Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of Good Tips for Content Development!
This book provides a few great tips for content development. Interesting topics include: attract, engage, and inspire: building your content plan, electrify your content, and optimze and socialize. It's a good read for web content developers. Meanwhile, for more advanced skills, such as SEO, to promote your content online, Integrated Search Marketing Solution & Organic...
Published 2 months ago by .

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I hoped
I bought this book after being an avid fan of the blog...and was disappointed. It is written in a "dense" way that makes it hard to read and jumps from topic to topic, crammed with tips but going round in circles. I lot of repetition throughout the book as well.
I think is would be best used to dip in and out of specific topics, but I gave up on reading the...
Published 20 months ago by chicha33


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of Good Tips for Content Development!, 19 Mar. 2015
This book provides a few great tips for content development. Interesting topics include: attract, engage, and inspire: building your content plan, electrify your content, and optimze and socialize. It's a good read for web content developers. Meanwhile, for more advanced skills, such as SEO, to promote your content online, Integrated Search Marketing Solution & Organic Search: Search Engine Optimization, Social Media, and Email Marketing: Winning Formula for SERP Dominance is a perfect SEO book for cross-reference when building your business website. It teaches you how to implement on-page, off-page and server-side optimization to boost up the SEO competency of your website. For example, it teaches the readers about how to implement tactical link building to become the center of an authoritative hub and deploy facet navigation and page segmentation. It also shows the readers how to avoid duplicate content, the tactics to deploy 301 redirect, and the SEO practices of exception handling and the adoption of custom 404 error page to increase visitor retention rate, and how to increase content / code ratio as well as the programming techniques to boost the web performance. The benefits won't just stop here. It also presents plenty of tips for email marketing. It teaches you how to increase open rate, subscribe rate, CTR and conversion rate by tweaking critical email elements. Also, the book lists out on the most important metrics to watch for in your email campaign and how to interpret these metrics and optimize the email elements accordingly In addition, it demonstrates the tips for the experiment design for your email campaign for further improvement on the critical email elements. Furthermore, Its critical tactics in FB marketing based on role playing will open your eyes.

Furthermore, Cognitive Search Marketing & Paid Search: Theory, Experiment, Practice and Tactics: A PPC Paradigm Powered by Persuasion and Cognition is a perfect read to polish your online marketing skills on paid search. This book provides new perspectives on applying communication theory on today's online marketing campaign and paid search. The book offers online business solutions, from demand generation all the way down to conversion. Based on various communications theories, it demonstrates abundant persuasive ad copy writing tips along with examples that you can refer to immediately. It also shows its readers how to write effective PPC ads by applying cognitive science and which has never been addressed on the books I have ever read. It covers a deep ground in landing page optimization based on UX and bidding management with strategic planning and highly valuable tactics. This book also demonstrates a complete walk-through in a PPC campaign with case study, from keyword generation, persuasive ad copy writing, bidding management, down to conversion tracking. One of the best part of this book is its demonstration on MRI placement targeting and it just blew my mind. The book also interfaces PPC campaign with experiment design to leverage the overall efficiency on a company's marketing plan in a macro-level and which has never been addressed in any books I ran into before. The book also illustrates critical campaign metrics to watch for, how to interpret these metrics and respective actions to take to improve your campaign. Landing page optimization tactics to increase the CTR and conversion rate are emphasized while conversion attribution model and its application is well-addressed. In addition, it shows you many effective bidding techniques to optimize your profit while lowering your CPA. Furthermore, this book extends the value of PPC techniques by applying the PPC tactics into a job search process with examples that readers can use immediately after they read the book.

Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome and recommended, 1 Jun. 2012
By 
G. White (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am always sceptical about buying books from "experts" they can be badly pitched, i.e. dumbed down / overly concentrated in an area which I don't care about, this isn't an SEO book for example (like some are), it talks about SEO a lot and despite working in SEO for years I have learnt from it, the same can be said about SM, it basically gets you thinking about it all in the right way which is more important - I have already suggested to half a dozen people they need to read it, typically people who are familiar with the fields mentioned in the title... the only problem I have is that I have lost it somewhere, maybe on a train or a bus ...

Would I recommend it? Yes, I am hoping he writes a follow up as I think there is room for a book 2 ... going deeper still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crystal clear thinking, 3 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The key to understanding this book is the subtitle. The author draws together the three core strands of modern digital marketing - content marketing, SEO and social media - to show how they can be integrated to provide an overall strategy for your business. Essentially it helps you think (very) clearly about the underlying commercial issues and what's best for your organisation. On several occasions I offered a silent "three cheers" for the author's ability to cut through the hype and jargon that often surround these subjects. In particular, content marketing has become a fashionable bandwagon and this book offers a welcome dose of common sense.

Beyond "strategy", the book does then point you in all sorts of useful practical directions but it most definitely isn't a detailed "how to" manual. In fact it's a relatively brief book - 230 pages - which I found all to the good. Over the years I've read stacks of books on digital marketing and this is one of the best. Focused, clear thinking and commercial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Optimize, 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who has been working with websites since the mid-1990s, I felt comfortable with traditional forms of SEO such as article writing and general link building, but realized that my knowledge of digital marketing and using social networking to build and promote a brand was very limited. This is a great book for anyone who wants to get to grips with the steps to take in order to take advantage of current SEO techniques. The book is so packed with information that it merits being read more than once as there is a lot of help and advice to absorb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I hoped, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after being an avid fan of the blog...and was disappointed. It is written in a "dense" way that makes it hard to read and jumps from topic to topic, crammed with tips but going round in circles. I lot of repetition throughout the book as well.
I think is would be best used to dip in and out of specific topics, but I gave up on reading the whole thing halfway through.
I feel bad giving this review because the guy is a genius and writes awesome blogs and articles etc. Unfortunately, the book did not work for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for today's digital marketing specialist, 28 Aug. 2012
By 
B. Adams (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read a lot of books about various aspects of digital marketing, and while I take lessons from every one, it's hard to deny that there's a huge variety in quality.

Lee Odden's book 'Optimize' is just about as perfect a digital marketing book as you can find. It's more or less a manual of how to build a successful online brand.

Digital marketing has been in a continuous state of change since the dawn of the internet, and marketers have had to adapt their tactics all the time. On many levels 'Optimize' transcends that, and focuses on what it takes to build a lasting online brand that engages with its target audience in ways that will endure for years to come.

If you're a SEO, Social Media marketer, digital marketing generalist, or even a copywriter, this book is a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely written and memorable, 27 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like the way this book is written, it's not too jargon heavy like other books. The way the information is presented and explained means that it's easily retained and makes for a nice easy read. Within the first chapter I learnt about social monitoring tools that I didn't know about. I especially like the action items at the end of each chapter. I would definitely recommend this book and shall be looking for more books from this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Good! In need of optimisation, 17 April 2013
By 
GJ Glass (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this as an audiobook to listen to on my phones. It's spoken by a phoney sounding presenter and goes over a lot of the same ground repeatedly in a fashion that is completely unmemorable. Get yourself a short 100 page SEO top tips book on Kindle instead (or google it) and save your cash. Unfortunately this book is not going to fire up your enthusiasm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews