Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars16
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2013
Marx: philosophy in an hour.
good detail, relationship between Marx and Engels is covered well. Problem is the author shows off a bit by continuously adding his own opinions, he even goes as far as to point out the failings of the communist manifesto and i didn't really sign up for that.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Very informative and yet very succinct. Having studied Marx as part of my degree , I can say that this read was well written
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
As with the others in this series this book give you a very readable and accessible primer on the man and his works in a very short book. It covers everything, cramming all the essentials and a commentary into the small space.
It is a great introduction so that one can explore from here, adding meat on to the bones as it were - but you could easily bluff your way with the info contained in these short primers!
Recommended+++
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2012
I have owned (and dipped into) many of Marx's works, and other works derived from his researches. This little book gets to the heart of Marx the person and has a fair shot at summarising his otherwise sometimes impenetrable thinking. I enjoyed the read too - it brought him to life as a person but was not attempting to de-mystify his ongoing thoughts and debates.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
Not having a particularly academic background, especially concerning philosophy, I still found this summary of Marx's life informative and written in a very acceptable style with the usual end of book chronology that seems to be offered in the "........ In an hour " series. Who knows , I might try the other philosophers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
Given the current economic turmoil and limited "professional" analyses this book offers a chance to look at broader explanations about the direction of policy
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
I realise these books are meant to be short however they offer a poor description of Marx's philosophical ideas. Keep your quid
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
Only criticism is the overuse of the word dialectic but apart from this a very readable account of Marx life and philosophy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
I wanted more about his theory less about his life. Didn't really learn much more than I already knew about him.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
A book that humanises the great political thinker - often not in a very flattering light.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Buy & Pay Off Over 4 Months at QVC! Super Size Miracle Worker Trio.