Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Life & Lines Of Brandon Block(Official Biography)
They are more than enough books on the market Today about your so called ''Superstar D.Js'' But this is no ordinary high profile D.J and certainly not a Superstar D.J Because by Brandon's own admission he's never been one to follow trends he has always done his own thing. Played to what the crowd wants. More an entertainer than a Superstar D.J.The book as the title...
Published 22 months ago by Stewy.Middlesbrough.

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MONSTER MASH
Hmmmmm.Are all the reviews here written by Brandon's mates or something?Maybe.I came to this book from a pretty sensationalist perspective I wanted to gorge on stories of stupendous drug abuse,someone living on the edge in ways my pedestrian life doesn't allow.I am partial to a bit of techno and house but that's about it.
Now Brandon seems like a nice enough fella...
Published 13 months ago by mister joe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MONSTER MASH, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hmmmmm.Are all the reviews here written by Brandon's mates or something?Maybe.I came to this book from a pretty sensationalist perspective I wanted to gorge on stories of stupendous drug abuse,someone living on the edge in ways my pedestrian life doesn't allow.I am partial to a bit of techno and house but that's about it.
Now Brandon seems like a nice enough fella but this bio is not much cop.There is virtually no depth even when Brandon is close to death,no insight....anything remotely of interest is discarded,its weird...
Brandon will allude to something like "oh our relationship fell apart,i wasn't in a good place soz Sharon".We are not told what happened.He just apologises.Fair enough but as a reader its pitiful.
Essentially I found this book consisted of lists....lists of pals with silly names Larry The Lion,Tony The Tiger....names that pretty much mean nothing to readers.In terms of descriptions its "top bloke","great lass"...Then its lists of gigs.
Oh and the completely annoying use of explanation marks!!!
"Brandon nearly died coz we all know how much he loved the nosebag!!!!"
By halfway through I wanted to give up but I am not wasting my twelve squid.I thought this was going to be an exciting,visceral ride through clubland.More like standing in a pub garden.On a cold,rainy Monday night.
Music I thought would have provided a pulse but even that's written in the most limited of fashions.
This is a badly written book offering just a very casual glance at Block or "Blocko" or "Blocky".
I really liked the cover,Block looks pretty cool but he just seems like a nice chap.He did use to have a column for The Star,i imagine this book is like a patchwork of those.
Way too blokey for me.I advise save your money and maybe read a book that covers the history of dance or something along those lines.
OI!OI!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Life & Lines Of Brandon Block(Official Biography), 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They are more than enough books on the market Today about your so called ''Superstar D.Js'' But this is no ordinary high profile D.J and certainly not a Superstar D.J Because by Brandon's own admission he's never been one to follow trends he has always done his own thing. Played to what the crowd wants. More an entertainer than a Superstar D.J.The book as the title suggests chronicles Brandon Blocks battle with ''The nosebag'' as well as his long D.J Career from his humble beginnings Djing in his Local Pub To at his peak Djing around the World. Inc his exploits in Ibiza with his Pal Alex P.The things that these two get up to defies belief! One thing that i got from reading the book was that Brandon comes across as a genuine guy not pretentious as you may have thought.He has turned his life around by staying clean and at the end of the day someone as mad as Brandon doesn't need drugs to have a good time. A great read which i hardly put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring beyond belief, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While i understand that autobiographies are supposed to be self-indulgent drivel, this book really took the biscuit. Boring as hell without as much as a funny passage in the entire book. I've read a few autobiographies and there's a thin line between brilliant and appauling. This fell into the latter category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Who are you - I can't remember ever clambering to ..., 6 July 2014
Who are you - I can't remember ever clambering to a night club to listen to your music back in the day, we can all came to be there at the start of the movement, self proclaimed dj superstar famous for one thing, the nose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting read, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Lines Of Brandon Block (Kindle Edition)
Real insight into the "highs" and lows of a DJ a life,no doubting blockos pioneer tag and great to seem him come through the other side of some dark days...hilariously funny stories throughout as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old skol, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brandon Block is known to me from his Djing years ago and after dragging my self to The Rainbow club one Saturday night... His set was no different to the days I'd seen him in Ibiza....so the book just gives you a idea of the life of a super DJ ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the read, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Lines Of Brandon Block (Kindle Edition)
Bought the book for a holiday read and can't remember putting it down. Coming from a clubbing background back in the day this was a perfect insight into the madness of his antics and he didn't hold back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read bought back memories, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Emma Johnson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a must read for any clubber or person interested in the dance music history. I'm a fan of Brandon Block and seen him perform many times. So i was excited to read this. Most defo worth while one of the best autobios i have read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Life and Lines of Brandon Block, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Lines Of Brandon Block (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book highly recommend if you love the Rave scene and The Superstar DJ!!
The book is hilarious and well written cannot believe Brandon Block can remember the things he has done A+++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reflection of the Up's and Down's OF A DJ's life, 15 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Life and Lines Of Brandon Block (Kindle Edition)
Having been into the house music revolution from it's inception and a DJ From 1992-2005 myself playing some of the clubs Brandon Block reflects on, this was a must have book. It's always a good thing to hear another DJ's perception of the honeymoon period of of house and the rave revolution. However that's where the comparison stops. Where as I was DJ ing for a hobby that earned me some extra cash, I kept it that way for my 13 years on the decks even though I had the pleasure of playing at some festivals and superclubs. For Brandon Block, it became his life. I always followed the trials and tribulations of the Big DJ's and the likes of Mixmag, Muzik Magazine and DJ Mag and was more than aware of Brandon Blocks "Caner" status and reputation and although seen by many as a hero for it, I doubt many knew about the personal battle that Brandon had with Cocaine and the fact that it nearly killed him. This book is a superb read for anyone who was part of the house and rave revolutions of the late 80's through to the late 90's, taking in all the superclubs such as The Ministry, Gatecrasher and Cream as well as the Island that Brandon Block set alight with Alex P in the early 90's. It's a great real life story of the bad boy come good. It's riveting and I struggled to put it down at times wondering what Brandon was gonna get up to next. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Life and Lines Of Brandon Block
4.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews