Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, Performance, analyse your options.
The new Samsung 840 series has just been released, however the Samsung 830 series is still currently a better buy for your money as it stands.

If you upgrading your SSD and already have either a 830 or SSD of similar performance consider moving up to at least the Samsung 840 series PRO to make it worth while.

The performance of the 256GB models is...
Published on 6 Nov. 2012 by Eagleuk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I like it
took a month before I got it, but works well plus Samsung offered £50 cash back
and that takes 3 months and still no cashback
Published on 6 Dec. 2012 by spacom


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value, Performance, analyse your options., 6 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Samsung 256GB 830 SSD SATA 6GBPS 2.5 inch Basic Kit (Accessory)
The new Samsung 840 series has just been released, however the Samsung 830 series is still currently a better buy for your money as it stands.

If you upgrading your SSD and already have either a 830 or SSD of similar performance consider moving up to at least the Samsung 840 series PRO to make it worth while.

The performance of the 256GB models is below so you can compare. (IOPS = In out Operations per Second)

Samsung 830 SSD | Read 520MB/s (IOPS 80k) Write 400MB/s (IOPS 36k)

Samsung 840 SSD | Read 540MB/s (IOPS 96k) Write 250MB/s (IOPS 62k)

Samsung 840 PRO SSD | Read 540 MB/s (IOPS 100k) Write 520MB/s (IOPS 90k)

As you can see the 840 has a much slower write speed; this is due to it using TLC NAND. The write speeds for the standard 840 is still adequate so is a great choice versus the cheaper 830s if you want a slightly higher read speed. If you do however require to be able to write a large amount of data on your SSD drive and you don't want to spend the extra money for the pro the 830 would be a much better choice giving all around great read and write speeds.

Overall to sum up, if you already have a 830 SSD upgrade to the 840 series PRO or stick with your current SSD.

If you upgrading from a much slower early SSD or are buying your first SSD drive, the 830 series would be an ideal choice and offers you the best value for money. However if your not cautious about money the go ahead and buy the Samsung 840 PRO SSD as it provides unrivalled performance.

Just as added information when using this SSD set your Motherboard Bios setting to AHCI for this drive.

Please note the Basic Kit will not include a 3.5" to 2.5" bracket, to install the SSD in a 3.5" slot in your pc you will have to purchase one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung 256GB 830 SSD Basic Kit, 12 Aug. 2012
By 
This review is from: Samsung 256GB 830 SSD SATA 6GBPS 2.5 inch Basic Kit (Accessory)
Samsung Solid State Drive 830 Series SATA 6Gb/s

The 256Gb "Basic Kit" is supplied in a slim box with a plastic inner tray containing the SSD.
The box states 3 year limited warranty, that the SSD is compatible with both Desktop and Laptop PCs, and that the SSD dimensions as 100 x 69.85 x 7mm

Being a "Basic Kit", no bracket is supplied, so for desktop (rather than laptop) use, some means of securing a 2.5" drive is required.

The box also contains a printed 'Quick User Manual' and a 'Samsung software & manual CD'.
The software CD includes Samsung's "Magician" SSD management software, along with Norton Ghost, a Quick User Manual and an Interactive Manual.

Samsung recommend that BIOS disk management is set to AHCI for optimum performance.

SSD installed in Lian Li A71F case using a Lian LI HD-321 3.5" to 2.5" adaptor/bracket, with Asus Sabertooth X58 motherboard.
BIOS disk management set to AHCI prior to 'clean' installation of Windows7 64bit.
Installation was smooth and uneventful. SSD is (silent and) noticeably faster than previously installed HDD (WD Velocitaptor).
SSD used as OS drive, with HDD for documents and games.

Samsung "Magician" software updated to v3.1 and used for 'OS Optimization' which disabled Super Fetch, Defragmentation, Indexing Service, and applied Samsung power schema.
Software also used to remove Windows installation temporary files 'Temporary file cleanup'.

Ultimate satisfaction shall be from proven longevity and reliability.
But for now, so far so good, so pleased, and so recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast, 29 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 256GB 830 SSD SATA 6GBPS 2.5 inch Basic Kit (Accessory)
There's not much you say about this, I've had it as my primary drive in my 2011 Macbook Pro for 6 months, no problems. It's noticeabley faster than the original HDD and it's silent of course. I can highly recommend teaming this up with a 1TB HDD and removing the optical bay. You may not have a retina screen - but you will have over 1200Gb of storage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Samsung 256GB SSD Installed in Macbook late 2008 Aluminium 2.4Ghz Unibody, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 256GB 830 SSD SATA 6GBPS 2.5 inch Basic Kit (Accessory)
Hello potential Samsung SSD buyers. Thought I'd write my first Amazon review, mainly to help other people who are wondering if it's worth upgrading their macbook or purchasing a new one...

I installed the new SSD in a matter of minutes and did a fresh install of Mountain Lion. (I made a bootable USB Mountain Lion disk before installing the SSD). Once this was done I immediately noticed the increased performance! Now boot times of around 30 seconds, vs previously well over a minute (and a half). When macbook runs out of battery and is plugged in again it starts straight away like when it was new. Applications load instantaneously, and can now for the first time in ages be very productive and do all the work I want without becoming frustrated, which is what I was experiencing before the upgrade.

It's been a couple of months since installing it and I'm still enjoying the upgrade. Has given Macbook a new lease of life, so it's good for another year at least!

I bought a 32GB flash memory from Sandisk (Extreme) that I use with this as I don't want to fill the SSD up too much.

One thing worth noting too is that I already had 8GB RAM installed (from Crucial Memory).

Hope this review helps in your decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ssd with good speed and price, 22 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 256GB 830 SSD SATA 6GBPS 2.5 inch Basic Kit (Accessory)
I was skeptical on Samsung SSD products, till i got this one...
It's a game changer, successfully replacing 2 wd 7200RPM in raid 0 :)
Overall the PC speed increased by 2-300%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong after a year, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 256GB 830 SSD SATA 6GBPS 2.5 inch Basic Kit (Accessory)
Super quick and good price. It replaced the awful awful OCZ SSD I had. And three times quicker. very happy with it. I like the samsung magician software also that helps optimize the drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best upgrade ever, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 256GB 830 SSD SATA 6GBPS 2.5 inch Basic Kit (Accessory)
This SSD was easy to install (i bought a caddy for it to go into the dvd drive bay on my laptop as the OS and programs drive) and its lighting fast, computer boots up in 20 seconds and very responsive. not had any trouble with it and its been 8 months since i installed it, brilliant purchase, worth every penny. this would be easily the most noticeable upgrade on any computer using a traditional hard drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new lease of life, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 256GB 830 SSD SATA 6GBPS 2.5 inch Basic Kit (Accessory)
Without going in to benchmarks and technical details, this SSD has given my PC a new lease of life, I no longer have time to make a cuppa while my PC boots! To be fair, formatting my old mechanical HDD and reinstalling Windows would have sped things up a bit, but that is only ever temporary as boot times get slower and slower. I've had this SSD over a year now and it's still going strong, even without a regular cleanup/format. Boot times are reduced significantly, along with programs and games loading at least twice the speed. Very pleased I purchased an SSD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Installed in Macbook 2010, 8 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Samsung 256GB 830 SSD SATA 6GBPS 2.5 inch Basic Kit (Accessory)
The disk itself: Brilliant. I've got an 830 in another machine and they are rock solid. I'd give it 5 stars on Windows, 4 for the Mac or Linux. Hence this score. If you can see a difference in Performance between an 830 and an 840 Pro you are either running some kid of performance test or doing something really serious. This is superior to an 840 or 840 EVO in terms of reliability due to the NAND Flash used.

Use in a Mac. My drive seems to have the latest firmware so no worries: Just as well since I believe the only way to upgrade the firmware is to temporarily put it in a Windows machine. I've tried Samsung's bootable firmware for the Mac and Linux in the past. Just doesn't work! Only Samsung's Windows only Magician can be used.

Included cloning software for Windows users (Norton Ghost): Use something else! I mean no harm in trying but don't be surprised if it fails. Carbon Copy Cloner for Mac is a free trial and more reliable.

To enable TRIM on the Mac visit this site: [...]

You're welcome to try alternatives but believe me this is the best way. Just paste the code into Terminal to avoid getting it wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this if you run OSX, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Samsung 256GB 830 SSD SATA 6GBPS 2.5 inch Basic Kit (Accessory)
If you have a mac, I would advise people to steer well clear of this. Got it in the post, installed it, copied over the harddrive, restored it from time machine, got into my mac finally after a few hours and it was slower than before. It got the dreaded 'beachball' (swirly mac logo) several times in the first day which essentially means it had crashed. So it was crashing 5-6 times a day if not more while I was performing simple tasks like going on instagram and facebook. Pathetic.

I was told that in order to fix these issues I needed to install the firmware update for the drive, so I tried to do this, but Samsung and Apple do not play nice together. Firstly there is no straight firmware update application for mac like there is for Windows, which is s***ty. Secondly, I put the ISO image as instructed onto a CD and burnt the CD. I thought it would work fine but when I tried to boot from the CD to install the firmware the CD appeared and it was called "Windows"....... I facepalmed at this moment as I knew it wasn't going to work and there would be no hope for me as a mac user.

I managed to get into the DOS on the ISO but it gave me an error message, so I just gave up in the end and put my old Crucial back in as the SSD. Crucial are not a stupid company unlike Samsung, and as they realize that alot of mac owners need SSD firmware updates, they have created them in a much more intelligent fashion.

DO NOT BUY IF YOUR USING AN APPLE PRODUCT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews