Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius
Really nice to see the 'Late Night Tales' series continuing to distinguish its self from all the other bland compilations on the market.
Fourtet's collection gently peaks and troughs its way through a very eclectic collection of; jazz, folk electronica, and hip hop that fits together in to one of the most intriguing compilations I have ever heard.
Published on 10 Nov 2004 by Leo

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who'd have Four Tet it?
Here we get a peek inside the head of Keiran "Four Tet" Hebden to see what makes him tick. Nothing wrong with that, you might think and being a fan of his 2003 "Rounds" album I was certainly interested to catch an earful of his musical influences. However, listening to this compilation, you have to wonder if the Another Late Night/Tales series is really the best platform...
Published on 6 Jun 2005 by DJ Whoknows (...or cares?)


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 10 Nov 2004
By 
Leo (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Really nice to see the 'Late Night Tales' series continuing to distinguish its self from all the other bland compilations on the market.
Fourtet's collection gently peaks and troughs its way through a very eclectic collection of; jazz, folk electronica, and hip hop that fits together in to one of the most intriguing compilations I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's just an ambientjazzfolkworldelectronicbreakhop thing, 7 Oct 2004
After going off the boil for the last few excursions (Jamiroquai, anyone ?)the Late Night Tales series returns to top form. A mixture of hiphop, jazz, breaks & post-rock this is a really distinguished selection. The track listing may not immediately appeal to beyond those who regularly purchase Wire and listen sweaty-palmed to Resonance FM, but it avoids the usual cliches of late night smoking / chill-out compilations and delivers something really different. You probably don't own many of the records here, and probably wouldn't put them on when you all get back at 4 a.m. ("What do you reckon - Linda Perhacs or Terry Riley?") but somehow this mix just sounds right. What does it sound like? There are some great, spooked atmospheric tracks (La Perhacs, Max Roach, Roland Kirk), breaks & hiphop (Gravediggaz, Madvillain,Manfred Mann, Hal Blaine, Malagasy)& electronica from Koushik & Manitoba. And a lot more besides. Next installment is from the Flaming Lips. Can't wait. Now, lets see - Linda Perhacs or Terry Riley ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 27 Nov 2004
theres no denying good music and this compilation is stuffed to the corners with it.
Undoubtedly it is very different, ranging from 70s jazz (Joe Henderson, Sun Ra) to 60s folk (Fairport Convention) and up to modern day hip hop (Gravediggaz, Madvillian). But at no time does the quality drop. If you find that music is an exploration and that the journey you take is wide and varied, then you may find a kindred spirit in Fourtet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Who'd have Four Tet it?, 6 Jun 2005
Here we get a peek inside the head of Keiran "Four Tet" Hebden to see what makes him tick. Nothing wrong with that, you might think and being a fan of his 2003 "Rounds" album I was certainly interested to catch an earful of his musical influences. However, listening to this compilation, you have to wonder if the Another Late Night/Tales series is really the best platform to accommodate them.
For starters, ANL/NLT compilations typically have some kind of flow to them. Hebden's juxtapositions seem to have little interest in flow whatsoever, the far-from-logical transition from Tortoise's rattling marimba epic (sorry, "post-rock") "Why We Fight" through Gravediggaz' pounding hip-hop to Joe Henderson's spacious, laidback jazz being a prime example.
Even more baffling are the short track snippets, such as Hal Blaine's "Wiggy", that are thrown in assumedly as a bridge between tracks. Given that these snippets are either non-sequitous bursts of jazz percussion or pretty-but-drastically-anonymous library music, these bridges constructed are so rickety that one would rather take the plunge for the most part. Short segments like these only serve to heighten the feeling of imbalance between track lengths - interesting but short tracks like Koushik's psychedelic "Battle Rhymes For Battle Times" go up against overlong pieces like Icarus' "Benevolant Incubator", not a bad track by any stretch of the imagination, but certainly not requiring 10 minutes to get its point across.
Yet it's impossible for me to write this album off completely. Why? Because in amongst the filler there is some genuinely amazing music dotted around this CD. Manfred Mann's "One Way Glass" is a most funky piece of psych rock with an infinitely catchy riff. Max Roach's percussion ensemble M'Boom provides some frosty bells and chimes on the beautiful "January V". Koushik's remix of Madvillain is a marvellously textured (if short) hip-hop track with Koushik's dusty beats, flutes and enigmatic vocals providing the perfect backdrop for MF Doom's gruff flow, and there's some sublime jazz on hand from Del Jef Gibson + Malagsy.
Of course, there are also some turkeys on hand. Terry Riley's "Music For The Gift (Part 2)", an exercise in manipulation of Chet Baker tapes, is one of those tracks that producers go giddy over whilst everyone else wonders where exactly the tune is. And the 'bonus' tracks on hand - Four Tet's Hendrix cover and David Shrigley's isolated spoken word nugget at the end - do more to detract from the album's whole than add to it. On the whole, however, there's no doubt that Hebden generally has great taste in music. Let's just hope that next time he commits it to CD, he puts it together more coherently.
I give it a very generous 3 for the quality of the tunes on hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A temporary dip - I hope so, 15 Oct 2004
I eagerly awaited the twelfth instalment of this stunning series though held some reservations about the compiler. I had bought four tets last outing and was very unimpressed with the content, having said that if you liked it stop reading and buy it now because it is in a similar vein.
Now dont get me wrong I dont believe that an album should instantly be taken in by the listener and often enough over time the more times you listen to an album the better it becomes. The thing with four tet's late night tales is that it really isnt a pleasurable listening experience. You need not stray past the mix of tracks two and three to hear the noise of instruments being tuned laid over the top of an ambling beat. Horrible.
It is with utter disapointment that I write this review as I own all the collection of late night tales so far and I am just hoping this is a temporary dip
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One for the Muso's, 7 Oct 2004
I am a MASSIVE fan of the another late night series which unlike its Back to Mine counterpart has grown in stature and quality with each release. The idea behind the series is to get the artist to offer up what they would play in a set of music after hours - no boundaries. We kicked off with Fila Brazillia who produced an eclectic set which was instantly enjoyable, others such as Howie B and Kid Loco took a little longer to appreciate and Groove Armada provided us with an instant classic. We have also been treated to the funk of Tommy Guerrero, the hip hop of Rae and Christian and the disco-soul of Jamiroquai. The last instalment was by Turin Brakes which did seem to buck the trend with a collection of bluesey music but nevertheless fitted the style of the series.
Fourtet unfortunately hasnt grasped the idea and unless you actually like his own output I am afraid you may be disappointed with this collection. Fair play it is probably what kind of music influences him but it is so innaccessible that I find myself cringing or just turning off altogether. Now I do own Rounds by Fourtet and this was greeted with a similar sort of review, so I guess if you like his own output you will undoubtedly enjoy this. You needed venture past the mixing between track 2 and 3 to get what I mean. A fairly ambling beat is suddenly overidden with what I can only describe as a few instruments tuning up. Weird.
All I can say is I hope this is a blip in the series and the Flaming Lips rectify what was a fantastic collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What the Four Tet was that ?, 3 Nov 2004
By A Customer
Having bought all the previous 'Another Late Night / Late Night Tales' titles, I found this one just weird / totally out of keeping from those that had preceded it (apologies Fourtet and their fans), and can only hope that when I eventually come round to playing it again it may grow on me (yeah like a wart).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews