Customer Reviews


405 Reviews
5 star:
 (256)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The origin of undead-stories!
The legend of dracula has intrigued people for hundreds of years and Transylvania is still a mythical place, fearde by many. especially at night... Bram Stoker would have abhorred the sickeningly bad attempts at retelling the story on the white screen, even if every director boasts "back to the original" intentions. The only effect the films have had -strangely...
Published on 9 Jan 2001

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The grandaddy of an entire genre
Bram Stoker's 'Dracula' is probably one of the most influential (and therefore possibly one of the most important) books ever. Apart from the numerous direct imitators (from Anne Rice to 'Count Duckula') the seeds of 100 years of the horror genre are sown in this book.
The story is familiar to everyone, although perhaps not in all its details, but this doesn't in any...
Published on 3 July 2003 by Depressaholic


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The origin of undead-stories!, 9 Jan 2001
By A Customer
The legend of dracula has intrigued people for hundreds of years and Transylvania is still a mythical place, fearde by many. especially at night... Bram Stoker would have abhorred the sickeningly bad attempts at retelling the story on the white screen, even if every director boasts "back to the original" intentions. The only effect the films have had -strangely enough- have been to make the original story so much better!! We know more about the undead, stakes, garlic than did Stoker's first readers and this only makes the plot more intriguing. The book is partly composed of letters from different characters to other, which is a clever way of increasing the suspense, as the reader is the only person with all the answers...
It's an absolute must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very surprised by this book, 14 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. Jj Mott (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dracula (Kindle Edition)
i downloaded this ebook as an excuse to play with my new prezzie!! and because it was free, after it was downloaded i read it first out of all the downloaded books mainly to get it "out the way" how wrong was i!!! this is probally one of the best books i have ever read the whole story builds pace as you go along and the last third i could not put down anyone out there want a fun very well written brilliant story read this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scarily good!, 18 Sep 2006
This review is from: Dracula (Hardcover)
I started reading this unsure of what to expect...and had finished it within 3 days, as I was unable to put it down! It goes almost straight into the story and the action starts immediately. It is also interesting that the book is written completely in letters, journal entries and so forth. The characters are interesting, especially the count himself, and it seems quite real at times (I found myself closing all my windows and checking my room for vampires).

My only complaint was that I found that the book ended quite abruptly...the story was excellent and it prepared me for a huge, wonderful ending...and then never presented it. The book ended awfully suddenly in comparison to the rest of the book which was excellent.

HOWEVER despite this, I still recommend this as its a great read and the book looks great with the red cover. Recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story of a vampire-beast, 20 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This is the first novel on vampires and their existence in the folklore of Rumania. Written by Bram Stocker in 1897 it is a vivid story of the dark forces, the forces of evil that so much are discussed in our times. Count Dracula is the undead itself representing a plague that takes the lifes of the innocent leaving their souls damned to live in the night. The undead drink the blood of their victims so as to live theirselves and this picture is the one that this novel describes. Written in the way diaries are written it begins on the 3d of May, we don't know the year and ends on the 6th of November. The surroundings are those of the gothic novel. Castles and grotesque air of the places that it takes place. Transylvania in Rumania and 19th century London that are dominated by the undead count and his whereabouts. Long night descriptions and a group of people trying to save the beautiful Mina who the count is trying to turn into his bride. It is no strange the fact that it has been the original that so many times it was shot in film, most of the times though unsuccessfully, beacuse in the journals of the 15th century and forth the story of vampires drinking blood was a story so many times told and written. A nice book for the fans of gothic literature and those that are fascinated by the grotesque.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favourite books ever, 22 Mar 2007
By 
J. B. Stapleton (Gravesend, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dracula is without doubt the prime vampire novel. Bram Stoker writes with tension and passion, forfeiting overly gruesome images for restless tension. This novel is a must for lovers of 'horror', but equally can be read as a historic representation of late 19th Century culture. A literary classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 110 Years On - Still a Best Seller., 2 July 2006
By 
Jodi Dougan "Jodi" (Ballygowan) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Next year is the 110th anniversary of the publication of Dracula. Dracula, or Count Dracula, is probably the most famous vampire of them all. After one hundred years, Dracula is so ingrained into vampire mythology that when we think vampires - we think Dracula.

You could argue that the reason for this began with F.W. Murnau's film Nosferatu. Although the main character, wonderfully portrayed by Max Schreck, is referred to as Count Orlok - the viewing public were not fooled! Thousands of fans knew Murnau was telling the Dracula story! And so began a phenomenon, Dracula is now the most portrayed character in the horror genre - beating the likes of Frankenstein - and notching up over 160 portrayals. Most notable of these, apart from the previously mentioned Max Schreck, include those by: Bela Lugosi, Christopher Lee and, more recently, Gary Oldman.

So, does this explain the unbelievable success of the Dracula novel? Are the scores of portrayals serving as huge advertising campaigns? Is this the reason why one hundred years on thousands of copies of Dracula are still being sold? Of course not!

Bram Stoker's Dracula completely captured the imagination of the reading public. One of the reasons for this is that it is not written like a novel - one unknown voice telling you a story. Stoker's Dracula is told to us by many voices all of which are characters within Dracula. The protagonists tell us the story through diary entries, newspaper clippings and letters. This style of story telling adds to our fear while reading, as it immerses us in the character's plight and gives us the impression that these events could be based on truth. You may think this last statement ludicrous and it probably is, but the fact that we have never found the burial place of Vlad Dracula (Vlad the Impaler), only adds to an air of uncertainty. When you are alone at night, a copy of Dracula on the bedside table, the wind and rain pelting against the windowpane, what seems ridiculous in cold light of day seems only the more real with the unexplained noises that occur during the night.

One of the most interesting reasons why Dracula has survived the test of time is quite simply; it is the ancestor of all vampire novels. All other vampire stories are descendants of it, even Anne Rice, who refers to Dracula in one of her novels as the, "vulgar fictions of a demented Irishman," cannot dispute that her novels are descended from it.

How do we know that every vampire novel is descended from Bram Stoker's? The reason is simple, Stoker set down a list of vampire rules, and every book that followed after has used these rules. These rules may have been reinterpreted but still today, most stay remarkably true to Stoker's original vampire laws. Stakes through the heart, fear of religious symbols, sleeping in coffins- these are all Bram Stoker's ideas. All modern portrayals of vampires and vampire slayers use Stoker's story as a benchmark, or something to aspire too. You could even argue that Buffy the Vampire Slayer's watcher is a modern interpretation of Van Helsing.

Stoker was also the first person to coin the term "Un-Dead," used to this day by fiction writers to refer to vampires or zombies. Not many writers have ever achieved the accolade of inventing a word that becomes automatically absorbed into the English language.

In conclusion, if you are a avid reader looking to read one of the classics, you can't go wrong with Bram Stoker's Dracula, and like wise if you are aspiring horror writer- make it first on your list of books to read and inspire you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for study, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Amy Harding "Literature Lion" (Cardiff University, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a fantastic edition for anyone studying Dracula at University level as it includes a great deal of essays and additional information at the back of the book. It is this factor that makes it so expensive though, so if you just want to read the book i'd get a cheaper edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The grandaddy of an entire genre, 3 July 2003
Bram Stoker's 'Dracula' is probably one of the most influential (and therefore possibly one of the most important) books ever. Apart from the numerous direct imitators (from Anne Rice to 'Count Duckula') the seeds of 100 years of the horror genre are sown in this book.
The story is familiar to everyone, although perhaps not in all its details, but this doesn't in any way detract from reading the book. It is incredibly atmospheric (especially the first half, when Dracula is still a somewhat mysterious and seemingly invincible foe). The scenes in Transylvania and Whitby are genuinely spooky and although we know that the vampire Dracula is behind it all, the ignorance of the characters leads to a feeling akin to the helplessness you feel in the cinema when you just want to warn them what is coming next, but can't. This cinematic feeling runs through the book, perhaps because it has been so imitated, but also because of the slightly hammy feel of the whole thing. This is not a book with a deep underlying philosophy (such as 'Frankenstein') but a very simple David versus Goliath, good versus evil theme. The only message is that dead people who walk around killing live people are bad. It is truly the progenitor of all schlock horror.
No-one would accuse Stoker of being a great writer. The book does lose some atmosphere when Van Helsing starts to plot Dracula's downfall (i.e. as soon as the vampire becomes less than invincible) and tries clumsily to maintain it by Mina Harker's slide towards undead status and the resultant race against time. Stoker's characters are also heavily romanticised, with the men repeatedly declaring their platonic love for the 'wonderful' women (who don't do feminism a power of good) and breaking down in tears at the beauty and horror of it all. His attempts to report local dialect are awful, saved only by the fact that because the story is told in diary form, we can blame the diarists rather than Stoker himself. The diary entries also stretch credulity but sumltaneously lend a little gravitas as Stoker pretends that they are real records of the events. Finally the ending is huge anticlimax, with a protracted chase lasting nearly 100 pages finsihing up in a confrontation between Dracula and his pursuers which lasts barely 2 pages.
This is a real B-movie of a book but, like a good B-movie, it sucks you in to its style and ends up being more satisfying than a badly done A-movie. It should be read for the first 100 pages alone, and so that you discover where all those myths come from. It is deservedly imitated, and a classic because of its style, rather than content. Read this, then go and watch 'Evil Dead', or anything starring Vincent Price and you can see instantly where it all came from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dracula Case Study, 18 Mar 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This edition of the origional text contains a variety of essays and additional information that are valuable for studies of the novel. Included are biographical and contextual information that provide indepth and helpful accounts of Stoker's life and the origins of Dracula. The collection of essays look at the novel in relation to a variety of critical approaches, including psychoanalysis, new historicism and deconstruction. This edition has been very benificial and enlightening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful limited edition, 24 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful edition of a classic novel, beautifully produced and presented. I was pleasantly surprised at how well this hardback book was packaged; it comes in a sturdy, red slipcase which is in turn housed in a nice, protective box. You would have to be extremely unlucky for this to be damaged in transit.

I don't really have much more to add to existing reviews, except to say that this really is a must-have edition if you are a collector or even if you just like the novel. I already have two other copies of Dracula and purchased this as an investment as it is sure to become a sought after item in years to come. I think this quality product is well worth the asking price.

Please take a look at the photos I submitted to get a better idea of what is included in this beautiful package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews