Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard-edged mix of espionage and extremism
This gritty Brit flick doesn't feature flashy car chases or helicopter chaos. There's minimal explosions and a contained bodycount. This isn't a Hollywood blockbuster. It's a thoughtful, thought-provoking thriller; shot at street level, gritty and violent, in a bleak and barren current-day London

Cleanskin features a sterling performance from Sean Bean as a...
Published on 24 April 2012 by Rowena Hoseason

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More thriller/drama than action movie but still good
A small British thriller that looks at the hard issue of extremist terrorism in the current world.

What could have been controversial is handled surprisingly well, as both sides are given screen time, and some justification, although clearly terrorism is not justified, the film does at least attempt to show how young men may be led astray to do suicide...
Published on 4 July 2012 by chelios1981


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not bad no likeable characters plenty of violence movie keeps up a decent pace Sean Bean is ok but looks uninterested at times nothing standout if cheap worth a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Out of time...., 8 Nov 2013
Ewan is a British Secret Service Agent faced with the task of pursuing and eliminating a British born suicide bomber Ash and his terrorist cell

Whilst the narrative that centres around Ash is him wrestling with his conscience and reflecting on his journey to terrorism.

I was expecting a sub terrorist thriller with Bean running around shooting people and spouting one liners, that's just me growing up in the eighties.

What I got was a lovely little movie that centres around Ash, and showing the viewer just how he became to turn against his country and his people, it's almost as if the makers want us to sympathise with him, in sense it works, but then the other people who are with him are portrayed as the most despicable people seen in the film.

The film flits between Bean, who has made some sort of connection with a job and Ash, flashbacks of Ash at uni and being drawn in.

It's really made well, and pulls no punches with its subject matter, and it's very, very violent. Not in your face violent, but the camera doesn't draw away for the viewer.

Bean is fantastic as usual, and he really doesn't get to say a lot, he spends the majority of the film shouting and punching people.

The ending is a bit dour, but other than that, it's a fine movie, cruelly ignored on its theatrical release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cleanskin dvd, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cleanskin - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Arrived in good time and just as described. I found this to be quite a good film and well worth a look, the only thing that put me off slightly is Sean Beans character. The part he plays is an ex regiment soldier turned undercover operative. Anyone in real life who makes as many basic mistakes would last about five minutes in that line of work. I don't know if they had any military advisers on this film but if they did god knows what they did in their military service because everything the character does is so wrong. I know it will not bother most people but for me if you make a film about a subject like this then at least make sure the main character gets at least some of the basics right. Sean Bean as ever does a good job with the part he plays and the film is well laid out in respect of showing both sides and how people can become pawns in someone else's beliefs. All in all a good watchable film and I'm sure the things that I've pointed out will not bother most people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Film, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A concise action thriller which holds the plot, but the low budget aspect is noticable. A good way to pass a couple of hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film intelligent worth a veiw., 8 July 2013
By 
E. W. Sharman (Ilford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought this film a cut above the usual type of terrorist thriller, it has depth and believer able characters worth a view. As ever a good performance from Sean Bean his ability to portray world weariness is far too good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit bleak, 6 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a big fan I bought this purely because it had Sean Bean in. It's a bit bleak but watchable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cleanskin, 23 Mar 2013
By 
P. Kwiatkowski (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sean Bean for me is good in everything he does,this dvd is one you must get! it kept me really interested and one to watch over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard hitting action-drama, 21 Feb 2013
A British film about suicide bombers in London is most likely to be too dark (and a little too much like real life) to be a mainstream success, so many people may be forgiven for never hearing about Cleanskin.

Sean Bean plays a Secret Service agent on the trail of a suicide bomber cell in Britain. What could be quite a clichéd film actually turns out pretty good. It's partly divided up into two separate stories - one detailing Sean's quest to track down the cell and the other showing the terrorists themselves. Perhaps the best part of the film even relates to the terrorists. While Sean is your typical no-nonsense tough guy (think Liam Neeson in the Taken films), the terrorists are actually pretty well thought out characters - no `True Lies' clichéd Arab terrorists here. It takes something pretty well written to make you have sympathy with a terrorist one minute, then be revolted by his actions the next, plus even weave in a convincing love story into the mix.

I won't go into too many details about the film's plot, as there are a few twists and turns you might not see coming. Just rest assured, if you're looking for a decent action/drama (with plenty of splendid shots of London from above!) then give Sean and co a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nicely done..... weak story, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again a pretty good film as far as overall production is concerned.
But the holes in the plot are so annoying that these kind of movies seem
to be made for the foolish and simple-minded only......
(for example: they hunt terrorists with a two-man team without back-up? they
storm a house with handguns (together... the two guys) instead of using snipers?
..... you get the idea.... silly stuff!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH IT, 4 Oct 2012
By 
Andrea Dean "andrea" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
GREAT DVD SEAN BEAN PLAYS AWESOME PART IN THIS MOVIE. WELL WORTH A WATCH MADE UP YOUR OWN REVIEWS AND I`D SAY WORTH HAVING IN YOUR DVD COLLECTION
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cleanskin - Triple Play (Blu-ray + DVD + UV Copy) [2012] [Region Free]
£4.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews