Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over Attenborough ...
With his expert knowledge, overflowing passion, no-nonsense ethics and easy, laid-back presenting style, Chris Packham has certainly made his mark in recent years. This series sees him moving out of familiar Spring- and Autumnwatch territory and applying his insightful knowledge and infectious enthusiasm to different habitats and species around the world.

The...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Biggis

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complicated Secrets Of The World Of Chris Packham
This was quite a fascinating range of facts of connections between various species and habitats but perhaps a bit long winded and tortuous to follow at times. There is no doubt that Packham is a very well informed and intelligent presenter but at times the subjects seemed to take second place to him. He appears on screen most of the time and,even when a subject is on...
Published on 5 Sep 2012 by caley634


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Move over Attenborough ..., 17 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
With his expert knowledge, overflowing passion, no-nonsense ethics and easy, laid-back presenting style, Chris Packham has certainly made his mark in recent years. This series sees him moving out of familiar Spring- and Autumnwatch territory and applying his insightful knowledge and infectious enthusiasm to different habitats and species around the world.

The result is a wonderful and quite original series, examining some of the intriguingly complex interrelationships underpinning the natural world. It also moves beyond mere cliche, and if you simply want to gawp at lions and cheetahs running down their prey, or hordes of wildebeest fording a crocodile-infested river, you might be disappointed. However, if you want to understand how nature works in all its elaborate, weird and wonderful beauty, then this is for you.

One reviewer has said that the facts concerning the connections between different organisms/habitats were perhaps somewhat convoluted at times. Although there is no denying that ecosystems can be complex, and that to get the most out of this series one certainly has to pay attention, in my view the BBC got the balance just right, rendering the intricacies of ecological relationships easily accessible to a general audience, though without the kind of dumbing down that could have alienated a lot of viewers.

We often consider individual species in isolation from one another, and the real strength of this series is that, in unveiling some of the interdependencies that have evolved over time between different species, it demonstrates rather succinctly that when we mess about with nature the consequences can be quite unpredictable.

In addition to the above, Chris Packham could scarcely be a better qualified guide on this fascinating tour of discovery through the natural world, and the BBC could so easily have ruined these programmes by shoving somebody like Alan Titchmarsh, Julia Bradbury or the ever-present Kate Humble in front of the camera. Thankfully, however, they chose the right man for the job, and with this series now under his belt Packham is surely well on his way to becoming the next Attenborough - and rightly so. Quite apart from having fully earned his stripes as a bona fide naturalist, he is also as good a presenter as any of the 'big names' that the BBC seem to insist on wheeling out whenever the opportunity presents itself. And on top of all that, anyone who speaks out against both the Badger cull and the preposterous deminization of urban foxes, and more recently the mass shooting of birds in Malta, is a hero in my book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical BBC in the best sense!, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I've lost track of the amount of BBC documentaries we own, and each one never fails to please. They are entertaining, educational, and well researched! And unlike American documentaries that I have had in the past, those from BBC neither insult my intelligence nor prove that I know more about the subject than the research department of said production. I'm a fan of BBC docs, and wait with bated breath for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pleasantly surprised, 17 Jun 2013
This review is from: Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I was pleasantly surprised by how good Chris was as a presenter. Probably the best after David Attenborough. I hope he is used more. He has his own style, is knowledgeable and enthusiastic. This documentary is very well constructed and ties together nicely explaining how ecosystems interconnect. It is great to see the natural history department move in this direction as although I love all of the BBC nature documentaries, that can lay on a great show but not a great lesson. However this was very informative and was actually better educationally than previous BBC nature documentaries. Well worth watching and I hope Chris is used more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best I've seen, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Go and get it
Brilliant footage brilliant camera brilliant series well worth the money can recommend to any wild life lover ,10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Programme, 10 May 2013
By 
Mr. R. D. Myerscough (East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Bought this for my son who graduated with ecological type degree so that he could learn some more about food chains and webs. Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an exquisitely presented documentary, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
hate to say it but far better than any david attonborough dvd ... excellent, well worth getting and keeping and viewing on regular occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
love everything about the series
very educational, well done and recommend it.
will definately watch again and again. love it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets of Our Living Planet, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I watched this on tv, and I know that I shall be pleased to watch it again during the next long winter months. Chris Packham makes everything so interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complicated Secrets Of The World Of Chris Packham, 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This was quite a fascinating range of facts of connections between various species and habitats but perhaps a bit long winded and tortuous to follow at times. There is no doubt that Packham is a very well informed and intelligent presenter but at times the subjects seemed to take second place to him. He appears on screen most of the time and,even when a subject is on screen he is seen in the background or nearby.This type of film would benefit from more focus on the subject and less on the presenter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Love listening to Chris Packham journeys through nature - very explanatory and enlightening. Very helful with a course I recently did on ecosystems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012]
Secrets of Our Living Planet [DVD] [2012] by Chris Packham (DVD - 2012)
£6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews