Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awful Business.
Anti war films really don't come much more powerful and moving than this made for TV production. Philip French the Observer film critic said it could be mentioned in the same breath as "Paths of Glory" and "King and Country". High praise indeed that was worth investigating, and upon investigation I have to fully agree. Filmed in a sombre matter of fact way the film...
Published 22 months ago by Bob Salter

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good movie for its time
This movie is somewhat dated today (in 2012), having been released in 1974, but it is good all the less. It works through a series of flashbacks, reviewing the background to the story on the very day of execution. The movie was allegedly well researched but many people have called into question various events (especially quotes) shown in the movie. Martin Sheen puts in a...
Published 22 months ago by Lamu Hermit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Awful Business., 9 Oct 2012
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Anti war films really don't come much more powerful and moving than this made for TV production. Philip French the Observer film critic said it could be mentioned in the same breath as "Paths of Glory" and "King and Country". High praise indeed that was worth investigating, and upon investigation I have to fully agree. Filmed in a sombre matter of fact way the film follows the banal life of Slovik who comes with a past. With a title like that you just know how the film is going to conclude but the story is so well told, that you actually come to identify with Slovik and agonise with him as he is dragged through an uncaring system. It is so powerful that it may even make you recoil at the thought of capital punishment, even if that were something you were in favour of. This is skilful film making from director Lamont Johnson. He is helped by having the services of that fine actor Martin Sheen who has never been better as Slovik the common soldier who refuses to fight. Ned Beatty is also terrific as the chaplain providing support for Slovik in his last harrowing moments.

The story was based on the true life execution of Private Eddie Slovik in January 1945. The only American soldier to have been shot for desertion since the Civil war. Frank Sinatra tried to make a film version based on a 1954 book on the subject, but this was shelved after political pressure. There is a firing squad scene in Carl Foreman's "The Victors", which was clearly influenced by Slovik's execution. The film attracted a record audience for a one off made for TV drama. Make no mistake, watching someones life taken away from them must be a terrible business, and this comes across loud and clear. Those men that made the decision to execute Slovik had to live with it for the rest of their lives as the film showed. It is not for the squeamish, but it makes for a damn good thought provoking film. I found it to be a genuinely moving experience. This is well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful account, 22 April 2013
By 
A. Flynn "flynnt" (New Moston,Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I first saw this when it was originally aired on TV in the 1970's. I tells the story of Eddie Slovik who was the only US soldier shot for desertion since the Civil war.
The story is told very well,and there are some excellent performances particularly from a young Martin Sheen,having read some of the documented accounts about the case I think the film presents an honest account and is a powerfully told story. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tears, 22 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I cried like a baby during the final scene.Did Martin Sheen get an oscar for this, he should have Brilliant !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the execution of private slovik, 6 Dec 2013
By 
David N. Vaughan (leamington spa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
very we
ll made film which shows how senior non combatants sacrifice the low ranks as canon fodder or examples in discipline to others
as in other armies throughout all the wars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as i say a great film, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
I saw this film in 1975 and thought it one of the best anti-war films ever, happy to now have it on disc. Also the delivery time was exellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Martin Sheen brilliant!, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Very emotive film! I have seen the film a few times before. The only thing I was disappointed about was that at the end when Slovik is executed the song ' Have yourself a Merry little Christmas' sang by Frank Sinatra was omitted in this copy, I don't know why, perhaps a copyright thing. The song at the point of execution enhances the tragedy of it all, in my opinion, so get the orginal recording if possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
This film has been difficult to find until now, it arrived quickly in a jiffy bag, i remember seeing it many years ago and was affected by the injustice of Private Slovik's execution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is justice ????????????????, 22 Jun 2012
By 
Johncrouch "J.C." (SWITZERLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
A BRILLIANTLY MADE FILM & MARTIN SHEEN PORTRAYS SLOVIK VERY WELL INDEED, HOWEVER THERE IS ONLY ONE PROBLEM & STRANGELY ENOUGH THE PROBLEM HAS GOT ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH HOW THE FILM WAS MADE OR WHO APPEARED IN IT.
AS THIS IS A TRUE STORY YOU WILL BE AS SHOCKED AS I WAS I`M SURE, TO SEE JUST HOW THIS POOR MAN " AND HIS WIFE " WERE TREATED BY THE GREAT AMERICAN SYSTEM DURING WW2. THIS FILM IS NEARLY 40 YEARS OLD NOW BUT OH BOY DOES IT MAKE YOU THINK. THIS VERY YOUNG MAN SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN CALLED UP FOR ACTIVE SERVICE BUT HE WAS & BECAUSE OF THIS HE PAID THE ULTIMATE SACRIFICE,---- BUT "NOT" ON THE BATTLEFIELD.
I`LL SAY NO MORE TO NOT RUIN THE FILM,---- SURFICE TO SAY JUST BUY IT, I DID,--- YOU`LL HAVE MANY QUESTIONS AFTERWARDS I`M SURE, IT`S A VERY THOUGHT PROVOKING FILM,---- WONDERFUL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this movie, it was sad though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974]
The Execution of Private Slovik [DVD] [1974] by Lamont Johnson (DVD - 2012)
3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews