Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best album from Lady Day, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Dp Smith "Darren" (Hopton on sea) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fan of several years, I'd always appreciated the songs, that voice!! and the overall impact. I just accepted that the slightly rough sound was because of the age of the original source material. On listening to other contempary artists, and the many that have followed Billie,I've always though how lucky many were to have a superior sound (Ella Fitzgerald & Sarah Vaughan invariably do, for example). Then I did some research and purchased this. Brilliant sound, probably partially because it is from her later work, so her voice has matured (& won't suit everyone's tastes),but what a wonderful piece of work. Barney Kessel's guitar is particularly noteworthy. Please buy & encourage others to do likewise. Lady Day sounding like she's singing today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Diamond amongst Stars, 5 Sep 2003
By 
john-paul rodgers (ashbourne, derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
On the back of the classic "Songs for Swinging Lovers" by Frank Sinatra, Billie Holiday delivers the ultimate reply.
No other Billie Holiday album touches this little gem for pure crystal clear genius. Short, sharp, to the point with a string of musicians who add the cream to the strawberries, this album is an absolute must for anyone who listens to music. It bridges ages and class, punk, skinhead, rasta, rudeboy or ravers.
Go break your heart, slip this in the player and walk a Parisian bridge. Then dare tell me you shed no tear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First class, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Must agree with the notes on sleeve, in the sense Billie`s voice was older, deeper and differed from what I had heard before.

However with Ben Webster`s sax in the background quality is still guaranteed, buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Quick delivery amazing album good quality vinyl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect but not quite, 18 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great collection of songs with a superb jazz backing. Billie strays off course quite a lot but that almost adds to the intriguing quality. A good album to have and keep for times when you're in that kind of mood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billie's best album of all time!, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Strangely I don't do singers, but Billie Holiday is an exception (along with Ella) but then is Billie Holiday a singer or a vocalist? I know that she doesn't do scat a la Ella or Sarah. She doesn't even keep to the beat on some occasions, but Billie is just wonderful and I think that this album is her creme de la creme, the very top, her summit, her seminal album. The whole atmosphere os each track is wonderful not just because of Billie, but her relationship with Ben Webster and Sweets Edison in particular, but Jimmy Rowles and Barney Kessel too. This is truly a wonderful album.

My favourite track is "Foggy "Day", but that is purely personal.

The album is just SUPERB.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE LADY SINGS, 7 Nov 2013
BILLIE REMAINS THE GREATEST SINGER OF ALL TIME.NOONE COMES CLOSE WITH THIS MATERIAL.A V DIFFICULT WOMAN BUT U CANT SOUND LIKE THAT AND BE MRS MAINSTREAM.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED 10\10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 4 Jun 2008
One of my favorite albums of all times, Love then Band love, Billie.
Masterpiece of good taste and talent.
Fan4Ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs for Distingue Lovers
Songs for Distingue Lovers by Billie Holiday
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews