Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a shame there wont be another series :-(
Really enjoyed this, not quite Downtown Abbey, but very enjoyable, disappointing there wont be another series, even my teenage son got into the last couple of episodes!
Published 21 months ago by H

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So So
For anyone who did not see the original this version is acceptable, and it is good to see Jean Marsh again in the cast, but as the creator of the original version I wonder what she thinks of this one.
After watching this I searched for and found the original and am now very happy to have it. It was superb viewing and a much longer series.
Published 20 months ago by Charlie


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
We had loved the first Upstairs and Downstairs and appreciated The House of Eliott and hoped that Jean Marsh had prepared another treat. This third series, unfortunately is a complete failure. The dialogues are artificial, the characters have no authenticity whatsoever, there is no rhythm and the interest fails to be captured. There is a element of vulgarity which is very unpleasant. We feel sorry for Jean Marsh who proves pathetic but unconvincing. Very sad and ... a waste of money too. The set went into the wastepaper basket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dons review, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
i am an olde time area girl love the old upstairs downstairs, have seen the second series but not the first of the new one and was brilliant so looking forward to watching the whole lot straight through if your into downton abbey you'll like this ,similar type of program
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I made a mistake when ordering "Upstairs Downstairs" and thought I was ordering the original (1971) series. Watching the first few episodes of the "new" version, I thought that, mistake or not, I had made a good choice. It started off with great promise: better than average acting, a (fairly) engrossing plot and the makings of a successful, popular series. The first episode of the second DVD left me perplexed. Some of the accents seem to have slipped (in both directions), some of the characters had inexplicably vanished, and the acting had become pedestrian not to say amateur. By the time I had seen three episodes, I checked on whether or not there was a third series ... only to understand that the general decline of the series had not passed unnoticed by viewers or the BBC. I would have liked to give it two and a half stars, since the first DVD was likeable and entertaining. On balance, it was a poor purchase and a big disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 29 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This series is full of errors: the first years of wartime in London are absurdly represented (no more servants, those in the series should have been called up instead of becoming boxing competitors), there was absolutely no luxurious way of living, and above all NYLON STOCKINGS did not appear before 1943 when the first American troops arrived in England.

Altogether very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
it wasn't for me l wouldn't have paid a penny for it who in there right mind would save your money lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wrong DVD., 10 April 2013
By 
M. Steinmann "Girl" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
I wanted the Series 1 and 2 of the original Upstairs, Downstairs...not this new one. When I saw the pictures on the cover, I thought they must be the original cast but much younger. I had no idea that there was a new story.

Most disappointed. Of course I could not return it because, in order to watch it, I had to open it.thus not able to follow your instructions of return originally packed.

Perhaps you should write on the cover (New Edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars upsrairs downstairs, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
not watched it yet as it is a birthday present and will be getting the other series we hopewhen we can
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars downton abbey seroes 1 & 2, 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
better second time around. one of the best things to come out of tv for many a long year. can 't wait for the new series. no swearing, no gratuitous violence. good dialogue. first class acting, beautiful costuming ...................i could go on and on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic viewing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
If you missed it on tv this is a must!!!!!!!!!! Its great viewing and the scenes are so absorbing. Also you must must buy Christmas at Downton, its a follow on from season 2, everyone at my craft group that have watched it were jelous when I got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstairs Downstairs - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Not as good as Downton Abbey but very similar

I don't have time to write a min number of words take it or leave it but don't pester me for more
words, Now I will not have time to do any of the other reports for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa65df474)

This product

Upstairs Downstairs - Complete Series 1 and 2 Box Set [DVD] [2011]
7.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews