Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fun, sun & Solana mischief!
After a big shake-up in series 4, thankfully life at the Solana has settled down somewhat for the fifth series of episodes.

Most of the usual faces are back for the standard fun in the sun antics we've come to expect in previous years. The Garvey family continue to lead the cast with their on going dilemas and squabbles. Actor Steve Pemberton is absent in...
Published on 25 April 2012 by CJ1980

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Benidorm Series Five
I found this series disappointing after the previous series. It seemed to lack the humour of the original four series and Christmas special. However it was still funny and enjoyable
Published on 30 Jun 2012 by Mary


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fun, sun & Solana mischief!, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
After a big shake-up in series 4, thankfully life at the Solana has settled down somewhat for the fifth series of episodes.

Most of the usual faces are back for the standard fun in the sun antics we've come to expect in previous years. The Garvey family continue to lead the cast with their on going dilemas and squabbles. Actor Steve Pemberton is absent in episode one & most of episode two (owing to his filming commitments in Whitechapel) and this is nicely blemished into the story to present the family with a 'cliffhanger' at the end of the series.

Donald and Jacqueline continue their sexual antics with the usual charm. Sadly the characters of Gavin and Doreen appear to be what I would describe as 'loose end redundant' characters who don't have anything to do and it's as if the writers have run out of mileage for their characters particularly as their holiday 'partners' are absent. Its a shame as the actors are still making the most of their parts with little to use.

Father and son team, Les & Liam seem more at home this series than the year before and Mateo continues to get some brilliant scenes (not least the dance off in episode two with guest star Matthew Kelly). The over-weight Sam who arrived in series four has a new holiday companion this time round in the form of firey red haired Liverpool lass Trudy - a 30/40 year old something who spends most of the series snarling (and headbutting!) at the men and pretending she is a teenager in the sun!

Probably the two strongest characters this year are Tony Maudsley's Kenneth - who really comes into his own after spending the previous year as Gavin's new holiday companion and the other new star character is played by actress Sherrie Hewson who shakes up the Solana as the hotel's new no-nonsence manager Joyce Temple-Savage (who may as well be a reprisal of the receptionist Hewson played in the revamped Crossroads ten years ago!).

The show seems to plod along at a steady pace with the usual enjoyable scripts.

Whether a sixth series will grace us is yet to be seen, but having watched this series recently I cannot see why the Solana should close it's doors just yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benidorm got it's mojo back!! Thank god, 27 Mar 2012
By 
Neil Parker (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I've been a big Benidorm fan since series 1 and I was getting worried while watching things go downhill in series 4. Terrible new characters and plain unfunny dialogue and storylines.
Luckily series 5 has completely turned things around and in my opinion this is the best series yet. Even the new characters that arrived in series 4 have grown on me. Ofcourse, the Garveys continue to be the glue that keep the whole thing together but everyone else is having their chunk of hilarious dialogue too.
Fans of the show can have a big sigh of relief as Benidorm is back on form and long may it continue!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benidorm T.V. Series, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This DVD is as great as all the others.When I feel down because of the weather I just put the first series on and continue to watch them all in order,and I love them.Just what the shrink ordered for weather blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
When the program first aired on television we hated the idea of it because we visited Benidorm when it was a small fishing village and it has always been a special place for us. It is very clean and the beaches are beautiful. You can find the Spanish element if you want and stay well away from the lager louts and karaoke side of the resort. However we finally bought this box set and expected to hate it. Nevertheless, we found it absolutely hilarious. Yes, it showed what for us is the absolute worst of the resort but it is done so well over the top that we are now addicted. More, more, more please. We can't get enough. The characters are amazing, all of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still good for a laugh!, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I know that some of the story lines may be a little silly, but overall I still love this TV Series. It makes you laugh and anyone who does not find something to laugh about whilst watching it must lead a very sad life.

I think that the script writers have a job on thinking up new story lines when most of the action is centralised around the hotel and the normal cost.

Five Stars ***** because it is "Still good for a laugh!".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great laughs, 21 May 2012
By 
John D. Hinds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
A truly great season of benidorm can't wait for the new series to start and then out on dvd and hopefully blu ray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benidorm Series 5 [DVD] [2012], 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Absolutely hilarious, couldn't stop laughing and watched it all in about 2 days. always something you could go back to at a later time. Can't wait for the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still the best sitcom on telly, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Benidorm series 5 will go down as the series where the show found it's feet again after series 4 understandably introduced a lot of new characters. This had to be done as a lot of the original Benidorm favourites' stories had ran their course. Now, in series 5, we have grown used to the newbies and the show is back to it's best.

One noticable difference though is that the show seems to have undergone a deliberate change of gear. Focusing more on keeping the viewer smiling throughout the 45-50 min episodes rather than going for the big belly laugh all the time. Not that we're short of a few of those! Check out our favourite swingers Donald and Jacqueline being electrocuted in the swimming pool!!

All in all, a real return to form and long may Benidorm continue. Viva Espania!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great series!, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Had me laughing from the moment I put it on. Great storylines, great acting and I could watch it over and over and still find it funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Continuing The Downward Spiral....................., 14 July 2012
By 
Niccolò Machiavelli "Just an old ruin that's ... (Anywhere-But-Here-Next-The-Sea! United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
The first two series for me were compulsive viewing, recording the episodes if I couldn't watch. Series three I didn't really care if I missed an episode, and by series four I was struggling to stay awake and defend it to a mate of mine who has loathed it from it's beginning. And I honestly didn't see a great deal of improvement by series five which barely raised a chuckle, Whitechapel is much better where Steve Pemberton is better served.
Sorry.
May buy the whole box set when they eventually axe this, if Amazon reduce it to less than a fiver!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012]
Benidorm - Series 5 [DVD] [2012] by Steve Pemberton (DVD - 2012)
£5.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews