Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bluechip Neon
Have been using this product for few months now. Originally purchased as spare for travelling especially over holiday period. Great since SIM Free. I found that I am happy to use for all functions. Not just SMS and calls but photos and music and quick internet access. The children seem happy to use as well on holiday. I would recommend this item.
Published on 29 May 2012 by AM100

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value but pretty slow and no proper GPS
The phone works and was very good value at only 43.99 but there are some limitations. Lack of 3G means that the data connection is pretty slow as it uses Edge. AGPS does not work with Google navigation although it will show your approximate location on the main map screen. On the up side the screen is good and the Android 2.2 apps work well. Camera is OK for 3.0 Mega...
Published on 7 Aug 2012 by carreg_cennen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bluechip Neon, 29 May 2012
This review is from: Bluechip Neon Sim Free Android Mobile Telephone - Black (Electronics)
Have been using this product for few months now. Originally purchased as spare for travelling especially over holiday period. Great since SIM Free. I found that I am happy to use for all functions. Not just SMS and calls but photos and music and quick internet access. The children seem happy to use as well on holiday. I would recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Phone, 16 Jun 2012
This review is from: Bluechip Neon Sim Free Android Mobile Telephone - Black (Electronics)
Got this Phone a couple of weeks ago and it is great. the android apps work really well and it is easy to use. Unbelievable bargain for the price...tesco 79.00
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good phone but a bit slow, 8 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bluechip Neon Sim Free Android Mobile Telephone - Black (Electronics)
Overall I'm pleased with this phone it does everything i want and the features it has for its price is very reasonable. Item description a bit off as it only has a 3.0 mp camera not a 3.2 but that doesn't really worry me. The apps run quite slow however i think that depends on the amount of storage space you have. Not the best phone but definately worth the money so a good purchase (Y)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value but pretty slow and no proper GPS, 7 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bluechip Neon Sim Free Android Mobile Telephone - Black (Electronics)
The phone works and was very good value at only 43.99 but there are some limitations. Lack of 3G means that the data connection is pretty slow as it uses Edge. AGPS does not work with Google navigation although it will show your approximate location on the main map screen. On the up side the screen is good and the Android 2.2 apps work well. Camera is OK for 3.0 Mega Pixels. The phone came with nice, if rather small manual and Mains charger with detachable USB lead. Overall I would say that this phone offers good value but don't expect it to give you the full android experience due to its technical limitations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Budget Android Phone, 23 Oct 2012
By 
Hucairz (West Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bluechip Neon Sim Free Android Mobile Telephone - Black (Electronics)
I wanted a cheap android phone to replace a ancient provided by work handset, it had to be unlocked as its likely I could change network.

I wanted android to allow me to catch up on work emails on the go, and act as a jabber instant messenger client, as well as occasional remote desktop control.

I also wanted it to act occasionally as a personal mp3 player and video player.

Good points:
- Its speed is usable, its not the fastest but its fine for day to day use.
- screen resolution is good 480 x 320 is MUCH better than the budget 320 x 240 some more expensive handsets offer.
- Android 2.2 is a good solid OS and most apps are available.
- Audio quality is reasonable, especially with bass option turned on in settings.
- Good as a phone - signal strength is as good or better than any other phone I've had.
- Built in data use meter and limits - you can make sure you don't go over your monthly data limit.
- Capacitive touch screen works well
- Load free mx player from google play and videos are good quality and use hardware decoding (if video in right mp4 format - handbrake free windows video converter is good here!)
- Sim free - totall unlocked
- Micro SDHC card can be inserted/removed without opening phone or removing battery
- Battery life acceptable - will last 2+ days using as just a phone, otherwise charge every night - just like most smartphones out there!
- Excellent value for money

Not so good:
- wireless is a bit flaky sometimes - will disconnect occasionally even with a strong signal.
- screen viewing angle is a bit limited

Poor:
- Has no GPS - uses wifi location and phone signal triangulation to provide approximate location - accurate to about 20 metres or so. No use at all as a driving / walking GPS.

I bought this as a factory reconditioned unit from Prepaymania via amazon - what I got was a brand new - in the original box item!

Update:
10 months on and the phone is still going strong.

Annoyingly I have had to take the battery out to reset the phone about five times over the last three months to cure a "no sim card" error and loss of network, but taking the battery out and restart has solved the problem every time.

Still was a good value purchase...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple & Easy, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bluechip Neon Sim Free Android Mobile Telephone - Black (Electronics)
A simple and easy to use phone does what it says on the box. Instructions could be a bit clearer but it is the same as any other Android phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cheap but effective, 2 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bluechip Neon Sim Free Android Mobile Telephone - Black (Electronics)
a very cheap i phone/samsung copy that performs well if a bit slow.the battery needs constant charging if you use live apps but if you use it sensibly its not too bad around 24 hours between charges.its a good introduction to the wonderful world of 3g and internet access and although it takes a bit of getting used to its peculiarities and foibles it isnt half bad for the money!!!there were problems regarding it being refurbished rather than brand new as advertised but the suppliers dealt with them swifly and effeciently,all in all a bargain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 23 Aug 2012
This review is from: Bluechip Neon Sim Free Android Mobile Telephone - Black (Electronics)
I've given this phone 4* as it is an excellent phone for the price, boasting a remarkable battery life and an exceptional charging time to start with. Initially I did have a few problems with battery and SIM insertion, but I managed to overcome them eventually. The instruction book is much to be desired, but to open the back, locate the cover which can be found along the leading edge just above the camera lens. Gently lift the cover slightly using your finger nail, then gripping the cover at the leading edge and camera lens using thumb and fore-finger, slide the cover upwards. I had to secure the SIM card using a bit of TZ label tape over the top, ensuring a positive contact by rubbing the tape hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Phone, Good Price, 11 May 2012
This review is from: Bluechip Neon Sim Free Android Mobile Telephone - Black (Electronics)
Ive been using this for a while now and its really easy to use, i only use it for simply browsing, calls, text and MMS and suits my usage perfectly. The AGPS doesnt do alot for me and compared to my iPhone its not the quickest but still a nice handset

Really goood for international usage too!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor product even at this price, 23 Sep 2013
This review is from: Bluechip Neon Sim Free Android Mobile Telephone - Black (Electronics)
By all accounts this company no longer makes smartphones at all. There is no e-copy of the manual for the Neon available on their website and my e-mails to their support team were not answered. The english in their printed manual was so mangled as to be almost incomprehensible, and for a newcomer to Android that was a real handicap. Yes it works as a phone, although the response of the touch screen is very poor so the answer tab has to be tapped about 20 times just to answer the phone! Not an encouragement to use on a regular basis. If you need a phone for anything more than emergency use, this is not the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews