Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Checkpoint
One of amazing film ever made about races and mainly car race. Forgot about the history, just concentrate into its fabulous images. The picture quality of this version worths while. I will be waiting for releasing of The Green Helmet on DVD.
Published on 2 Jun. 2012 by Gonliv

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine Film, Poor Transfer
Don't believe those reviews which claim that the transfer of this movie onto disc is very good - they're wrong!

This is a very poor transfer - what I call 'Very good VHS'[!] - which in no way does justice to the film itself [which is very good].

Lots of horrid edge-enhancement is present on this disc, which makes the weird EastmanColor stock on which...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Mr. M. R. Thompson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Checkpoint, 2 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Checkpoint [DVD] (DVD)
One of amazing film ever made about races and mainly car race. Forgot about the history, just concentrate into its fabulous images. The picture quality of this version worths while. I will be waiting for releasing of The Green Helmet on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tense thriller, 15 May 2012
By 
William Taylor "20CFOX fan" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Checkpoint [DVD] (DVD)
"Checkpoint", another very welcome DVD release of a vintage British title, is an entertaining thriller with a motor racing background which has an excellent cast of familiar faces. James Robertson Justice is good but cast completely against type. I was interested to see Lee Patterson, the appealing hero of many 'B' thrillers of the period as one of the drivers. Odile Versois was the leading lady of several British films of this era and now, sadly, it's rather hard to see why as she has a rather bland personality and only average looks.

It's filmed in Eastman Colour, a system not quite as vivid as Technicolor, but the views of Italy are still excellent. The interior of Odile Versois' apartment is gloriously 1950's modern and would look good in any retro or vintage store today!

The plot has relatively few surprises, but is well enough done and the short running time suits it. I thought the ending was actually rather sudden and it looked as though there could have been another scene after it, to round it off!

Again, this is well worth a look - it's so good that these more unusual vintage British movies are making it to DVD - as another reviewer has said, let them keep on coming! Michael Craig's "House of Secrets" made the same year as this, would be great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good "pre-stardom" film for baker., 4 May 2012
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Checkpoint [DVD] (DVD)
for those who are fans of racing or of cars in general, "checkpoint" should be more than enough to keep viewers happy.
for me, this film is pretty good without being a classic. however, this is a good opportunity to see future star stanley baker give one of his more gritty performances as a racing driver from a rival firm who employ baker to do some of their dirty work, such as what occurs in the opening scene.
it is refreshing to see an actor like stanley baker, whose rugged looks and somewhat hard-edged personality offer a welcome change from the rather effeminate and dull anthony steel. in my opinion, it is baker who takes the acting honours.
the photography, especially during the racing scenes, are brilliantly filmed and the colour adds to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and entertaining, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Checkpoint [DVD] (DVD)
The racing scenes are fun and I enjoyed the story. My mother remembers going to see this in the cinema and it was her memory that made me search to try to find it. The picture quality and audio are poor. The colours are washed out. The acting seems to be a bit stilted to me for some reason, not sure why this might be the case, might have something to do with the direction or camera placement or editing, not sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine Film, Poor Transfer, 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Checkpoint [DVD] (DVD)
Don't believe those reviews which claim that the transfer of this movie onto disc is very good - they're wrong!

This is a very poor transfer - what I call 'Very good VHS'[!] - which in no way does justice to the film itself [which is very good].

Lots of horrid edge-enhancement is present on this disc, which makes the weird EastmanColor stock on which the movie was shot, look ugly in the extreme.

A real shame, because this is a fine film that deserves better.

It's clear that Strawberry Media [who?] did the bare minimum in terms of authoring for this disc [ same as their release of 'Violent Playground']- which is a real shame.

Keep your fingers crossed for a BluRay release. [ Chances of this happening, though, are very slim...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CHECPOINT-STRAWBERRYMEDIA-RE-MASTERED ????, 29 Jun. 2014
By 
A. W. Wilson - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Checkpoint [DVD] (DVD)
Good British thriller. Beautifully filmed on lovely Italian locations. Acted as well as you would expect from Steele/Odile Versois (her accent was a bit hard to follow sometimes, but she still looked good, but to see her at her best watch "A Day to Remember"), Baker, who was so at home in these bullying tough guy roles, and JR Justice out of his normal bluff act. The story is simple but well directed. However for me something just stops me giving the film 5 stars. The DVD gets 3. It clearly states "Digitally Remastered" on the front cover, but, to me, not an expert I admit, it didn't look like it to me. Still watchable for sure, just not absolutely mint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vrooooom!! Screech, crash!!, 17 July 2014
By 
Machinehead (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Checkpoint [DVD] (DVD)
I'd been trying to find the title for this movie for years!! I saw a few minutes of it on TV ages ago but didn't note the title. Found it on Amazon whilst looking at other old movies, when I did I actually exclaimed out loud! The principal interest for me is the cars and the Mille Miglia setting, really fantastic stuff! The story line is typical for the era, skullduggery, intrigue, greed, ruthlessness and romance, so nothing new there then. Stanley Baker makes it though, he has the knack of being a convincing baddy or goody depending on the role. Conversion quality is ok but not the best, although it's still very watchable. Good movie generally but excellent for the old car racing enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic fugative drama with added cars, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Checkpoint [DVD] (DVD)
Great period piece harking back to the good old days of British Cinema. A must for all fans of Stanley Baker and Classic Sports Cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good video., 29 Oct. 2013
By 
C. J. Smith (Worcester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Checkpoint [DVD] (DVD)
I was very pleased to find this DVD, have been looking for a long time.
Had a very poor copy that I recorded onto VHS when it was on TV.
The story line is ok but it is the cars and race scenes that make it.
All those great sports cars and actual race film used a real treat for any sports racing enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another classic, 15 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Checkpoint [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the better B movies with great actors and locations. One of my all time favourites as my cousin raced in these type of cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Checkpoint [DVD]
Checkpoint [DVD] by Ralph Thomas (DVD - 2012)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews