Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic 80s sci-fi/crime series
I only rediscovered this fading memory of a series thanks to Amazon's link from fellow 80s TV series "Street Hawk".... In this 1983/4 sci-fi/action series produced by the prolific Glen A. Larson, Walter Nebicher (Desi Arnaz Jr) works for the police as a computer expert, and eventually creates a computer-generated crimefighting hologram named "Automan" (Chuck Wagner)...
Published 18 months ago by Colin Smith "keep on runni...

versus
3 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Will it be worth the wait?
This DVD was supposed to be released in April - then the release date was changed to May... then June.. now October 1st - I wish that Fabulous Films would pick a release date and stick to it!

I will be buying this DVD WHEN it is released... IF it is ever released.

I hope it will be worth the 6 month + wait.
Published 24 months ago by Batmanski


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic 80s sci-fi/crime series, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Colin Smith "keep on running" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automan The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I only rediscovered this fading memory of a series thanks to Amazon's link from fellow 80s TV series "Street Hawk".... In this 1983/4 sci-fi/action series produced by the prolific Glen A. Larson, Walter Nebicher (Desi Arnaz Jr) works for the police as a computer expert, and eventually creates a computer-generated crimefighting hologram named "Automan" (Chuck Wagner). Automan is charged with sufficient power to exist in the real world (while occasionally having to recharge when on the move). Appearing like some video game character, Automan quickly learns about life (and romance!) in the real world by watching movies via Walter's suitcase-sized video recorder (nostalgic memories!).... When not putting his newly-acquired crimefighting knowledge to good use, "Auto" can occasionally be involved in some humorous scenes, whether it's strutting his stuff on the dance floor a la John Travolta or parading a stereotypical Humphrey Bogart impersonation.

As well as Walter, Automan is also accompanied by a brightly-lit airborne "Cursor" that can create the likes of hi-tech vehicles (hi-speed car, helicopter etc) on command. OK - you've probably guessed by now that it gets a bit cheesy at times - and it does. The scripts are fairly regulation & the gags are a bit corny but there's a kind of dated charm about the show. The 6'5' Chuck Wagner as the titular character towers over the rest of the cast & carries enough winning charm, as does Desi Arnaz Jr's performance as the geeky creator of the amiable superhero, along with Gerald S. O'Loughlin as the grumpy police chief, while the delectable Heather McNair is welcome eye-candy as a female detective.

Almost 30 years on, the special effects still hold up rather well. The storylines are predictable 80s fare but with a pleasing humour. The guest stars include Doug McClure and Patrick Macnee (in the first episode). The picture and sound quality is good. There are no subtitles. This complete series includes all 13 episodes (12, fifty-minute episodes + the 72-minute opening episode).

***SPECIAL FEATURES***
*'CALLING AUTOMAN' - THE AUTO FEATURE: A 42-minute documentary featuring interviews with Chuck Wagner, Glen A. Larson, Desi Arnaz Jr & Heather McNair.
*THE STORY OF AUTOMAN (text information).
*FEATURE STORY (text information).
*ORIGINAL CAST AND CREW BIOGRAPHIES.
*COLLECTABLES GALLERY.
*'MANIMAL' TRAILER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series., 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automan The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent piece of nostalga from the 80s and worth every penny. The picture quality is very good even though it looks like it has been transferred from an NTSC master. One of the reviewers says there is no pilot included and he is mistaken. The original pilot of Automan is included (yes it does not go into much detail how Walter found the hologram but it is the pilot that was produced for the show) among the 13 uncut episodes that were produced along with animated menus and an excellent retrospective documentary. It is a pity it did not go into a second series but like a lot of classics you will get far more entertainment value than much of what has been produced over the last 20 years. Congratulations to Fabulous Films for releasing this long overdue gem and may they delve into the vaults and find some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
This review is from: Automan The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent delivery, product as described overall good product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1980s - a golden age of television, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automan The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
"Automan" was one of those early 1980s American series that made it onto Saturday night television in the days when the BBC (and ITV) showed such "action/adventure/fantasy" series. Today - unfortunately - the Saturday night schedules are filled with nothing but talent(less) singing shows, game shows, celebs losing their swimming trunks in a pool, and women drooling over narcissistic guys with severe ego problems. Although not the most brilliant of comedy/sci-fi dramas, there is much to enjoy in "Automan" -- (were we really so nave about what 'computers' would become to all of us in our daily lives in the following decade?). If you want to wallow in a bit of fun from the 80's, settle down and enjoy watching Automan drive his flashy car. It beats watching endless repeats of joyriding chavs being pursued by British traffic cops inbetween the multitude of cookery and home makeover programmes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time!, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automan The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Loved the series in the 80's it was so much ahead of its time, great to see it finally available to buy on DVD. The quality of picture and audio are good considering its age. The series is still very entertaining to watch, would love to see a modern re-boot of the series. The special effects are very Tron -Like and I can see why the series did not continue, no, not because it wasn't a truly ground-breaking entertaining series, no, because it was so high value and was probably a very expensive series to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series!, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automan The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this series when I was a kid, and I'm glad I could find it. The video quality is excellent considering it was meant for Standard resolution TV's.

An HD remastering would have been amazing, but I'm glad we got this much for a series that was far ahead of it's time.

Only gripe is that this is Region 2 and I'm in North America, so I had to set my DVD Player to Region 2 to be able to play it.

Too bad it wasn't released as a Region 1 format here either, but either case I'm glad I at least have to watch it!

If you're a fan of this great show, or 80's TV in general, you'll have a blast with this short lived series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automan The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
good picture quality , lovely extras , after 30 years still standing ,hours of fun.waited so long but worth it. Actors made this so special
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant series, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automan The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
i recently purchased Automan the complete series from Amazon and i love it. Automan is one of those shows that i thought would never get released on DVD (I thought Street Hawk wouldn't be released onto DVD and it has) as soon as the postman delivered it i watched the first disc and the disc 2 on the sunday i'm now onto disc 3. the episodes are still entertaining as when i first watched them in 1984. such a pity there was only one series but at least the complete series has been released on DVD courtesy of Fabulous Films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No Pilot?, 14 April 2013
By 
Wraith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automan The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Started to watch this only to find that the Pilot Episode/Movie is not included?!
Yes you can launch straight into the series.... but that would be like watching The Six Million Dollar Man without seeing how he became Bionic- Major chunk of the story would be missing (hey Lee).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great 80's series, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Automan The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Finally! Automan on DVD! Loved this show when it originally aired and have been hoping that it would be on DVD someday. A great adventure series with a Tron-esque feel to it, mixed with humor, and mystery. So glad it finally made it to DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Automan The Complete Series [DVD]
Automan The Complete Series [DVD] by Chuck Wagner (DVD - 2012)
21.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews