishly complicated plots, for which Wodehouse is famous, Jeeves rescues Bertie from their clutches.
Altogether to be recommended to old readers and new
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2001
There is really nothing I can say about Jeeves & Wooster that hasn't already been said. The constant stream of startlingly original and side-splittingly funny similes, the dizzying complexity of the plots, the characters that you'd swear have been stolen from your own circle of acquaintances... three perfectly formed pearls of masterful comic writing. Aaaaaahhhhh.....
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
As always, Wodehouse delivers a delicious, delectable, devilishly-observed slice of old English life. A true joy, and pure escapism. There is no hardship that cannot be eased, however temporarily, by slipping into Wooster's world, where the most trying problems are an unwanted engagement or intercepting a purloined notebook full of scandalous secrets.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2014
How can you give less than 5 stars to Jeeves and Wooster? My husband always knows when I'm reading about Bertie Wooster as I start "what ho-ing" around the house! So well written, the characters bounce off the page and I am instantly transported to a different era, and the world of Bertie Wooster, where nothing truly bad ever happens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Undoubtedly the greatest read if you are looking to escape your stressful, anxious day to day life. Filled with laughs and loveable characters, Jeeves and Bertie will keep you smiling as you plod along to their escapades. I can’t recommend these books enough if you are looking at a light read, or something to put a smile on your face.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
I was eager to get my hands on The Jeeves Omnibus after watching the ITV Television series 'Jeeves and Wooster'. The books are even better than the show! I laughed almost constantly form start to finish. If ever you consider reading PG Wodehouse, these are his best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
writing a review of Wodehouse is like posting a critique of Everest. If you haven't read him what have you been doing with your life?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
Very entertaining and a good read. Worth buying for readers who enjoy a light and pleasant read. Very convenient way to buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2012
Great, funny, witty - what else can you say. I can read these stories time and again and they make me laugh every time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse