Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BBC doing what it does best
While I thoroughly enjoyed Walking With Dinosaurs & its various spin-offs, I personally felt it was slightly too orientated towards family entertainment & that there was some scope for a bit more scientific content. In Planet Dinosaur, the balance is perfect - once again, we see CGI monsters hunting & fighting but this time, get brief explanations of where such species...
Published on 22 Oct 2011 by Sam Woodward

versus
77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good - but less than a third of the series!
I pre-ordered this as soon as I saw it was on the Amazon books (12-4-2012) as we have a 3D system & our son loves dinosaurs - and we all loved the Planet Dinosaur broadcasts, and had already bought the series on ONE standard Blu-Ray disc (with a second disc with a bonus feature in standard definition).
So, after waiting more than 4 months for this 3D version, we were...
Published on 25 Aug 2012 by S. Bullman


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BBC doing what it does best, 22 Oct 2011
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planet Dinosaur [DVD] (DVD)
While I thoroughly enjoyed Walking With Dinosaurs & its various spin-offs, I personally felt it was slightly too orientated towards family entertainment & that there was some scope for a bit more scientific content. In Planet Dinosaur, the balance is perfect - once again, we see CGI monsters hunting & fighting but this time, get brief explanations of where such species roamed, their size compared to humans, etc. Also, many scenes have been directly correlated back to actual fossils - for instance, if we see a predator bite its prey in the neck, we are then told that a fossil with such an injury was actually found. Thus we are reassured that such scenes are plausible & not merely thrown in to entertain.

As the introduction says, "we're living through the golden age of dinosaur discoveries. All over the world, a whole new generation of dinosaurs has been revealed." As such, the focus is on newly discovered dinosaurs which laymen like myself may never have heard of before. These include predators even larger than Tyrannosaurus Rex, the gargantuan Argentinosaurus (wonder where they found that one?!) & recently discovered feathered dinosaurs, including a massive ostrich-like creature which was "like finding a mouse the size of an elephant."

Compared to Walking With Dinosaurs, there's more content, more new material, the CGI is better quality & it's still presented in a package which is entertaining for the whole family. John Hurt's narration is also superb. It's a fine example of the BBC doing what it does best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 84 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good - but less than a third of the series!, 25 Aug 2012
By 
S. Bullman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Dinosaur (Blu-ray 3D) [2012] (Blu-ray)
I pre-ordered this as soon as I saw it was on the Amazon books (12-4-2012) as we have a 3D system & our son loves dinosaurs - and we all loved the Planet Dinosaur broadcasts, and had already bought the series on ONE standard Blu-Ray disc (with a second disc with a bonus feature in standard definition).
So, after waiting more than 4 months for this 3D version, we were keen to see it when it arrived the other day.
It IS good from the 3D viewpoint.
BUT
This isn't a 3D version of the series.
The original series had 6 episodes, total 174 minutes, ie 29 mins each
(Lost World,Feathered Dragons,Last Killers,Fight For Life,New Giants & The Great Survivors)
This 3D disc has ONE 53 min feature, "Ultimate Killers", which, on one viewing, seems to be an amalgam of series bits/narration, albeit in 3D.

Both Blu-Ray discs packages are called "Planet Dinosaur", this one has the addition of "3D" (OK, a different background picture) - so when I ordered this I was expecting it would be the same 6 episodes with the same soundtrack and video footage replaced with 3D-rendered output from original CGI computer runs.

I'll forgive not getting the original "How To Build A Dinosaur" 59 min extra feature not being here, but I got less than a third of the Planet Dinosaur footage (what I thought I was paying for) - which is LESS than the bonus feature on the standard 2D Blu-Ray.

I feel cheated, especially as BOTH version are summed up as follows :
"Presenting a brand-new global perspective on the prehistoric era, the series recreates the creatures, their habitats and how they lived, from analysing their bones to watching them fight to the death."

Note that they both say "the series". For the 3D edition, that is a LIE.

I'm toying with sending this back, as I wouldn't be surprised if, later, there will appear another version - "Full original series in 3D" - which I what I thought I'd pre-ordered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant 3D, Excellent Documentary. Fantastic Product!, 20 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Dinosaur (Blu-ray 3D) [2012] (Blu-ray)
I am a huge fan of 3D films and documentaries and have only a few at the moment, with also a passion and a very huge interest in Dinosaurs, I had a lot of expectations for this film, and I was indeed very impressed, even though I have not watched the original Planet Dinosaur series.

The information given in this documentary is easily explained and the way it has been presented with CGI was brilliant and after watching it I have learnt quite a lot about prehistoric life. John Hurt makes an excellent narrator especially for something like this documentary. So overall I recommend this film for anybody who has an interest in Dinosaurs.

The 3D side of this documentary was outstanding and breathtaking. Being a huge fan of 3D this film ticked all the right boxes for me. The depth is perfect and seeing those creatures come out at you in 3D was fantastic, not just things coming out but beautiful CGI landscapes was perfectly set in the back of the screen, watching this in the dark felt like I was there.

Overall, very pleased with what the BBC have accomplished and I do hope in the near future they produce more like this.

Just to let you know this is not the series of Planet Dinosaur, this is just a 50-55 minute spin-off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly good, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My daughter and I both love dinosaur program's and usually always stick to BBC produced shows and the American ones are not as good.
This is the best of the lot, it's far better than walking with dinosaurs the John Hurt voice over is superb, the Dinosaurs look truly leagues ahead digitally of anything else iv scene in any other dino v based box set.
We own all the BBC dinosaur based box sets and prehistoric park ones etc... And only planet dinosaur gets played again and again and again....if you only get one box for yourself or your kids. Get this it's streets ahead of the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good series with some fascinating information, 26 Dec 2011
By 
Beedo Sookcool (Torbay, Devonshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Dinosaur [DVD] (DVD)
Recently shown on the BBC, this 2-disc set contains all six episodes of the CGI documentary series that highlights recent discoveries about the Mesozoic world, as well as a "behind the scenes" documentary on a second disc. Admittedly, as some people have pointed out, this series does not contain the best computer animation possible. It DOES, however, contain better CGI material than I've seen in several other places; it's very good, just not mega-budget cinema quality. However, it's not so much the digital dinos that matter in this series, it's the discoveries and theories that are brought to light.

Episode 1, "The Lost World," covers Saharan Africa, which has once again started to yield interesting insights into the lives of its dinosaurs. The bulk of the episode is devoted to two giant predators, Spinosaurus and Charcharodontosaurus, as well as their prey, environment, and a few of the other creatures that live alongside them.

Episode 2, "Feathered Dragons," focuses on the strange feathered dinosaurs being uncovered in the Far East, especially China and Mongolia. See such marvels as the four-winged "biplane dinosaur" Microraptor, its venomous cousin Sinornithosaurus, the bizarre, long-armed, aye-aye-like Epidexipteryx which uses its chisel-like front teeth and extra-long fingers to get insects out of trees, and the strange Gigantoraptor, an oviraptor that's bigger than the local tyrannosaurs.

Episode 3, "Last Killers," features the famous tyrannosaurs (which dominated the northern hemisphere continents), and the abelisaurs, which were the top predators in the lands of the southern hemisphere (and which looked a bit like a cross between a dinosaur and a pit-bull). Watch a pack of Daspletosaurus hunt, see the cannibalistic fury of the Madagascan Majungasaurus, and find out what fills the top predatory niches when you go too far north for most tyrannosaurs to be comfortable with the cold.

Episode 4, "Fight for Life," deals with new discoveries in predator/prey relationships. In Europe, we see the plesiosaur Kimmerosaurus try not to become lunch for the massive pliosaur known as "Predator X," a relative of the Liopleurodon. In North America, we find a mixed-species herd of Camptosaurus and Stegosaurus work together to increase their chances of survival against predators like Allosaurus and Saurophaganax. Also, to prove that scientists like a laugh as much as the next person, the tail end of Stegosaurus now seems to have been officially dubbed "the thagomizer," paying homage to a certain 1982 panel of "The Far Side" by famed nerd cartoonist Gary Larson, who is a favourite amongst scientists.

Episode 5, "New Giants," shows us the colossal South American Argentinosaurus and its predators, Skorpiovenator and Mapusaurus, as well as the African Paralititan and its nemeses, Charcharodontosaurus and Sarcosuchus. Also important to note: find out why, despite what you may have heard in a folk song long ago, you should never go walkin' in the footsteps of a sauropod.

Episode 6, "The Great Survivors," reveals some of the survival mechanisms that enabled dinosaurs to adapt and survive in a changing world. See the dwarf sauropod Magyarosaurus, a titanosaur not much bigger than a horse, the Hatzegopteryx, a ground-stalking pterosaur as tall as a giraffe, the carnivore-turned-vegetarian therizinosaur Nothronychus and its huge defensive claws, and the nesting behaviour of Gigantoraptor.

The extra behind-the-scenes documentary on the second disc, "How to Build a Dinosaur," is presented by Dr. Alice Roberts. Intelligent, competent, attractive, and charming, she also has what I find to be possibly THE MOST IRRITATING vowel-shifted accent I've ever heard in a TV presenter. The documentary is based around finding out how, in Dr. Roberts' own words, these "ore-inspiring" creatures "licked and meeved." Most of the time is spent on the reconstruction of a family of tyrannosaurs for a museum display, and how modern research techniques and comparative anatomy in modern animals help scientists visualise what dinosaurs were like as accurately as possible. This is also probably the only place where you'll get to see in close-up, during a dissection, an ostrich's vicious-looking finger-claw (something I never even knew existed), as well as the "tee tays" on its feet. At least she pronounces "dissection" correctly, which very few people do, so props to her on that.

On the downside, the editing is not as tight as that of previous similar series. We get told three times in the space of about ten minutes that Spinosaurus was 17 meters long, just in case we forgot the first couple of times we were told. John Hurt mispronounces a few of the creatures' names on occasion and it wasn't caught and corrected. He seems to have the most problem with Daspletosaurus, Troodon, and Epidexipteryx. Some of the subtitles don't match the audio track. The wrong words or incorrect spellings occasionally slip in, such as John Hurt saying "Zunityrannus," while the subtitles show "Sinotyrannus." Also, some of the little factoid frames don't match up with the narration. In one instance, the narration says Spinosaurus was discovered in 1912, while the pop-up factoid frame says 1915, for example. Although it is not explicitly mentioned in the series (but can be inferred from later episodes), the pop-up factoid frames list the year in which one specific fossil specimen was discovered, not the species itself.

Still, it's a fascinating new series with amazing new information for all palaeontology buffs young and old. Highly recommended, but with a grain of salt. The hardcover companion book for this series is also available here on Amazon, but it's mostly aimed at youngsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Jp Janse Van Rensburg (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I probably watched this 7 times already. It is very good. New Dinosaurs, new information and in glorious Blu-ray. The information is shared well and the CGI is gripping. This will add considerably to your knowledge of prehistoric life. What I also enjoyed was that less impressive species were covered in addition to the mega ones like Spinosaurus. Complex information like how two mega predators existed in Africa at the same time is also shared, and another awesome feature is how they came about said information. Truly well done hopefulle a season two will appear at some stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dino Documentary, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Ms. C. N. Barton-jones "CBJ" (Glos, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Planet Dinosaur [DVD] (DVD)
If you are looking for a 'Walking with Dinosaurs' type of series then you will be disappointed. This is much, much more than that, this is a documentary through and through, with evidence, dates, suggestions and facts - it's a brilliant, thought provoking series created from the most up to date information available. I would definately recommend it for anyone who is interested in the life of dinosaurs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Planet Dinosaur 3D [2012] [3D Blu-ray], 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Dinosaur (Blu-ray 3D) [2012] (Blu-ray)
Planet Dinosaur 3D [2012] [3D Blu-ray] ULTIMATE KILLERS!

Transporting viewers to locations across the globe and back in time through tens of millions of years, ‘Planet Dinosaur 3D’ brings to life the most awesome and amazing creatures that ever lived, rendered in visually stunning 3D technology. Most were discovered in the last 10 years and entailed a rewriting of the prehistory books.

Palaeontologists now know that dinosaurs spread to every part of the globe, and evolved in ways so monstrous, horrific and bizarre they make T Rex look very tame indeed. Unlike any dinosaur show before it and shot in stunning 3D CGI this is a completely immersive visual experience studded with curious facts and jaw-dropping action as well as charismatic monsters brought to life on screen. Presenting a brand-new global perspective on the prehistoric era, the series recreates the creatures, their habitats and how they lived, from analysing their bones to watching them fight to the death. Narration by John Hurt.

Director: Nigel Paterson

Producer: Nigel Paterson

Screenwriter: Nigel Paterson and Tom Brass

Graphics: Jellyfish

Composer: Ilan Eshkeri

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio

Subtitles: English SDH

Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1

Region: Region B/2

Running Time: 45 minutes

Number of discs: 1

Studio: 2|Entertain Video

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review – We've been fascinated with them for years - from Jurassic Park to the BBC Walking with Dinosaurs series. This 45 minute documentary was and still is a massive big hit, especially us in the United Kingdom it was originally broadcast on the BBC in a six part 30 minute programme.

‘Planet Dinosaur 3D’ is BBC documentary narrated by John Hurt that explores different time periods, namely Late Jurassic and Early, Middle, and Late Cretaceous, as well as a variety of regions in this period of Asia, Mongolia, Madagascar, Europe, North America, South and North Africa, and Romania.

Using high tech CGI recreations, we see an enormous amount of dinosaurs such as the Spinosaurus (which are bigger than a T-Rex), Onchopristis (giant fish), Ouranosaurus, Epidexipteryx, Carcharodontosaurus, Sauromithoides, Gigantoraptor, Microraptor, Xianglong, Sinomithosaurus, Jeholosaurus, Daspletosaurus, Chasmosaurus, Majungasaurus, Kimmerosaurus, Stegosaurus, Camptosaurus, Predator X, Allosaurus, Argentinosaurus, Skorpiovenator, Mapusaurus, Megyarosaurus, Hatzegopteryx, and more. The 45 minute documentary provides us with hunting, history, extinction, eating habits, and food chain information on the above listed dinosaurs as well.

When it comes to BBC history/documentary/nature productions, you know you are always going to be high quality and ‘Planet Dinosaur 3D’ is no exception. Instead of featuring bland interviews and or dopey recreations like we see with many TV documentaries, the crew of ‘Planet Dinosaur 3D’ goes all out here to make the series as informative and visually exciting as possible. As an added bonus, the series covers a lot of Dinosaurs people may not be familiar with which gives the series a fresh perspective. It’s always refreshing to see a documentary that doesn’t recycle old hashed material.

I’m a massive big fan of these CGI dinosaur specials, especially in the stunning 3D format, and above all else, they’re just fun to watch. The world of the dinosaurs is brought to life in vivid fashion in this program, with a feast of sights to soak in. The range of creatures showcased is impressive as well, especially since most of them are newly discovered. The animation isn’t going to challenge Pixar of course, but it looks terrific and the attention to detail is remarkable. As fun as it is to watch dinosaurs run around, ‘Planet Dinosaur 3D’ also aims to educate and it succeeds in that venue as well. The program is loaded with information about the dinosaurs and the world they lived in, presented in a way that manages to add to the entertainment value. But the real draw is of course being able to watch dinosaurs in the wild, even if it is via computer animation. ‘Planet Dinosaur 3D’ has some terrific visuals that showcase some exciting moments of dinosaur fun, so for dinosaur devotees. Summary: Whether seeing the dinosaurs in the land, air, or sea or learning about their possible evolution into birds, ‘Planet Dinosaur 3D’ is bound to capture your interest.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘Planet Dinosaur 3D’ is presented in 1.78:1 anamorphic widescreen. The 45 minute documentary looks terrific, and it makes a whole lot more of an experience when you put on your 3D glasses, then you gets to see a whole new aspect of this wonderful Blu-ray disc and makes the dinosaurs look so realistic. The visuals look good, with a lot of well detailed image and no real issues to contend with. The depth of field in the 3D image is totally awesome and the fine detail is also brilliant, especially when get up close to the scales on the giant dinosaurs. The colours are often lush, and the earth tones look good also, while contrast is stark and consistent. In the end, a more than capable visual treatment for your eyes, especially in the awesome 3D format, as the dinosaurs really do come alive and at times you think they are going to walk out of the screen into your lounge, definitely edge of your seat entertainment.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – The 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio soundtrack here is totally awesome, especially when the massive large dinosaurs roar out loud, and is a totally expansive presence you’d expect from dinosaur battles.

The audio surround is clean and sounds fine, with no errors I could detect. The elements come across well enough, but there isn’t that kick you’d want to hear from the roars and howls of the beasts. The narration and music sound good, but otherwise, this track could have used a surround boost, to be sure. This disc also includes English subtitles. But of course with the super smooth dulcet voice of John Hurt’s narration, certainly adds to the ambience of this 45 minute presentation.

Finally, obviously, if dinosaurs aren't your thing, then ‘Planet Dinosaur 3D’ will probably offer nothing to tempt you back into the giant-lizard-loving fold, but with this awesome Blu-ray 3D presentation, you will experience something totally unique and seeing the dinosaurs in 3D is so life like. There's also the feeling that no matter how up-to-date the info is with this Blu-ray and no matter how awesome the dinosaurs looks now, it will very soon be superseded by another documentary series with even newer information about how everything we currently think is wrong, but in the meantime this is the best on offer for this moment in time. ‘Planet Dinosaur 3D is totally awesome that gives you the viewers a good sense of where our knowledge about dinosaurs is at this moment in time. Combining nature-documentary styling with a competent narration from brilliant smooth-voiced John Hurt, ‘Planet Dinosaur 3D’ is sure to please budding archaeologists and older dinosaur fans alike and that is why it is a great pleasure to add this to my Blu-ray Collection. But sadly I feel they could have added some extras to make the Blu-ray disc so much more interesting, especially seeing behind the scene on how they produced the 3D dinosaurs on the computers, but at the know down price of £6.00, it was still worth purchasing. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY STUNNING 3D DOC, 22 Aug 2012
By 
Calum Gray "Calum Gray" (CHISWICK, LONDON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Dinosaur (Blu-ray 3D) [2012] (Blu-ray)
Having enjoyed watching the Planet Dinosaur series on BBC HD, and just upgrading to a 51" 3D plasma, I pre-ordered this as soon as I saw it.

This is a specially made 3D companion to the series (which I will now be getting too) that takes you on a journey through time explaining, in a very smart and in no way condecending way, the rise and ultimate fall of the dinosaurs.. specifically the agressive killing machines, some of which, make T Rex look like a pup in comparison.

The graphics are great and sit very nicely in the forward frame and give you great info on size and era etc. John Hurt's narrative is very easy on the ear and never gets boring. The CG landscapes are just beautiful and give great depth.
But to be honest, it's all about the dinosaurs really isnt it. And they do not disappoint. From the open and the introduction of our first dinosaur, my jaw dropped. Rendering is absolutely stunning. And the pop is just brilliant giving you the impression they are just through a window and are sticking their head through it.. so much so it makes you want to reach out and pet them.. probably not recomended though lol.

Overall a great hour long doc that really shows off your 3D TV at a great price.. So if you love this kind of documentary, want something stunning to show off your 3D tv with, or are just simply a dinosaur fan, then this is for you.

... well done the BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great attempt to link narrative with science, 19 Dec 2011
By 
KirkW1 "ozgal" (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planet Dinosaur [DVD] (DVD)
Like many other reviewers, I greatly appreciated Planet Dinosaur's efforts to introduce palaeontological evidence into the narrative: something that was sorely missing from Walking with Dinosaurs. Providing a better comparison of the different species and patterns of evolutionary change from different geographical locations (based on new discoveries in China, South America, Africa etc.) helped give a much better understanding of how dinosaurs lived and died (and why), as well as the current state of thinking regarding these animals.

I did not think that the CGI was nearly as poor as has been suggested, especially if you consider that much of the footage from Walking with Dinosaur was achieved using models against 'real life' landscapes. In Planet Dinosaur, on the other hand, the landscape itself is computer-generated, which is what may have led some viewers to comment on this aspect of the series.

I refrained from giving Planet Dinosaur a 5-star review for one reason only (which also drove me crazy with Walking with Dinosaurs)... and that is some of the behavioural 'guesswork' in the series.

For example: why do producers/directors of dinosaur documentaries insist on having the predator dinosaurs roar like lions/bark like seals? And why are they doing so AT THEIR PREY before going in for the kill? Wouldn't that kind of give the game away? Surely any vocalisations of aggression would be used against threats (e.g. other predators, other members of their own species) to defend territory, challenge for food etc?

Yet again and again, we see a lone predator reptile 'roaring' his head off for no apparent reason, or - even better - at an unwary herbivore. Yes, I understand that this is for the benefit of the viewer, to emphasise the scariness of the thing, but it is irritating nonetheless. I cannot think of a single extant bird or reptile species which roars like a lion or trumpets like an elephant, so I can't comprehend why some theropods would do so.

Likewise, having a herd of gigantic prey species decide to take a collective nap at night-time (lying completely flat on the ground (including their heads), and with no sentry post, when they are preyed upon by nocturnal hunters) is just bizarre! It would take an animal of this size an age to stagger to their feet - that is, if they weren't already suffocated by their own bulk in lying prone on the ground.

But these gripes aside... it is a very good series, and I would whole-heartedly recommend it to anyone. However, if I never hear John Hurt say the word "killers" again (and again and again), I will be happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planet Dinosaur (Blu-ray 3D) [2012]
Planet Dinosaur (Blu-ray 3D) [2012] by Nigel Paterson (Blu-ray - 2012)
£7.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews