Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't get Fry and Laurrie out of my head, 30 Sept. 2008
Ref: Omnibus 1: This was, like many others have reported, a holiday read. Very simply this was very enjoyable and the stories flowed with ease. I am familar with the TV series so I could not get Fry and Laurrie's voices out of my head. This perhaps added to the ammusement and the general flow. All of them are far fetched and over the top but in good clean taste. The only draw back about this as a holiday read is the size and weight of the book. No regrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The usual Jeeves & Wooster genius, 24 May 2001
By A Customer
There is really nothing I can say about Jeeves & Wooster that hasn't already been said. The constant stream of startlingly original and side-splittingly funny similes, the dizzying complexity of the plots, the characters that you'd swear have been stolen from your own circle of acquaintances... three perfectly formed pearls of masterful comic writing. Aaaaaahhhhh.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Among the best of P.G.Wodehouse, 25 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jeeves Omnibus - Vol 2: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Jeeves Omnibus Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Those who already know the writings of P. G. Wodehouse need no further introduction. Those who are unfamiliar with him should know that he was one of the best humorous writers in English in the 20th century. He was also one of the best writers of English. He always seemed to find the right word.

In his series of books about Bertie Wooster and his manservant Jeeves he created a collection of unforgettable characters. Bertie Wooster was a young man-about-town living on a private income. Wooster had been educated in Eton College, and at Oxford University, where presumably, like the sons of gentlemen, he obtained a pass degree. He invariable speaks in slang.
His manservant Jeeves invariably uses correct English like a schoolmaster, and one of the joys of Wodehouse is the contrast between the language of these two. Besides these are various formidable aunts who terrify Bertie, and nubile high-minded young ladies who have designs on him and who he cannot stand.
Fortunately it is in the interest of Jeeves to frustrate these young ladies to safeguard his own position. After fiendishly complicated plots, for which Wodehouse is famous, Jeeves rescues Bertie from their clutches.
Altogether to be recommended to old readers and new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wodehouse on fine form, 8 Jun. 2013
By 
J. Jackson "Jack Jackson" (St. Albans, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jeeves Omnibus - Vol 2: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Jeeves Omnibus Collection) (Kindle Edition)
As always, Wodehouse delivers a delicious, delectable, devilishly-observed slice of old English life. A true joy, and pure escapism. There is no hardship that cannot be eased, however temporarily, by slipping into Wooster's world, where the most trying problems are an unwanted engagement or intercepting a purloined notebook full of scandalous secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars where nothing truly bad ever happens, 14 Nov. 2014
By 
J. Jolley (Mallorca, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jeeves Omnibus - Vol 2: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Jeeves Omnibus Collection) (Kindle Edition)
How can you give less than 5 stars to Jeeves and Wooster? My husband always knows when I'm reading about Bertie Wooster as I start "what ho-ing" around the house! So well written, the characters bounce off the page and I am instantly transported to a different era, and the world of Bertie Wooster, where nothing truly bad ever happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A joy, 25 April 2014
By 
Windsor3 (Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jeeves Omnibus - Vol 2: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Jeeves Omnibus Collection) (Kindle Edition)
A joy from start to finish. Highly recommended to anyone who is a fan of Jeeves & Wooster and their world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wodehouse, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jeeves Omnibus - Vol 2: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Jeeves Omnibus Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Very entertaining and a good read. Worth buying for readers who enjoy a light and pleasant read. Very convenient way to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jeeves Omnibus Vol2: No.2, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Jeeves Omnibus - Vol 2: (Jeeves & Wooster) (Jeeves Omnibus Collection) (Kindle Edition)
Great, funny, witty - what else can you say. I can read these stories time and again and they make me laugh every time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PG Wodehouse at his best!, 19 Jan. 2012
I was eager to get my hands on The Jeeves Omnibus after watching the ITV Television series 'Jeeves and Wooster'. The books are even better than the show! I laughed almost constantly form start to finish. If ever you consider reading PG Wodehouse, these are his best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Value, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My brother is a massive P G Woodhouse fan and he can't get enough of these books...a bargain price too !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews