Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An urban fantasy filled with psychic powers, 17 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Firecracker (Kindle Edition)
The story of Firecracker follows Cas, a pyrokinetic with a very tenuous control of her powers. She starts her adventure unemployed, running out of money, and praying that her next job interview goes well so she can turn it all around.

Her last hope for a job is with PsychTeam, a group of psychics that consulate with authorities to help find missing people and solve other crimes. When she arrives for her interview she meets Li, a mysterious guy who really doesn't seem to like her. It takes the intervention of Miyuki, who is the head honcho of the team, to get her a job.

The book reveals some interesting psychic powers that the various team members possess as well as having a few story arcs. The main story involves mysterious shadow creatures that seem to be hunting people with the Zoe blood type (the genetic marker for psychic abilities). There is also a small story about the relationship between Li and Cas as well as an arc involving Cas finding a missing girl.

The characters were great in this book and I really enjoyed Cas. It was nice to see someone who had immense power, but had no real control over it. The difficulties Cas had with wage garnishment due to accidental damage and the constant threat of immolating some random object made her a character it was easy to feel for. Li was a bit further out there, but hey I might just have trouble relating to world class martial arts millionaires lol. His tragic past made him a bit easier to come to terms with, he wasn't the perfect example of everything either.

The story flowed pretty well for the most part, although there were a few parts that seemed a little rougher. The book was a very entertaining read that I finished in two days. I imagine there will be more books to follow and I will be waiting for those eagerly.

Overall score of 4.5 stars, worth the rounding up for sure.

Review copy provided by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed heroes make for an interesting read, 13 Sep 2012
By 
Mark (Southampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firecracker (Kindle Edition)
Well written with an easy style, good pace and strong characterisation, this is an enjoyable novel that is clearly intended to be the first in a series. If the others are of the same standard then it will be well worth the read. The plot revolves around characters with mental powers developed as the result of an experimental treatment and the forces that oppose them. The protagonists are well intentioned but have feet of clay making them more interesting by far. This book neatly avoids the trap of having all powerful heroes and lets you see the flaws and weaknesses of the characters. All in all, well done and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully the first of a great series, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firecracker (Kindle Edition)
Was looking for a book that wasn't your typical boy meets girl , some sort of supernatural element and they go through some hardship before ultimately getting together. Don't get me wrong, I loved Twilight! Just wanted something supernatural but different.
Of course there's a love interest undertone to the story but this is so much more. Really well written and a lovely none-obvious plot line. I just really hope the author has another book in the pipeline. I want to see what happens next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firecracker (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this. The characterisation is very good as is the plot. It's about psychics with various abilities mixed in with humanity in something akin to the present day. It works well and is a very good read. Cas is the main character and she is definitely flawed, but seems to bounce back and slowly builds into a believable heroine. Lots of Dark Secrets and a few interesting side plots that are clearly building into the next edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best novel I have read for a while, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firecracker (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic novel, I thought this was a very fresh take on psychics, paranormal abilities in our world and how it came to be. The characters felt alive, the fact that they could all make mistakes and were not infallible was a nice change. The plot was complex and felt almost like a who dunnit, you knew Cass, the protagonist, wasn't getting the whole story from anyone and were constantly trying to work out the events before they unfolded. The plot, however, is not a mystery so much as a human story, of people who have no choice but to have these powers and who do not necessarily want (or have control over) them.

I am a heavy reader, but I think this is the best novel I have read for quite a while. It felt like the beginning of a series, I hope to see a continuation soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book highly recommended, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firecracker (Kindle Edition)
What a fabulous read - a little slow at the beginning but soon got grabbed by the rip tide and fell straight in! Fantastic supernatural tale with lots of twists and turns. There is definitely room in the market for this book to become a series. Will definitely buy it if so. Thanks for the great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 10 Feb 2013
This review is from: Firecracker (Kindle Edition)
loved the story it was addictive so it only took a couple days to read. Ending was a happy one also a little confusing but didnt take any enjoyment away.
sharon from London
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun to read, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firecracker (Kindle Edition)
This is a well written and enjoyable story which paves the way nicely for more. The characters were interesting and likeable and the storyline was unique enough for me to feel quite refreshing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Firecracker, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Firecracker (Kindle Edition)
I love it. First one I have read and it is brilliant full of action and can't wait to finish but you don't really want to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it a real page turner...., 28 Nov 2012
By 
S. Johnson "Bookworm" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Firecracker (Kindle Edition)
got this for free but looked for sequel to buy as j enjoyed it so much. worth the puchase price. great supernatural story. a bit differeng to others i have read !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Firecracker
Firecracker by Charles R. Verhey
2.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews