Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable
Loved this book and can't wait to read the rest in the series. I like the blend of documentary/fiction that describes so well a lost era.
Published on 17 April 2012 by Mrs. A. P. East

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sugar girls
Not as good as I expected. Was more of a diary but did not run in any particular order. The story kept jumping about.
Published 19 months ago by g f peppercorn


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars good, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sugar Girls - Lilian's Story: Tales of Hardship, Love and Happiness in Tate & Lyle's East End (Kindle Edition)
very good pleased ( i will not write words that I do not want to write even to make it 17 words)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go buy it., 9 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. Lk Dunning (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sugar Girls - Lilian's Story: Tales of Hardship, Love and Happiness in Tate & Lyle's East End (Kindle Edition)
Another good book, read it in a couple of days which is always a good sign with me, go buy it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Part of a four book series., 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sugar Girls - Lilian's Story: Tales of Hardship, Love and Happiness in Tate & Lyle's East End (Kindle Edition)
A true reflection of life in a factory in the forties and fifties where friendship were formed. Hardships were endured but the family bond was strong. Very enjoyable and a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 9 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sugar Girls - Lilian's Story: Tales of Hardship, Love and Happiness in Tate & Lyle's East End (Kindle Edition)
I read this book within hours, it was written as if someone was giving a 'summary' of the actual story. Disappointed to say the least. Will not be reading the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sugar Girls Lillian's Story, 3 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sugar Girls - Lilian's Story: Tales of Hardship, Love and Happiness in Tate & Lyle's East End (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book, it was a very good read lots of charcters and a good storyline that flowed following the history of the people who worked in the sugar factory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sugar Girls Lillians story, 30 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sugar Girls - Lilian's Story: Tales of Hardship, Love and Happiness in Tate & Lyle's East End (Kindle Edition)
I absolutly loved this, I have read the other sugar girls books and they are just as good, very interesting and sad/happy too.
A good insight to the girls working at the Tate and Lyle factory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good story, 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sugar Girls - Lilian's Story: Tales of Hardship, Love and Happiness in Tate & Lyle's East End (Kindle Edition)
Good story and insight into the life and times of an erra gone by. Sounds a hard but wonderful time to work in and Tate and Lyle certainly looked after their employees pity that the soceity of today don't look after each other as well now. would recommed as a light but enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sugar Girls, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sugar Girls - Lilian's Story: Tales of Hardship, Love and Happiness in Tate & Lyle's East End (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book - it was informative and yet it was not boring and it held my attention throughout. An insight into days gone by working a sugar factory in the east end of London. The work that was done by the girls and the relationships they had both in the factory and out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really enjoyable, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sugar Girls - Lilian's Story: Tales of Hardship, Love and Happiness in Tate & Lyle's East End (Kindle Edition)
I very much enjoyed reading about the life story of this Lady. I couldn't put it down and bought all four books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good short read, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sugar Girls - Lilian's Story: Tales of Hardship, Love and Happiness in Tate & Lyle's East End (Kindle Edition)
My Dad used to work at Tate and Lyle in the 70s and though living on the other side of the river we could see the kilns. I love East End history and was not disappointed with this read. However, I purchased the other girls stories and they all begin with the same chapter about Tate and Lyle which I had to skip to get to the actual story. But hey, stories are so worth reading if you have a passion for wanting to know about how real life was in the 40s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews